NiCE Cognigy
NiCE Cognigy (Cognigy.AI)
Provider: Cognigy GmbH · Based in: Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany · Provider website
- Plan
- 1
- Sources
- 11
- As of
- 18 Oct
As of 18 Oct 2026. Based on our research on this date and the process described in the methodology. No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. The provider’s current documents take precedence. Found an error? Report a correction.
Incomplete. 5 points could not be verified in any provider source (see open points). This does not mean the matter is unproblematic; it means we have not checked it.
At a glance
- Hosting
- EU option: Enterprise
- Training on inputs
- not publicly documented: Enterprise
- DPA
- yes: Enterprise
- Provider
- Cognigy GmbH (NiCE)
- Based in
- Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany; Local Court (Amtsgericht) Düsseldorf, HRB 79167 (q7)
Values from 1 plan, each listed with the plans it applies to. Details and evidence are in the plan table.
Compare NiCE Cognigy
Compare with another toolCompared plan by plan with other tools in the category Business software:
Details per plan
Short values per plan. Click a feature to open the evidence and notes for all plans; sources with retrieval dates are under “Evidence”.
| Feature | Enterprise (on request)Compare NiCE Cognigy Enterprise (on request) with another tool |
|---|---|
| Not public: no pricing page | |
| Details: Price | Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan. |
| yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS) |
| yes | |
| Details: DPA | yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated) Provider’s DPA |
| not publicly documented | |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation). |
| Documentation 'Data Expiration'… | |
| Details: Data retention | Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave. |
| EU option | |
| Details: Hosting | Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name. |
| list available | |
| Details: Sub-processors |
|
| 10 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
Compare NiCE Cognigy Enterprise (on request) with another tool
Price and scope
- Not public: no pricing page
Not public: no pricing page; prices only via sales. A free trial (Cognigy.AI Trial) is time-limited according to the privacy policy and is not a permanent plan.
- yes
yes (AI agents for voice and chat, NLU, generative AI features with connected LLMs, Knowledge AI, Agent Copilot, Live Chat, Insights; platform-provided LLM for design-time features only in SaaS)
Contract and data use
- yes
yes (Data Processing Agreement as an annex to the main contract for Cognigy.AI SaaS Services; publicly available version with file date 17 January 2022, whether it currently applies is not stated)
Provider’s DPA- not publicly documented
not publicly documented: an express statement by Cognigy on the use of customer data for model training (including for the platform-provided LLM) is not documented on the public pages. Contractually, the purpose limitation in the DPA (public 2022 version) section 2.1 applies: the processor processes personal data exclusively within the framework of the DPA and 'shall not process the personal data concerned for any other purpose and in particular not for own purposes'. For connected LLM providers their terms apply ('You are subject to the terms of the Generative AI model providers to which you are connecting', documentation).
- Documentation 'Data Expiration'…
- Documentation 'Data Expiration': retention period configurable per organisation via TTL; default for contact profiles and conversations 30 days (43,200 minutes), Insights raw data, sessions and steps without expiry unless a TTL is set; the smallest positive TTL applies. Endpoint settings allow masking of IP addresses and sensitive analytics and log data and switching off storage. DPA section 9.1: after the end of the contract return and deletion, confirmed with date. Trust Center: customer data is deleted when customers leave.
Hosting and sharing
- EU option
Documentation 'IP ranges': SaaS environments including 'Europe SaaS' (app.cognigy.ai), US, United Kingdom, Australia, as well as NiCE CXone clusters on AWS, including EU1 Europe (Frankfurt), UK, US, Canada, Japan, India, Australia, South Africa. Sub-processors according to the Trust Center: Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services. The specific storage location per environment is not documented beyond the region name.
- list available
- Trust Center (as of 2026-10-18): Microsoft Azure and Amazon Web Services, each as cloud provider
- DPA Annex 2 (2022 version): Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (Luxembourg), Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Ireland), AudioCodes Ltd. (Israel) – Voice Gateway Managed Service
- LLM providers connected by the customer (e.g. OpenAI, Anthropic, Google) are used under their own terms; classification as sub-processors not publicly documented
Evidence
- 10 sources
- Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AIDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
Third-country transfers
An EU region is available with 'Europe SaaS' or the CXone cluster EU1 (Frankfurt). DPA section 4.1: transfers to third countries only on documented instructions of the controller. The 2022 version of the DPA names AudioCodes Ltd. in Israel (adequacy decision) as a sub-processor; the Trust Center currently names only Microsoft Azure and AWS without a location. Transfers to LLM providers chosen by the customer are governed by their terms.
- Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022) (DPA), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls) (Trust Center), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions) (Documentation), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – Subprocessors (Sub-processor list), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Certifications (as stated by the provider)
Trust Center: ISO 27001, ISO 27701, ISO/IEC 42001:2023, TISAX, SOC 2 Type II, BSI C5 Type II, PCI DSS (SAQ D, Merchant), HIPAA, AIC4, CSA STAR CAIQ; reports 'C5 & AIC4 Attestation 2025' and 'SOC 2 Type II Report 2025' only on request. Scope and audit periods not publicly reviewed.
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls) (Trust Center), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
AI Act
Functions: Building and operating AI agents for phone and chat (NLU, flows, Knowledge AI, connection of generative LLMs), agent assist/copilot, live chat, analytics (Insights); generative support when building agents (design-time) (website, documentation).
Provider’s statement: not publicly documented(no public role allocation under the AI Act found). The Trust Center names ISO/IEC 42001 (AI management system) and AIC4; documentation: the terms of the respective providers apply to connected generative AI models.
Classification (for review, not legal advice): For review: customer typically deployer (Art. 3(4) AI Act) of the AI agents built with Cognigy, where provided under its own name possibly provider of its own AI system; observe the AI literacy obligation under Art. 4. As end users interact directly with the AI agent, review transparency obligations under Art. 50. Not legal advice.
- NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls) (Trust Center), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Generative AI (Documentation), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Cognigy Platform-Provided LLM (Documentation), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Current notes 2026
The Trust Center announces additional control mappings (HITRUST CSF, HIPAA) for 2026; an 'ISO 42001 Certification Audit 2026' report is listed. Since version 2025.14 the platform-provided LLM (Azure OpenAI GPT-4o) is the default for design-time features in new projects. On-premises is no longer offered to new customers.
Provider structure
Cognigy GmbH, Düsseldorf, operates as NiCE Cognigy (brand of the NiCE group). Cognigy SaaS is operated by Cognigy, mostly as a shared environment; Cognigy is also available via NiCE CXone clusters on AWS in various regions. On-premises installations are no longer offered to new customers. Generative AI features use LLM providers connected by the customer (including OpenAI, Azure OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Aleph Alpha, Amazon Bedrock, Mistral) under their terms; for design-time features in SaaS there is a platform-provided LLM based on Azure OpenAI GPT-4o. No self-service plan and no public price list.
Open points of the review
- No public prices; plan only on request.
- Only a DPA version with a 2022 file date is publicly available; whether it currently applies and which sub-processors are used today with which location is not fully documented (the Trust Center names only Azure and AWS).
- No express public statement on the use of customer data for model training by Cognigy or the platform-provided LLM; the public 2022 DPA version contains only a general purpose limitation (section 2.1), hence the classification 'not publicly documented'.
- No public statement on its own role under the AI Act found.
- C5, AIC4 and SOC 2 reports only on request; scope not reviewed.
Frequently asked questions
Where does NiCE Cognigy store data?
EU hosting selectable (plans: Enterprise (on request)). According to the provider, as of 18 Oct 2026.
Is there a DPA for NiCE Cognigy?
yes in: Enterprise (on request). According to the provider, as of 18 Oct 2026.
Does NiCE Cognigy use inputs for AI training?
not publicly documented in: Enterprise (on request). Based on our research, as of 18 Oct 2026.
Where is the provider based?
Cognigy GmbH, Kesselstraße 3, 40221 Düsseldorf, Germany; Local Court (Amtsgericht) Düsseldorf, HRB 79167. According to the provider, as of 18 Oct 2026.
All sources
- 01Cognigy installation (SaaS and on-premises)Documentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 02Data Processing Agreement – Cognigy.AI SaaS Services (file date 17 January 2022)DPA · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 03NiCE Cognigy Trust Center (Compliance, Subprocessors, Controls)Trust Center · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 04Public IP Ranges for Shared Environments (SaaS regions)Documentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 05Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 06Generative AIDocumentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 07Legal NoticeLegal notice · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 08Cognigy Platform-Provided LLMDocumentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 09Data Expiration (TTL for analytics data)Documentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 10Endpoint – Data Protection & AnalyticsDocumentation · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- 11Privacy Policy (website, section 7 free trial)Privacy policy · retrieved 18 Oct 2026
More tools in Business software with an EU hosting option (in at least one plan)
- DATEV AI features · Based in: Paumgartnerstraße 6-14, 90429 Nürnberg, Germany
- HubSpot Breeze AI · Based in: Cambridge, MA, USA
- Intercom Fin · Based in: Intercom R&D Unlimited Company, 124 St Stephen's Green, Dublin 2, DC02 C628, Ireland
- Lexware Office · Based in: Munzinger Straße 9, 79111 Freiburg, Germany. Contracting party and processor according to the DPA and privacy notice: Haufe Service Center GmbH
All tools in Business software · Tools with an EU hosting option
Further reading
All tools in the category: Business software. NiCE Cognigy has at least one plan with an EU hosting option; see also AI tools with an EU hosting option. Figures across all tools: Data report.