DATEV AI features vs. Personio AI features: data protection per plan
DATEV AI features (3 plans) and Personio AI features (1 plan) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | DATEV AI features | Personio AI features |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Paumgartnerstraße 6-14, 90429 Nürnberg, Germany | Seidlstraße 3, 80335 München, Germany |
| Plans recorded | 3 | 1 |
| Hosting | not documented: DATEV KI-WerkstattEU option: DATEV Copilotmixed: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | EU option: Documentation does not differentiate by plan |
| Training on inputs | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattno: DATEV Copilotyes: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | no: Documentation does not differentiate by plan |
| DPA | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattyes: DATEV Copilot, AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | yes: Documentation does not differentiate by plan |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot vs. Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan
| Feature | DATEV AI featuresDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors) | Personio AI featuresDocumentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings) |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a) Provider’s DPA | yes (automatically; terms and conditions clause 11.1: the 'data processing addendum' (translated document title, version 09-2024) published at www.personio.de/agb/ 'is agreed' (translated) and forms part of the contract) Provider’s DPA |
| no | no | |
| Details: Training on inputs | DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing. | "No. Personio and any third party don't use input data or output data for training purposes." Contractually: terms and conditions (Version 08-2026) clause 3.3 'Personio does not use the customer data stored in the Software to train AI models' (translated); Additional Terms for AI Features (Version 08-2026) clause 4.1: Personio does not use the customer's data, inputs or outputs to train or improve AI models, 'This also applies to third-party AI providers.' (translated) According to the support FAQ, however, input/output are stored for quality assurance (never for training); the only opt-out is to deactivate Assistant and Talent Screening Agent under Settings > Account & support > AI features. For AI payslip scanning, too, input/output are stored for quality assurance, not for training. |
| EU option | EU option | |
| Details: Data residency | FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information. | "All AI processing takes place on Personio's own AWS servers in the EU, using AWS Bedrock. Data is stored in Frankfurt and doesn't leave the EU." |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6… | Personio stores input and output for… |
| Details: Data retention | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12). | Personio stores input and output for quality assurance and service improvement; one-off deletion of earlier data possible on request; the duration of this storage is not stated. According to the documentation, AWS Bedrock/LLM do not store personal data ('zero storage policy'). DPA (Version 09-2024) clauses 10.2–10.4: retention of personal data for 30 days after the end of the contract, within this period return or erasure on request, thereafter obligation to erase; earlier erasure possible on instruction in text form. |
| differs by plan | DATEV shop | Personio packages |
| Details: Price | DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18) | Personio packages (Core, Core PRO): price only on request (depending on, among other things, number of employees and apps; annual subscription with a 12-month minimum term, one-off set-up fee). According to the Additional Terms for AI Features (clause 7), AI features are 'billed on a usage basis, measured in AI credits' (translated); once credits are used up, Extra Usage 'at the applicable rate' (translated) billed monthly in arrears, after admin approval, with an optional Spend Limit. Talent Screening Agent: 80 credits per automatically screened application; bonus credits (valid for 30 days), Prepaid Credits/credit packs (valid for 12 months or until the end of the contract). Monetary price per credit not publicly documented ('each credit costs a set amount'). As of 2026-10-18 |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes | yes (AI features according to the support documentation; the pricing page does not assign AI features to any package; some features with AI Credits) |
| 9 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPAPersonio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planyes (automatically; terms and conditions clause 11.1: the 'data processing addendum' (translated document title, version 09-2024) published at www.personio.de/agb/ 'is agreed' (translated) and forms part of the contract)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotno
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planno
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan"No. Personio and any third party don't use input data or output data for training purposes." Contractually: terms and conditions (Version 08-2026) clause 3.3 'Personio does not use the customer data stored in the Software to train AI models' (translated); Additional Terms for AI Features (Version 08-2026) clause 4.1: Personio does not use the customer's data, inputs or outputs to train or improve AI models, 'This also applies to third-party AI providers.' (translated) According to the support FAQ, however, input/output are stored for quality assurance (never for training); the only opt-out is to deactivate Assistant and Talent Screening Agent under Settings > Account & support > AI features. For AI payslip scanning, too, input/output are stored for quality assurance, not for training.
Hosting
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotEU option
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planEU option
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan"All AI processing takes place on Personio's own AWS servers in the EU, using AWS Bedrock. Data is stored in Frankfurt and doesn't leave the EU."
