NiCE Cognigy vs. SAP Joule: data protection per plan
NiCE Cognigy (1 plan) and SAP Joule (2 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | SAP Joule |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany | SAP SE, Dietmar-Hopp-Allee 16, 69190 Walldorf, Germany |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 2 |
| Hosting | EU option: Enterprise | EU option: all 2 plans |
| Training on inputs | not documented: Enterprise | not documented: all 2 plans |
| DPA | yes: Enterprise | yes: all 2 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: NiCE Cognigy Enterprise vs. SAP Joule Base AI
| Feature | NiCE CognigyEnterprise (on request) | SAP JouleBase AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription) |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated) Provider’s DPA | yes (the SAP Trust Center lists the 'Data Processing Agreement for Cloud Services, SAP Support and SAP Services', including GERMAN v.11-2024 (DACH) and ENGLISH v.10-2024, as a PDF; content not read, PDF retrieval blocked by bot protection (403)) Provider’s DPA |
| not publicly documented | not publicly documented | |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation). | Responsible AI FAQ: customer data 'can be used to improve existing AI features and functionalities of the SAP cloud service to which the customer has subscribed' (subject to the contract and DPA); use for new AI features only under the 'product development schedule'; customers 'can monitor in which SAP solutions their data might be used and opt out in the SAP for Me interface'. No sharing with LLM/image model providers for training. Joule documentation: conversation logs are stored only with the consent of the global account admin (Joule Booster); analysis to improve Joule only after anonymisation; special categories of personal data are not processed for this purpose. |
| EU option | EU option | |
| Details: Data residency | Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name. | Joule documentation 'Data Centers Supported by Joule': data centres including Frankfurt (EU01 Converge Cloud, EU10 AWS, EU11 AWS 'EU access only', EU30 GCP) and Amsterdam (EU20 Microsoft Azure), each with 'Subprocessor Region' Europe; also USA, Brazil, UAE, India, Japan, Australia, Singapore. Joule can be consumed from a different data centre than the business application (cross consumption); according to SAP, assessing transfer restrictions is the customer's responsibility. Responsible AI page: with third-party foundation models, data are sent to the model provider for processing only and are not stored there; location of these model providers: not publicly documented. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Documentation 'Data Expiration'… | Joule documentation: interaction data |
| Details: Data retention | Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave. | Joule documentation: interaction data (where log storage has been consented to) retained by default for one year or 365 days, changeable via support ticket; conversation history for users 7 days; a session ends after 24 hours or 8 hours of inactivity; on offboarding from Joule all interaction data are deleted, and when a user is deactivated their conversation logs are deleted. Responsible AI FAQ: after the end of the contract, remaining customer data are deleted unless retention is required by law; foundation model providers do not store data. |
| differs by plan | Not public: no pricing page | Included in the price of the SAP cloud… |
| Details: Price | Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan. | Included in the price of the SAP cloud subscription; no surcharge according to the pricing page (subscription prices not recorded) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS) | yes (Joule Base and Embedded AI at no additional cost; 'no AI Units required'; availability varies by SAP solution) |
| 10 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- SAP Joule Base AIyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPASAP Joule Base AIyes (the SAP Trust Center lists the 'Data Processing Agreement for Cloud Services, SAP Support and SAP Services', including GERMAN v.11-2024 (DACH) and ENGLISH v.10-2024, as a PDF; content not read, PDF retrieval blocked by bot protection (403))
Provider’s DPA
Training
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprisenot publicly documented
- SAP Joule Base AInot publicly documented
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
SAP Joule Base AIResponsible AI FAQ: customer data 'can be used to improve existing AI features and functionalities of the SAP cloud service to which the customer has subscribed' (subject to the contract and DPA); use for new AI features only under the 'product development schedule'; customers 'can monitor in which SAP solutions their data might be used and opt out in the SAP for Me interface'. No sharing with LLM/image model providers for training. Joule documentation: conversation logs are stored only with the consent of the global account admin (Joule Booster); analysis to improve Joule only after anonymisation; special categories of personal data are not processed for this purpose.
