NiCE Cognigy vs. DATEV AI features: data protection per plan
NiCE Cognigy (1 plan) and DATEV AI features (3 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | DATEV AI features |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany | Paumgartnerstraße 6-14, 90429 Nürnberg, Germany |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 3 |
| Hosting | EU option: Enterprise | not documented: DATEV KI-WerkstattEU option: DATEV Copilotmixed: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions |
| Training on inputs | not documented: Enterprise | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattno: DATEV Copilotyes: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions |
| DPA | yes: Enterprise | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattyes: DATEV Copilot, AI-supported DATEV cloud functions |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: NiCE Cognigy Enterprise vs. DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
| Feature | NiCE CognigyEnterprise (on request) | DATEV AI featuresDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors) |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated) Provider’s DPA | yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation). | DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing. |
| EU option | EU option | |
| Details: Data residency | Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name. | FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Documentation 'Data Expiration'… | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6… |
| Details: Data retention | Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave. | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12). |
| differs by plan | Not public: no pricing page | DATEV shop |
| Details: Price | Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan. | DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS) | yes |
| 10 sources | 9 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPADATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprisenot publicly documented
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotno
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotDATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
Hosting
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseEU option
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotEU option
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotFAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriselist available
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotlist available
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
Retention
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6…
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).
Price
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseNot public: no pricing page
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotDATEV shop
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotDATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise10 sources
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot9 sources
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | DATEV AI features |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | yesonly plan |
|
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | EU optiononly plan |
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableonly plan | list availableall 3 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Documentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan |
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | Not public: no pricing pageonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 3 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 16 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- yesDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors), AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPA
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
not publicly documented
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA - AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA
- Enterprise (on request)
Training
- differs by tool
- NiCE Cognigynot publicly documentedonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- noDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- yesAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
KI-Werkstatt page: 'Some prototypes in the DATEV KI-Werkstatt use the Microsoft Azure Open AI Services' (translated); inputs are 'not passed on to OpenAI and not used to train the models' (translated). No statement for the other prototypes; therefore not substantiated for the plan as a whole.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (accounting), Steuern (tax) and Personalwirtschaft (payroll), each item 1.8 'Service-related cross-customer data processing' (translated) (identical wording also for Wissen [knowledge]): for 'intelligent cloud solutions' (translated), the customer instructs DATEV to use the data sets 'set up by the customer for the „Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“' (translated) 'in the context of new and further development, quality assurance and operation' (translated); 'For machine learning or deep learning, this training forms the basis for the systems' learning' (translated); 'for example, data of different customers of the „DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“ are analysed together' (translated); 'Personal data may still be processed in the resulting AI models as well' (translated); special categories of personal data may also be processed. The application of the AI models remains 'exclusively a DATEV-internal process' (translated). No possibility of objection is described in item 1.8; according to its wording, the optional deletion of the anonymisation agreement (DPA item 15b) only affects items 3.7/3.8, not item 1.8. The Basis service description (Copilot) contains no item 1.8 of this kind. Payroll benchmark uses 'real, anonymised DATEV payroll records' (translated); de-identification service: data is 'analysed in the DATEV data centre' (translated) and de-identified before AI processing.
- Enterprise (on request)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyEU optiononly plan
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- EU optionDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- mixedAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Page: prototypes 'in a protected DATEV environment' (translated); for Azure OpenAI prototypes, inputs are 'sent as a request through the DATEV cloud-native data centre to Microsoft Azure' (translated) and processed there temporarily. Azure region not stated.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV data centre/DATEV cloud according to the de-identification article and the AI overview. Help document 1000192 (as of 2026-09-18): Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (IE) for 'DATEV Einspruchsgenerator, DATEV LEXchat AI functionalities' (translated) without transfer to a third country; transfers to a third country (USA) to Datadog, Inc. (DATEV Bankdatenservice) and Raintank, Inc./Grafana Labs (IT monitoring), among others, on the basis of the EU-U.S. DPF.
- Enterprise (on request)
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigylist availableonly plan
- DATEV AI featureslist availableall 3 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Microsoft Azure OpenAI Services (some prototypes)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Einspruchsgenerator, LEXchat AI functionalities)
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (operation/hosting of DATEV products)
- Microsoft Deutschland GmbH (DATEV products, data centre services)
- Google Ireland Ltd. (DATEV platform, chatbot use)
- Datadog, Inc. (USA, DATEV Bankdatenservice, DPF)
- others according to help document 1000192
- Enterprise (on request)
Retention
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan
- DATEV AI features
- For Azure prototypes: 'There is no…DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.6…DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Per product in the service descriptions…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)For Azure prototypes: 'There is no persistent storage of personal data at Azure.' (translated). Otherwise not publicly documented.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)Per product in the service descriptions, item 3.6: Rechnungswesen, among others, e-invoices after 90 days, deleted Belege online data sets after 6 months, bank account transactions after 13 years; Wissen: 'After 12 months or when 100 conversations are exceeded, DATEV automatically deletes the conversations in DATEV LEXchat' (translated); otherwise deletion on instruction. No deletion period is stated for the AI models under item 1.8.
Price
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyNot public: no pricing pageonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- 'The platform can be used free of charge'DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- DATEV shopDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Billing according to the service…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
'The platform can be used free of charge' (translated); login via DATEV account and SmartCard/SmartLogin (as of 2026-10-18)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
Billing according to the service descriptions 'in accordance with the current DATEV price list' (translated); the DATEV price list for firms is offered as a PDF download and was not evaluated (as of 2026-10-18)
- Enterprise (on request)
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- DATEV AI featuresyesall 3 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
DATEV AI features- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
yes
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes
- Enterprise (on request)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy10 sources
- DATEV AI features16 sources
- NiCE Cognigy
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
DATEV AI features- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DPA sections 6, 12, 15, 16 (third country, erasure, purpose limitation) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI at DATEV (overview) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- How to get data protection right when using AI (De-Identifikation Service) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904399: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904413: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Steuern (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904409: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Personalwirtschaft (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904420: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Wissen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
NiCE Cognigy compared with
Individual pages: NiCE Cognigy, DATEV AI features. All tools in the category: Business software.