NiCE Cognigy vs. Cohere: data protection per plan
NiCE Cognigy (1 plan) and Cohere (3 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | Cohere |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany | Cohere Inc., 171 John Street, Suite 200, Toronto, ON M5T 1X3, Canada |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 3 |
| Hosting | EU option: Enterprise | US only: API Trial, API Productionnot documented: Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment |
| Training on inputs | not documented: Enterprise | yes: API Trialno: Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentopt-out available: API Production |
| DPA | yes: Enterprise | no: API Trialyes: Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment, API Production |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: NiCE Cognigy Enterprise vs. Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
| Feature | NiCE CognigyEnterprise (on request) | CohereEnterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated) Provider’s DPA | yes for SaaS/Model Vault customers on request (privacy@cohere.com, sent after NDA; the DPA contains the EU standard contractual clauses of 2021-06-04). According to the Enterprise Data Commitments, no DPA is required for private and third-party cloud deployments. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation). | Enterprise Data Commitments: for private and third-party cloud deployments, Cohere does not receive prompts and generations. Privacy policy: data in the customer's or cloud provider's environment is not accessible to Cohere and is not used for training. Model Vault as a platform managed by Cohere: use for training not separately addressed in the documentation or the Enterprise Data Commitments; for Encrypted Vault, prompts and responses are, according to the documentation, not visible in plaintext even to Cohere. |
| differs by plan | EU option | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name. | Region depends on the deployment at the customer or the cloud provider. Model Vault (Cohere-managed, single-tenant): documentation 'Compliance' for Encrypted Vault: 'Region selection supports data-residency requirements; contact Cohere to confirm the regions available for your vault.' There is no public list of regions. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Documentation 'Data Expiration'… | Private and third-party deployments… |
| Details: Data retention | Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave. | Private and third-party deployments: according to the Enterprise Data Commitments, Cohere has no access to prompts and generations. Model Vault: according to the documentation, with Zero Data Retention (ZDR) enabled, Cohere processes inputs and outputs only for inference and does not store any prompts or responses (Standard Vault and Encrypted Vault); retention periods without ZDR: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | Not public: no pricing page | North and Compass: custom |
| Details: Price | Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan. | North and Compass: custom (pricing page). Model Vault (Standard Vault) per instance, in USD, per hour / per month / per year (documentation 'Standard Vault Pricing'): Embed 5 Fast and Embed 5 Pro Small USD 3 / USD 2,000 / USD 20,000, Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Fast, Rerank 4 Pro and Rerank 3.5 Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Pro Large USD 10 / USD 6,500 / USD 65,000; Parse 5 Medium USD 4 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 8 / USD 5,000 / USD 50,000, XL USD 7 / USD 4,300 / USD 43,000; Cohere Transcribe Medium USD 3.75 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 7.50 / USD 4,750 / USD 47,500. Generative models on Standard Vault (mostly via waitlist) per instance and hour, L / XL: Command A USD 40 / USD 48, Command A Reasoning USD 48 / USD 57.50, Command A+ USD 17.50 / USD 32.50, North Mini Code USD 7.50 / USD 10.50. Encrypted Vault priced separately. According to the Terms of Use, prices, except where otherwise indicated, do not include applicable sales taxes ('do not include any applicable sales taxes'). |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS) | yes (workplace platform North, search system Compass, dedicated model instances 'Model Vault' incl. Transcribe, deployment in a VPC or on-premises as well as via the cloud platforms of OCI, Azure, AWS, Google Cloud) |
| 10 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPACohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentyes for SaaS/Model Vault customers on request (privacy@cohere.com, sent after NDA; the DPA contains the EU standard contractual clauses of 2021-06-04). According to the Enterprise Data Commitments, no DPA is required for private and third-party cloud deployments.