Sub-processors
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotlist available
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planlist available
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan- AWS (AWS Bedrock; models from Anthropic and Amazon; according to the documentation an existing sub-processor, SCCs with AWS Sarl)
- full list, according to DPA clause 7.1, in the Software ('Settings' > 'Support' > 'Subscription & billing' > 'Data privacy information') and in the Trust Center (only after a 'Get access' request)
Retention
- differs by plan
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6…
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planPersonio stores input and output for…
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planPersonio stores input and output for quality assurance and service improvement; one-off deletion of earlier data possible on request; the duration of this storage is not stated. According to the documentation, AWS Bedrock/LLM do not store personal data ('zero storage policy'). DPA (Version 09-2024) clauses 10.2–10.4: retention of personal data for 30 days after the end of the contract, within this period return or erasure on request, thereafter obligation to erase; earlier erasure possible on instruction in text form.
Price
- differs by plan
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotDATEV shop
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planPersonio packages
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planPersonio packages (Core, Core PRO): price only on request (depending on, among other things, number of employees and apps; annual subscription with a 12-month minimum term, one-off set-up fee). According to the Additional Terms for AI Features (clause 7), AI features are 'billed on a usage basis, measured in AI credits' (translated); once credits are used up, Extra Usage 'at the applicable rate' (translated) billed monthly in arrears, after admin approval, with an optional Spend Limit. Talent Screening Agent: 80 credits per automatically screened application; bonus credits (valid for 30 days), Prepaid Credits/credit packs (valid for 12 months or until the end of the contract). Monetary price per credit not publicly documented ('each credit costs a set amount'). As of 2026-10-18
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
yes
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by planyes (AI features according to the support documentation; the pricing page does not assign AI features to any package; some features with AI Credits)
Evidence
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot9 sources
- Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan7 sources
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Personio AI features Documentation does not differentiate by plan- FAQ about AI data privacy and security (Updated 2026-10-05)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Overview of Personio AI features (Updated 2026-08-20)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- FAQ about Personio AI features (Updated 2026-09-24)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Overview of AI Credits (Updated 2026-10-09)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Pricing / plans (German)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Personio Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Legal Hub: terms and conditions (Version 08-2026), data processing addendum (Version 09-2024), Additional Terms for AI Features (Version 08-2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | DATEV AI features | Personio AI features |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| yesonly plan |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| noonly plan |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| EU optiononly plan |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 3 plans | list availableonly plan | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| Personio stores input and output for…only plan |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| Personio packagesonly plan |
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 3 plans | yesonly plan | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 16 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- yesDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors), AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Personio AI featuresyesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
not publicly documented
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA - AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
yes (automatically; terms and conditions clause 11.1: the 'data processing addendum' (translated document title, version 09-2024) published at www.personio.de/agb/ 'is agreed' (translated) and forms part of the contract)
Provider’s DPA
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Training
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- noDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- yesAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Personio AI featuresnoonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
KI-Werkstatt page: 'Some prototypes in the DATEV KI-Werkstatt use the Microsoft Azure Open AI Services' (translated); inputs are 'not passed on to OpenAI and not used to train the models' (translated). No statement for the other prototypes; therefore not substantiated for the plan as a whole.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (accounting), Steuern (tax) and Personalwirtschaft (payroll), each item 1.8 'Service-related cross-customer data processing' (translated) (identical wording also for Wissen [knowledge]): for 'intelligent cloud solutions' (translated), the customer instructs DATEV to use the data sets 'set up by the customer for the „Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“' (translated) 'in the context of new and further development, quality assurance and operation' (translated); 'For machine learning or deep learning, this training forms the basis for the systems' learning' (translated); 'for example, data of different customers of the „DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“ are analysed together' (translated); 'Personal data may still be processed in the resulting AI models as well' (translated); special categories of personal data may also be processed. The application of the AI models remains 'exclusively a DATEV-internal process' (translated). No possibility of objection is described in item 1.8; according to its wording, the optional deletion of the anonymisation agreement (DPA item 15b) only affects items 3.7/3.8, not item 1.8. The Basis service description (Copilot) contains no item 1.8 of this kind. Payroll benchmark uses 'real, anonymised DATEV payroll records' (translated); de-identification service: data is 'analysed in the DATEV data centre' (translated) and de-identified before AI processing.
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
"No. Personio and any third party don't use input data or output data for training purposes." Contractually: terms and conditions (Version 08-2026) clause 3.3 'Personio does not use the customer data stored in the Software to train AI models' (translated); Additional Terms for AI Features (Version 08-2026) clause 4.1: Personio does not use the customer's data, inputs or outputs to train or improve AI models, 'This also applies to third-party AI providers.' (translated) According to the support FAQ, however, input/output are stored for quality assurance (never for training); the only opt-out is to deactivate Assistant and Talent Screening Agent under Settings > Account & support > AI features. For AI payslip scanning, too, input/output are stored for quality assurance, not for training.