Hosting
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseEU option
- SAP Joule Base AIEU option
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
SAP Joule Base AIJoule documentation 'Data Centers Supported by Joule': data centres including Frankfurt (EU01 Converge Cloud, EU10 AWS, EU11 AWS 'EU access only', EU30 GCP) and Amsterdam (EU20 Microsoft Azure), each with 'Subprocessor Region' Europe; also USA, Brazil, UAE, India, Japan, Australia, Singapore. Joule can be consumed from a different data centre than the business application (cross consumption); according to SAP, assessing transfer restrictions is the customer's responsibility. Responsible AI page: with third-party foundation models, data are sent to the model provider for processing only and are not stored there; location of these model providers: not publicly documented.
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriselist available
- SAP Joule Base AIlist available
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
SAP Joule Base AI- Infrastructure according to the Joule data centre table: Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, Converge Cloud (depending on the selected data centre)
Retention
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…
- SAP Joule Base AIJoule documentation: interaction data
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.SAP Joule Base AIJoule documentation: interaction data (where log storage has been consented to) retained by default for one year or 365 days, changeable via support ticket; conversation history for users 7 days; a session ends after 24 hours or 8 hours of inactivity; on offboarding from Joule all interaction data are deleted, and when a user is deactivated their conversation logs are deleted. Responsible AI FAQ: after the end of the contract, remaining customer data are deleted unless retention is required by law; foundation model providers do not store data.
Price
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseNot public: no pricing page
- SAP Joule Base AIIncluded in the price of the SAP cloud…
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
SAP Joule Base AIIncluded in the price of the SAP cloud subscription; no surcharge according to the pricing page (subscription prices not recorded)
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- SAP Joule Base AIyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
SAP Joule Base AIyes (Joule Base and Embedded AI at no additional cost; 'no AI Units required'; availability varies by SAP solution)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise10 sources
- SAP Joule Base AI7 sources
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
SAP Joule Base AI- SAP Business AI packages and pricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Responsible AITrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SAP Privacy Statement (Effective 2026-10-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 8 Oct 2026
- Data Centers Supported by JouleProduct documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Joule – Data Protection and PrivacyProduct documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreements | SAP Trust CenterDPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Protection and Privacy | SAP Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | SAP Joule |
|---|---|---|
| yesonly plan | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| not publicly documentedonly plan | not publicly documentedall 2 plans | |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| EU optiononly plan | EU optionall 2 plans | |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableonly plan | list availableall 2 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Documentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan | Joule documentation: interaction dataall 2 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | Not public: no pricing pageonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- SAP Jouleyesall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPA
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
yes (the SAP Trust Center lists the 'Data Processing Agreement for Cloud Services, SAP Support and SAP Services', including GERMAN v.11-2024 (DACH) and ENGLISH v.10-2024, as a PDF; content not read, PDF retrieval blocked by bot protection (403))
Provider’s DPA - Premium AI (AI Units)
yes (the SAP Trust Center lists the 'Data Processing Agreement for Cloud Services, SAP Support and SAP Services', including GERMAN v.11-2024 (DACH) and ENGLISH v.10-2024, as a PDF; content not read, PDF retrieval blocked by bot protection (403))
Provider’s DPA
- Enterprise (on request)
Training
- NiCE Cognigynot publicly documentedonly plan
- SAP Joulenot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
Responsible AI FAQ: customer data 'can be used to improve existing AI features and functionalities of the SAP cloud service to which the customer has subscribed' (subject to the contract and DPA); use for new AI features only under the 'product development schedule'; customers 'can monitor in which SAP solutions their data might be used and opt out in the SAP for Me interface'. No sharing with LLM/image model providers for training. Joule documentation: conversation logs are stored only with the consent of the global account admin (Joule Booster); analysis to improve Joule only after anonymisation; special categories of personal data are not processed for this purpose.
- Premium AI (AI Units)
Responsible AI FAQ: customer data 'can be used to improve existing AI features and functionalities of the SAP cloud service to which the customer has subscribed' (subject to the contract and DPA); use for new AI features only under the 'product development schedule'; customers 'can monitor in which SAP solutions their data might be used and opt out in the SAP for Me interface'. No sharing with LLM/image model providers for training. Joule documentation: conversation logs are stored only with the consent of the global account admin (Joule Booster); analysis to improve Joule only after anonymisation; special categories of personal data are not processed for this purpose.
