NiCE Cognigy vs. Writer: data protection per plan
NiCE Cognigy (1 plan) and Writer (2 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | Writer |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany | WRITER Inc., 111 Maiden Lane, Fourth Floor, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 2 |
| Hosting | EU option: Enterprise | mixed: all 2 plans |
| Training on inputs | not documented: Enterprise | no: all 2 plans |
| DPA | yes: Enterprise | yes: all 2 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: NiCE Cognigy Enterprise vs. Writer Enterprise
| Feature | NiCE CognigyEnterprise (on request) | WriterEnterprise |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated) Provider’s DPA | yes (Platform Services Agreement, version 2026-08-05, section 5.4: the DPA 'is incorporated by reference into this Agreement'; according to the Terms of Use, the Platform Services Agreement governs Enterprise) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation). | Trust page: WRITER does not train its models on customer data, user inputs or outputs; the customer controls how its data is used. Privacy policy (applies to website visitors and individual accounts): no use of data provided when accessing or using the Services for training, including inputs and outputs. Platform Services Agreement 5.2: 'Writer will not use any Customer Materials to train its models.'; licence to Customer Materials only to provide and support the platform. |
| differs by plan | EU option | mixed |
| Details: Data residency | Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name. | Sub-processor list (as of 2026-10-14): cloud and infrastructure providers with processing locations in the USA and partly the EU (AWS, Google Cloud, Daytona, Parasail, Turbopuffer, Recall.ai) or worldwide (Cloudflare). Whether customers can choose an EU region, and which data is stored where, is not described. Trust page: data is provisioned in an isolated production project; 'Managed, multi-cloud options, including dedicated private cloud deployment'. Enterprise: according to the pricing page, fully managed platform deployment; choice of location not described. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Documentation 'Data Expiration'… | Trust page: 'zero data retention'… |
| Details: Data retention | Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave. | Trust page: 'zero data retention' approach. Help centre 'Setting up data retention' (on certain Enterprise plans): default 'No automatic deletion'; org admins can set deletion after 1, 3, 6 or 12 months for docs, outputs, uploaded files, chat sessions and WRITER Meet notes (Knowledge Graph files excluded). Platform Services Agreement section 9: Customer Materials can be exported for up to 30 days after the end of the contract upon written request, after which WRITER may delete them; upon written request, destruction within 90 days. DPA section 9: return or deletion of personal data at the customer's request. |
| differs by plan | Not public: no pricing page | custom |
| Details: Price | Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan. | Custom, contact sales (pricing page) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS) | yes (any number of users and teams, unlimited Playbooks, advanced orchestration, audit logs, SSO/SAML, SCIM, 'Works with preferred LLMs') |
| 10 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- Writer Enterpriseyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPAWriter Enterpriseyes (Platform Services Agreement, version 2026-08-05, section 5.4: the DPA 'is incorporated by reference into this Agreement'; according to the Terms of Use, the Platform Services Agreement governs Enterprise)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprisenot publicly documented
- Writer Enterpriseno
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
Writer EnterpriseTrust page: WRITER does not train its models on customer data, user inputs or outputs; the customer controls how its data is used. Privacy policy (applies to website visitors and individual accounts): no use of data provided when accessing or using the Services for training, including inputs and outputs. Platform Services Agreement 5.2: 'Writer will not use any Customer Materials to train its models.'; licence to Customer Materials only to provide and support the platform.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseEU option
- Writer Enterprisemixed
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
Writer EnterpriseSub-processor list (as of 2026-10-14): cloud and infrastructure providers with processing locations in the USA and partly the EU (AWS, Google Cloud, Daytona, Parasail, Turbopuffer, Recall.ai) or worldwide (Cloudflare). Whether customers can choose an EU region, and which data is stored where, is not described. Trust page: data is provisioned in an isolated production project; 'Managed, multi-cloud options, including dedicated private cloud deployment'. Enterprise: according to the pricing page, fully managed platform deployment; choice of location not described.