Training
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprisenot publicly documented
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentno
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentEnterprise Data Commitments: for private and third-party cloud deployments, Cohere does not receive prompts and generations. Privacy policy: data in the customer's or cloud provider's environment is not accessible to Cohere and is not used for training. Model Vault as a platform managed by Cohere: use for training not separately addressed in the documentation or the Enterprise Data Commitments; for Encrypted Vault, prompts and responses are, according to the documentation, not visible in plaintext even to Cohere.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseEU option
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentnot publicly documented
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentRegion depends on the deployment at the customer or the cloud provider. Model Vault (Cohere-managed, single-tenant): documentation 'Compliance' for Encrypted Vault: 'Region selection supports data-residency requirements; contact Cohere to confirm the regions available for your vault.' There is no public list of regions.
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriselist available
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentlist available
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment- Google Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- Fullstory (software delivery): USA
- LaunchDarkly (feature flags): USA
- New Relic (platform monitoring): USA
- Retool (software delivery): USA
- Sentry IO (software delivery): USA
- Segment (event and error processing): USA
- Sendgrid (e-mail communication): USA
- Vercel (web application hosting): USA
- Salesforce (customer support management): USA
- Wiz (cloud security and compliance): USA
- Forethought (customer support management): USA
Retention
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentPrivate and third-party deployments…
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentPrivate and third-party deployments: according to the Enterprise Data Commitments, Cohere has no access to prompts and generations. Model Vault: according to the documentation, with Zero Data Retention (ZDR) enabled, Cohere processes inputs and outputs only for inference and does not store any prompts or responses (Standard Vault and Encrypted Vault); retention periods without ZDR: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseNot public: no pricing page
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentNorth and Compass: custom
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentNorth and Compass: custom (pricing page). Model Vault (Standard Vault) per instance, in USD, per hour / per month / per year (documentation 'Standard Vault Pricing'): Embed 5 Fast and Embed 5 Pro Small USD 3 / USD 2,000 / USD 20,000, Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Fast, Rerank 4 Pro and Rerank 3.5 Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Pro Large USD 10 / USD 6,500 / USD 65,000; Parse 5 Medium USD 4 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 8 / USD 5,000 / USD 50,000, XL USD 7 / USD 4,300 / USD 43,000; Cohere Transcribe Medium USD 3.75 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 7.50 / USD 4,750 / USD 47,500. Generative models on Standard Vault (mostly via waitlist) per instance and hour, L / XL: Command A USD 40 / USD 48, Command A Reasoning USD 48 / USD 57.50, Command A+ USD 17.50 / USD 32.50, North Mini Code USD 7.50 / USD 10.50. Encrypted Vault priced separately. According to the Terms of Use, prices, except where otherwise indicated, do not include applicable sales taxes ('do not include any applicable sales taxes').
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentyes (workplace platform North, search system Compass, dedicated model instances 'Model Vault' incl. Transcribe, deployment in a VPC or on-premises as well as via the cloud platforms of OCI, Azure, AWS, Google Cloud)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise10 sources
- Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment6 sources
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Cohere Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Enterprise Data Commitments (as of 2025-12-05)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cohere Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-05-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (as of 2022-09-07)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Vault Overview, Standard Vault Pricing, Encrypted Vault ComplianceDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | Cohere |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | yesonly plan |
|
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | EU optiononly plan |
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableonly plan | list availableall 3 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Documentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan |
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | Not public: no pricing pageonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 3 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- Cohere
- noAPI Trial (free of charge)
- yesEnterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment, API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPA
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
no (trial keys are subject to the terms of use and privacy policy; the Enterprise Data Commitments and the DPA offer apply to paying SaaS customers. Privacy policy: trial environments are not intended for personal data; for that, switch to an enterprise plan with a contract)
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
yes for SaaS/Model Vault customers on request (privacy@cohere.com, sent after NDA; the DPA contains the EU standard contractual clauses of 2021-06-04). According to the Enterprise Data Commitments, no DPA is required for private and third-party cloud deployments.