- Enterprise (on request)
Hosting
- NiCE CognigyEU optiononly plan
- SAP JouleEU optionall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
Joule documentation 'Data Centers Supported by Joule': data centres including Frankfurt (EU01 Converge Cloud, EU10 AWS, EU11 AWS 'EU access only', EU30 GCP) and Amsterdam (EU20 Microsoft Azure), each with 'Subprocessor Region' Europe; also USA, Brazil, UAE, India, Japan, Australia, Singapore. Joule can be consumed from a different data centre than the business application (cross consumption); according to SAP, assessing transfer restrictions is the customer's responsibility. Responsible AI page: with third-party foundation models, data are sent to the model provider for processing only and are not stored there; location of these model providers: not publicly documented.
- Premium AI (AI Units)
Joule documentation 'Data Centers Supported by Joule': data centres including Frankfurt (EU01 Converge Cloud, EU10 AWS, EU11 AWS 'EU access only', EU30 GCP) and Amsterdam (EU20 Microsoft Azure), each with 'Subprocessor Region' Europe; also USA, Brazil, UAE, India, Japan, Australia, Singapore. Joule can be consumed from a different data centre than the business application (cross consumption); according to SAP, assessing transfer restrictions is the customer's responsibility. Responsible AI page: with third-party foundation models, data are sent to the model provider for processing only and are not stored there; location of these model providers: not publicly documented.
- Enterprise (on request)
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigylist availableonly plan
- SAP Joulelist availableall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
- Infrastructure according to the Joule data centre table: Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, Converge Cloud (depending on the selected data centre)
- Premium AI (AI Units)
- Infrastructure according to the Joule data centre table: Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, Converge Cloud (depending on the selected data centre)
- Enterprise (on request)
Retention
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan
- SAP JouleJoule documentation: interaction dataall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)Joule documentation: interaction data (where log storage has been consented to) retained by default for one year or 365 days, changeable via support ticket; conversation history for users 7 days; a session ends after 24 hours or 8 hours of inactivity; on offboarding from Joule all interaction data are deleted, and when a user is deactivated their conversation logs are deleted. Responsible AI FAQ: after the end of the contract, remaining customer data are deleted unless retention is required by law; foundation model providers do not store data.
- Premium AI (AI Units)Joule documentation: interaction data (where log storage has been consented to) retained by default for one year or 365 days, changeable via support ticket; conversation history for users 7 days; a session ends after 24 hours or 8 hours of inactivity; on offboarding from Joule all interaction data are deleted, and when a user is deactivated their conversation logs are deleted. Responsible AI FAQ: after the end of the contract, remaining customer data are deleted unless retention is required by law; foundation model providers do not store data.
Price
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyNot public: no pricing pageonly plan
- SAP Joule
- Included in the price of the SAP cloud…Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
- AI surcharge: AI Units as a shared…Premium AI (AI Units)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
Included in the price of the SAP cloud subscription; no surcharge according to the pricing page (subscription prices not recorded)
- Premium AI (AI Units)
AI surcharge: AI Units as a shared consumption currency (SKU 8019164), purchased annually, expire after 12 months; price per AI Unit: not publicly documented (price list via sales); Custom-built AI (Joule Studio) free of charge in operation until the end of 2026 (pricing page)
- Enterprise (on request)
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- SAP Jouleyesall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
SAP Joule- Base AI (included in every SAP cloud subscription)
yes (Joule Base and Embedded AI at no additional cost; 'no AI Units required'; availability varies by SAP solution)
- Premium AI (AI Units)
yes (agents and extended AI services based on consumption; SAP-delivered agents 0.02 AI Units per agent action; Joule for Consultants 35 AI Units per user per month)
- Enterprise (on request)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy10 sources
- SAP Joule7 sources
- NiCE Cognigy
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
SAP Joule- SAP Business AI packages and pricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Responsible AITrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SAP Privacy Statement (Effective 2026-10-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 8 Oct 2026
- Data Centers Supported by JouleProduct documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Joule – Data Protection and PrivacyProduct documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreements | SAP Trust CenterDPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Protection and Privacy | SAP Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
NiCE Cognigy compared with
Individual pages: NiCE Cognigy, SAP Joule. All tools in the category: Business software.