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriselist available
- Writer Enterpriselist available
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
Writer Enterprise- Amazon Web Services (cloud): USA, EU
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud): USA, EU
- Microsoft Azure (infrastructure): USA
- Baseten (infrastructure): USA
- Cloudflare (infrastructure): worldwide
- Daytona (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Elastic Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- OpenRouter (infrastructure): USA
- Parasail (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Turbopuffer (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Exa.ai (web search): USA
- Tavily (web search): USA
- Recall.ai (services and support): USA, EU
- Snowflake (data warehouse): USA
- Fullstory, Omni, Segment (analytics): USA
- Pylon (customer support): USA
- Sendgrid (email): USA
- Stripe (billing): USA
- Writer, Inc. group companies (services and support): worldwide
Retention
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…
- Writer EnterpriseTrust page: 'zero data retention'…
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseDocumentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.Writer EnterpriseTrust page: 'zero data retention' approach. Help centre 'Setting up data retention' (on certain Enterprise plans): default 'No automatic deletion'; org admins can set deletion after 1, 3, 6 or 12 months for docs, outputs, uploaded files, chat sessions and WRITER Meet notes (Knowledge Graph files excluded). Platform Services Agreement section 9: Customer Materials can be exported for up to 30 days after the end of the contract upon written request, after which WRITER may delete them; upon written request, destruction within 90 days. DPA section 9: return or deletion of personal data at the customer's request.
Price
- differs by plan
- NiCE Cognigy EnterpriseNot public: no pricing page
- Writer Enterprisecustom
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
Writer EnterpriseCustom, contact sales (pricing page)
- NiCE Cognigy Enterpriseyes
- Writer Enterpriseyes
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
Writer Enterpriseyes (any number of users and teams, unlimited Playbooks, advanced orchestration, audit logs, SSO/SAML, SCIM, 'Works with preferred LLMs')
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise10 sources
- Writer Enterprise7 sources
- NiCE Cognigy Enterprise
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Writer Enterprise- Plans & PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Security and trust at WRITERTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective Date April 17, 2026)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (Last Updated October 14, 2026)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement (as of 2025-12-04)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Services Agreement (Version August 5, 2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Setting up data retentionHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | NiCE Cognigy | Writer |
|---|---|---|
| yesonly plan | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan | noall 2 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | EU optiononly plan | mixedall 2 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableonly plan | list availableall 2 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Documentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan | Trust page: 'zero data retention' approachall 2 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | Not public: no pricing pageonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- Writeryesall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPA
Writer- Starter
yes (Terms of Use, version 2026-06-05, apply to free, trial and paid versions except Enterprise: 'When you are acting on behalf of an organization when accessing our Services, our Data Processing Agreement (“DPA”) applies and is incorporated by reference into these Terms.')
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (Platform Services Agreement, version 2026-08-05, section 5.4: the DPA 'is incorporated by reference into this Agreement'; according to the Terms of Use, the Platform Services Agreement governs Enterprise)
Provider’s DPA
- Enterprise (on request)
Training
- differs by tool
- NiCE Cognigynot publicly documentedonly plan
- Writernoall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
Writer- Starter
Trust page: WRITER does not train its models on customer data, user inputs or outputs; the customer controls how its data is used. Privacy policy (applies to website visitors and individual accounts): no use of data provided when accessing or using the Services for training, including inputs and outputs. Terms of Use: 'We will not use your Materials to train our models.'; however, Materials may be used to provide, maintain and improve the Services and to develop other products.
- Enterprise
Trust page: WRITER does not train its models on customer data, user inputs or outputs; the customer controls how its data is used. Privacy policy (applies to website visitors and individual accounts): no use of data provided when accessing or using the Services for training, including inputs and outputs. Platform Services Agreement 5.2: 'Writer will not use any Customer Materials to train its models.'; licence to Customer Materials only to provide and support the platform.
- Enterprise (on request)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyEU optiononly plan
- Writermixedall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
Writer- Starter
Sub-processor list (as of 2026-10-14): cloud and infrastructure providers with processing locations in the USA and partly the EU (AWS, Google Cloud, Daytona, Parasail, Turbopuffer, Recall.ai) or worldwide (Cloudflare). Whether customers can choose an EU region, and which data is stored where, is not described. Trust page: data is provisioned in an isolated production project; 'Managed, multi-cloud options, including dedicated private cloud deployment'.
- Enterprise
Sub-processor list (as of 2026-10-14): cloud and infrastructure providers with processing locations in the USA and partly the EU (AWS, Google Cloud, Daytona, Parasail, Turbopuffer, Recall.ai) or worldwide (Cloudflare). Whether customers can choose an EU region, and which data is stored where, is not described. Trust page: data is provisioned in an isolated production project; 'Managed, multi-cloud options, including dedicated private cloud deployment'. Enterprise: according to the pricing page, fully managed platform deployment; choice of location not described.