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
yes (on request: SaaS customers receive the DPA via privacy@cohere.com; according to the Trust Center, sent after a signed NDA)
- Enterprise (on request)
Training
- differs by tool
- NiCE Cognigynot publicly documentedonly plan
- Cohere
- yesAPI Trial (free of charge)
- noEnterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
- opt-out availableAPI Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
Privacy policy (as of 2026-05-01, section 2.3): for Trial Users and Researchers, Cohere collects inputs and outputs and may use them for research and development, including 'using inputs/outputs to improve the performance and safety of Cohere Products'; data is de-identified beforehand; users should not enter personal data. An opt-out for trial keys is not described (the dashboard switch 'Data Controls' is described in the Enterprise Data Commitments for paying customers). According to the Enterprise Data Commitments, the Terms of Use and the privacy policy apply to trial keys; the Terms of Use (as of 2022-09-07, section 4.1) allow Cohere to use 'Customer Data', among other things, to 'IMPROVE AND ENHANCE THE COHERE SOLUTION' and other offerings, including by sharing API data and fine-tuning data with third parties.
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
Enterprise Data Commitments: for private and third-party cloud deployments, Cohere does not receive prompts and generations. Privacy policy: data in the customer's or cloud provider's environment is not accessible to Cohere and is not used for training. Model Vault as a platform managed by Cohere: use for training not separately addressed in the documentation or the Enterprise Data Commitments; for Encrypted Vault, prompts and responses are, according to the documentation, not visible in plaintext even to Cohere.
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
Enterprise Data Commitments (as of 2025-12-05): opt-out from the use of prompts and generations for training in the dashboard settings ('Data Controls', switch set to 'Off'); the change applies to data generated thereafter. For abuse monitoring, prompts and logs may be reviewed; PII is filtered before any possible use for training. Model Training Privacy Notice (as of 2026-05-01): 'Where a user has given Cohere permission to use inputs and outputs for model training', the data is de-identified beforehand. Default value of the switch for new accounts: not publicly documented.
- Enterprise (on request)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyEU optiononly plan
- Cohere
- US onlyAPI Trial (free of charge), API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- not publicly documentedEnterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
Trust Center FAQ: hosting on Google Cloud servers in US-Central; according to the FAQ, Cohere does not use servers outside the USA.
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
Region depends on the deployment at the customer or the cloud provider. Model Vault (Cohere-managed, single-tenant): documentation 'Compliance' for Encrypted Vault: 'Region selection supports data-residency requirements; contact Cohere to confirm the regions available for your vault.' There is no public list of regions.
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
Trust Center FAQ: hosting on Google Cloud servers in US-Central. According to the FAQ, in certain cases the offering can be configured so that no customer data is stored at Cohere ('ephemeral').
- Enterprise (on request)
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigylist availableonly plan
- Coherelist availableall 3 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
- Google Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- Fullstory (software delivery): USA
- LaunchDarkly (feature flags): USA
- New Relic (platform monitoring): USA
- Retool (software delivery): USA
- Sentry IO (software delivery): USA
- Segment (event and error processing): USA
- Sendgrid (e-mail communication): USA
- Vercel (web application hosting): USA
- Salesforce (customer support management): USA
- Wiz (cloud security and compliance): USA
- Forethought (customer support management): USA
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
- Google Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- Fullstory (software delivery): USA
- LaunchDarkly (feature flags): USA
- New Relic (platform monitoring): USA
- Retool (software delivery): USA
- Sentry IO (software delivery): USA
- Segment (event and error processing): USA
- Sendgrid (e-mail communication): USA
- Vercel (web application hosting): USA
- Salesforce (customer support management): USA
- Wiz (cloud security and compliance): USA
- Forethought (customer support management): USA
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- Google Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- Fullstory (software delivery): USA
- LaunchDarkly (feature flags): USA
- New Relic (platform monitoring): USA
- Retool (software delivery): USA
- Sentry IO (software delivery): USA
- Segment (event and error processing): USA
- Sendgrid (e-mail communication): USA
- Vercel (web application hosting): USA
- Salesforce (customer support management): USA
- Wiz (cloud security and compliance): USA
- Forethought (customer support management): USA
- Enterprise (on request)
Retention
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan
- Cohere
- Privacy policy: the platform is not…API Trial (free of charge)
- Private and third-party deployments…Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
- Logged prompts and generations are…API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)Privacy policy: the platform is not intended for the processing of personal data by Trial Users; personal data entered by mistake can be erased by e-mail to privacy@cohere.com. Fixed periods for trial data: not publicly documented.