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- EU optionDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- mixedAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Personio AI featuresEU optiononly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Page: prototypes 'in a protected DATEV environment' (translated); for Azure OpenAI prototypes, inputs are 'sent as a request through the DATEV cloud-native data centre to Microsoft Azure' (translated) and processed there temporarily. Azure region not stated.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV data centre/DATEV cloud according to the de-identification article and the AI overview. Help document 1000192 (as of 2026-09-18): Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (IE) for 'DATEV Einspruchsgenerator, DATEV LEXchat AI functionalities' (translated) without transfer to a third country; transfers to a third country (USA) to Datadog, Inc. (DATEV Bankdatenservice) and Raintank, Inc./Grafana Labs (IT monitoring), among others, on the basis of the EU-U.S. DPF.
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
"All AI processing takes place on Personio's own AWS servers in the EU, using AWS Bedrock. Data is stored in Frankfurt and doesn't leave the EU."
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Sub-processors
- DATEV AI featureslist availableall 3 plans
- Personio AI featureslist availableonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Microsoft Azure OpenAI Services (some prototypes)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Einspruchsgenerator, LEXchat AI functionalities)
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (operation/hosting of DATEV products)
- Microsoft Deutschland GmbH (DATEV products, data centre services)
- Google Ireland Ltd. (DATEV platform, chatbot use)
- Datadog, Inc. (USA, DATEV Bankdatenservice, DPF)
- others according to help document 1000192
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
- AWS (AWS Bedrock; models from Anthropic and Amazon; according to the documentation an existing sub-processor, SCCs with AWS Sarl)
- full list, according to DPA clause 7.1, in the Software ('Settings' > 'Support' > 'Subscription & billing' > 'Data privacy information') and in the Trust Center (only after a 'Get access' request)
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Retention
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- For Azure prototypes: 'There is no…DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.6…DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Per product in the service descriptions…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Personio AI featuresPersonio stores input and output for…only plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)For Azure prototypes: 'There is no persistent storage of personal data at Azure.' (translated). Otherwise not publicly documented.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)Per product in the service descriptions, item 3.6: Rechnungswesen, among others, e-invoices after 90 days, deleted Belege online data sets after 6 months, bank account transactions after 13 years; Wissen: 'After 12 months or when 100 conversations are exceeded, DATEV automatically deletes the conversations in DATEV LEXchat' (translated); otherwise deletion on instruction. No deletion period is stated for the AI models under item 1.8.
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)Personio stores input and output for quality assurance and service improvement; one-off deletion of earlier data possible on request; the duration of this storage is not stated. According to the documentation, AWS Bedrock/LLM do not store personal data ('zero storage policy'). DPA (Version 09-2024) clauses 10.2–10.4: retention of personal data for 30 days after the end of the contract, within this period return or erasure on request, thereafter obligation to erase; earlier erasure possible on instruction in text form.
Price
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- 'The platform can be used free of charge'DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- DATEV shopDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Billing according to the service…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Personio AI featuresPersonio packagesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
'The platform can be used free of charge' (translated); login via DATEV account and SmartCard/SmartLogin (as of 2026-10-18)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
Billing according to the service descriptions 'in accordance with the current DATEV price list' (translated); the DATEV price list for firms is offered as a PDF download and was not evaluated (as of 2026-10-18)
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
Personio packages (Core, Core PRO): price only on request (depending on, among other things, number of employees and apps; annual subscription with a 12-month minimum term, one-off set-up fee). According to the Additional Terms for AI Features (clause 7), AI features are 'billed on a usage basis, measured in AI credits' (translated); once credits are used up, Extra Usage 'at the applicable rate' (translated) billed monthly in arrears, after admin approval, with an optional Spend Limit. Talent Screening Agent: 80 credits per automatically screened application; bonus credits (valid for 30 days), Prepaid Credits/credit packs (valid for 12 months or until the end of the contract). Monetary price per credit not publicly documented ('each credit costs a set amount'). As of 2026-10-18
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- DATEV AI featuresyesall 3 plans
- Personio AI featuresyesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
yes
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes
Personio AI features- Documentation does not differentiate by plan (Core and Core PRO packages; AI features can be activated in Settings)
yes (AI features according to the support documentation; the pricing page does not assign AI features to any package; some features with AI Credits)
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Evidence
- DATEV AI features16 sources
- Personio AI features7 sources
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DPA sections 6, 12, 15, 16 (third country, erasure, purpose limitation) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI at DATEV (overview) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- How to get data protection right when using AI (De-Identifikation Service) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904399: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904413: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Steuern (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904409: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Personalwirtschaft (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904420: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Wissen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Personio AI features- FAQ about AI data privacy and security (Updated 2026-10-05)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Overview of Personio AI features (Updated 2026-08-20)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- FAQ about Personio AI features (Updated 2026-09-24)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Overview of AI Credits (Updated 2026-10-09)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Pricing / plans (German)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Personio Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Legal Hub: terms and conditions (Version 08-2026), data processing addendum (Version 09-2024), Additional Terms for AI Features (Version 08-2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
DATEV AI features compared with
Individual pages: DATEV AI features, Personio AI features. All tools in the category: Business software.