- Enterprise (on request)
Sub-processors
- NiCE Cognigylist availableonly plan
- Writerlist availableall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
Writer- Starter
- Amazon Web Services (cloud): USA, EU
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud): USA, EU
- Microsoft Azure (infrastructure): USA
- Baseten (infrastructure): USA
- Cloudflare (infrastructure): worldwide
- Daytona (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Elastic Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- OpenRouter (infrastructure): USA
- Parasail (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Turbopuffer (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Exa.ai (web search): USA
- Tavily (web search): USA
- Recall.ai (services and support): USA, EU
- Snowflake (data warehouse): USA
- Fullstory, Omni, Segment (analytics): USA
- Pylon (customer support): USA
- Sendgrid (email): USA
- Stripe (billing): USA
- Writer, Inc. group companies (services and support): worldwide
- Enterprise
- Amazon Web Services (cloud): USA, EU
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud): USA, EU
- Microsoft Azure (infrastructure): USA
- Baseten (infrastructure): USA
- Cloudflare (infrastructure): worldwide
- Daytona (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Elastic Cloud (infrastructure): USA
- OpenRouter (infrastructure): USA
- Parasail (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Turbopuffer (infrastructure): USA, EU
- Exa.ai (web search): USA
- Tavily (web search): USA
- Recall.ai (services and support): USA, EU
- Snowflake (data warehouse): USA
- Fullstory, Omni, Segment (analytics): USA
- Pylon (customer support): USA
- Sendgrid (email): USA
- Stripe (billing): USA
- Writer, Inc. group companies (services and support): worldwide
- Enterprise (on request)
Retention
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyDocumentation 'Data Expiration'…only plan
- WriterTrust page: 'zero data retention' approachall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.
Writer- StarterTrust page: 'zero data retention' approach; data is stored only for as long as needed to use the platform. Help centre 'Setting up data retention': automatic deletion schedules only 'on certain Enterprise plans'; the default is 'No automatic deletion', content is kept until users delete it manually. Terms of Use: after termination no obligation to retain; WRITER may delete Materials. DPA section 9: return or deletion of personal data upon the customer's written request, unless the law requires otherwise.
- EnterpriseTrust page: 'zero data retention' approach. Help centre 'Setting up data retention' (on certain Enterprise plans): default 'No automatic deletion'; org admins can set deletion after 1, 3, 6 or 12 months for docs, outputs, uploaded files, chat sessions and WRITER Meet notes (Knowledge Graph files excluded). Platform Services Agreement section 9: Customer Materials can be exported for up to 30 days after the end of the contract upon written request, after which WRITER may delete them; upon written request, destruction within 90 days. DPA section 9: return or deletion of personal data at the customer's request.
Price
- differs by tool
- NiCE CognigyNot public: no pricing pageonly plan
- Writer
- not publicly documentedStarter
- customEnterprise
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
Writer- Starter
not publicly documented (the pricing page shows no price; according to the FAQ, monthly or annual billing per seat with fixed credit limits; 14-day free trial, no credit card required)
- Enterprise
Custom, contact sales (pricing page)
- Enterprise (on request)
- NiCE Cognigyyesonly plan
- Writeryesall 2 plans
- NiCE Cognigy
- Enterprise (on request)
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
Writer- Starter
yes (WRITER Agent for chat and automation, up to 5 users, up to 5 Playbooks, up to 3 scheduled routines, 1 team personality profile, basic connectors; AI Studio with limited access)
- Enterprise
yes (any number of users and teams, unlimited Playbooks, advanced orchestration, audit logs, SSO/SAML, SCIM, 'Works with preferred LLMs')
- Enterprise (on request)
Evidence
- NiCE Cognigy10 sources
- Writer8 sources
- NiCE Cognigy
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Writer- Plans & PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Security and trust at WRITERTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective Date April 17, 2026)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (Last Updated October 14, 2026)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement (as of 2025-12-04)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (Version June 5, 2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Services Agreement (Version August 5, 2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Setting up data retentionHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
NiCE Cognigy compared with
Individual pages: NiCE Cognigy, Writer. All tools in the category: Business software.