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deploymentPrivate and third-party deployments: according to the Enterprise Data Commitments, Cohere has no access to prompts and generations. Model Vault: according to the documentation, with Zero Data Retention (ZDR) enabled, Cohere processes inputs and outputs only for inference and does not store any prompts or responses (Standard Vault and Encrypted Vault); retention periods without ZDR: not publicly documented.
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)Logged prompts and generations are automatically deleted after 30 days, except where there is a legal or contractual obligation or a suspected breach of the usage policy (Enterprise Data Commitments; privacy policy: 'generally 30 days' for Enterprise Users). Data released for training purposes may be retained separately. Zero Data Retention (no logging of prompts and generations) only for enterprise customers with additional usage commitments; Cohere still receives usage data.
Price
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyNot public: no pricing pageonly plan
- Cohere
- freeAPI Trial (free of charge)
- North and Compass: customEnterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
- several tiersAPI Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
Free (pricing page: calls with a trial key are free, rate-limited)
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
North and Compass: custom (pricing page). Model Vault (Standard Vault) per instance, in USD, per hour / per month / per year (documentation 'Standard Vault Pricing'): Embed 5 Fast and Embed 5 Pro Small USD 3 / USD 2,000 / USD 20,000, Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Fast, Rerank 4 Pro and Rerank 3.5 Medium USD 5 / USD 3,250 / USD 32,500; Rerank 4 Pro Large USD 10 / USD 6,500 / USD 65,000; Parse 5 Medium USD 4 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 8 / USD 5,000 / USD 50,000, XL USD 7 / USD 4,300 / USD 43,000; Cohere Transcribe Medium USD 3.75 / USD 2,500 / USD 25,000, Large USD 7.50 / USD 4,750 / USD 47,500. Generative models on Standard Vault (mostly via waitlist) per instance and hour, L / XL: Command A USD 40 / USD 48, Command A Reasoning USD 48 / USD 57.50, Command A+ USD 17.50 / USD 32.50, North Mini Code USD 7.50 / USD 10.50. Encrypted Vault priced separately. According to the Terms of Use, prices, except where otherwise indicated, do not include applicable sales taxes ('do not include any applicable sales taxes').
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
In USD (pricing page): Command R input USD 0.15, output USD 0.60 per 1M tokens; Command R7B USD 0.0375 / USD 0.15; Embed 5 Pro USD 0.12, Embed 5 Fast USD 0.08 per 1M tokens; Rerank 4 Pro USD 2.50, Rerank 4 Fast USD 2.00 per 1,000 searches (1 search = 1 request with up to 100 documents); Parse 5 USD 1.50 per 1,000 pages. Legacy models for existing customers include Command R+ 08-2024 USD 2.50 / USD 10.00; Aya Expanse USD 0.50 / USD 1.50. Billing monthly or when USD 250 is outstanding. Command A+ and North Mini Code free as open-source models (Apache 2.0). According to the Terms of Use, prices, except where otherwise indicated, do not include applicable sales taxes ('do not include any applicable sales taxes').
- Enterprise (on request)
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- Cohereyesall 3 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
Cohere- API Trial (free of charge)
yes (trial API key with rate limit, not for production or commercial use)
- Enterprise: North, Compass, Model Vault, private deployment
yes (workplace platform North, search system Compass, dedicated model instances 'Model Vault' incl. Transcribe, deployment in a VPC or on-premises as well as via the cloud platforms of OCI, Azure, AWS, Google Cloud)
- API Production (Pay-as-you-go, SaaS)
yes (Command R, Command R7B, Embed 5 Pro/Fast, Rerank 4 Pro/Fast, Parse 5; older models for existing customers; Aya Expanse via the API)
- Enterprise (on request)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy10 sources
- Cohere7 sources
- NiCE Cognigy
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Cohere- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Enterprise Data Commitments (as of 2025-12-05)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cohere Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-05-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Training Privacy Notice (as of 2026-05-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (as of 2022-09-07)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Vault Overview, Standard Vault Pricing, Encrypted Vault ComplianceDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
NiCE Cognigy compared with
Individual pages: NiCE Cognigy, Cohere. All tools in the category: Business software.