DATEV AI features vs. Intercom Fin: data protection per plan
DATEV AI features (3 plans) and Intercom Fin (1 plan) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | DATEV AI features | Intercom Fin |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Paumgartnerstraße 6-14, 90429 Nürnberg, Germany | Intercom R&D Unlimited Company, 124 St Stephen's Green, Dublin 2, DC02 C628, Ireland |
| Plans recorded | 3 | 1 |
| Hosting | not documented: DATEV KI-WerkstattEU option: DATEV Copilotmixed: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | EU option: Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin |
| Training on inputs | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattno: DATEV Copilotyes: AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | opt-out available: Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin |
| DPA | not documented: DATEV KI-Werkstattyes: DATEV Copilot, AI-supported DATEV cloud functions | yes: Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot vs. Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
| Feature | DATEV AI featuresDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors) | Intercom FinIntercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a) Provider’s DPA | yes (Data Processing Addendum, Effective 2025-04-09, including standard contractual clauses) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | no | opt-out available |
| Details: Training on inputs | DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing. | Security page: 'Fin trains only on your knowledge and Procedures, never on data you haven't approved, and you can opt out of fine-tuning anytime, with data deleted within 30 days.' FAQ on the Security page: 'Fin can use anonymized customer data for model fine-tuning'; opt-out at any time. Security page also: 'Fin Apex 2.0 is grounded in your knowledge base and post-trained on Fin's own production data'; third-party AI 'contractually barred from training on your data, with zero retention once a response is generated'. The Product Privacy Notice contains no statement on training; how the opt-out is exercised is not described there or in the help centre. |
| EU option | EU option | |
| Details: Data residency | FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information. | Sub-processor list (2026-06-25): for customers with EU data hosting, AWS is in Dublin (eu-west-1), Snowflake in Ireland; AI processing by OpenAI, Google, Microsoft, Eleven Labs and Cartesia located in the 'EU' (Anthropic not listed in the EU section). Help centre: 'Regional Data Hosting is only available to new workspaces on the Advanced and Expert plans'; only with a contract ('available to customers on a contract'), via sales; no migration of existing workspaces, conversations cannot be transferred; surcharge not stated. Regional Data Hosting Addendum (2024-03-08): account management, support and individual features may be processed outside the EU. Default: USA. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6… | DPA Section 10: deletion on written… |
| Details: Data retention | Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12). | DPA Section 10: deletion on written request 'within a maximum period of 30 days'; without a request, automatic deletion '180 days after the termination or expiration of this Agreement'; backups deleted after 14 days. Security page: opt-out of fine-tuning with deletion within 30 days; third-party AI without retention after the response. Fin Memory (help centre): recent messages and summaries 45 days, facts 180 days, then automatic deletion. Retention of ongoing conversations during the contract term: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | DATEV shop | several tiers |
| Details: Price | DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18) | Intercom Helpdesk: Essential 19 USD, Advanced 85 USD, Expert 132 USD per seat per month with annual billing; 29 USD, 99 USD, 139 USD with monthly billing (pricing page; Lite seats free of charge). AI surcharge separate: Fin AI Agent 0.99 USD per outcome ('outcome'), qualifications 9.99 USD; with a third-party helpdesk, minimum purchase of 50 outcomes per month; Copilot 29 USD (annual billing) or 35 USD (monthly billing) per user per month; Pro add-on from 100 USD per workspace per month (Intercom and Fin pricing pages; USD only; net/gross not stated) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes | yes (Fin AI Agent usable in all plans; base fee 0 USD; billing per outcome) |
| 9 sources | 10 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPAIntercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finyes (Data Processing Addendum, Effective 2025-04-09, including standard contractual clauses)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotno
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finopt-out available
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinSecurity page: 'Fin trains only on your knowledge and Procedures, never on data you haven't approved, and you can opt out of fine-tuning anytime, with data deleted within 30 days.' FAQ on the Security page: 'Fin can use anonymized customer data for model fine-tuning'; opt-out at any time. Security page also: 'Fin Apex 2.0 is grounded in your knowledge base and post-trained on Fin's own production data'; third-party AI 'contractually barred from training on your data, with zero retention once a response is generated'. The Product Privacy Notice contains no statement on training; how the opt-out is exercised is not described there or in the help centre.
Hosting
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotEU option
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinEU option
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinSub-processor list (2026-06-25): for customers with EU data hosting, AWS is in Dublin (eu-west-1), Snowflake in Ireland; AI processing by OpenAI, Google, Microsoft, Eleven Labs and Cartesia located in the 'EU' (Anthropic not listed in the EU section). Help centre: 'Regional Data Hosting is only available to new workspaces on the Advanced and Expert plans'; only with a contract ('available to customers on a contract'), via sales; no migration of existing workspaces, conversations cannot be transferred; surcharge not stated. Regional Data Hosting Addendum (2024-03-08): account management, support and individual features may be processed outside the EU. Default: USA.
Sub-processors
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotlist available
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finlist available
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin- Amazon Web Services (hosting; default USA, with EU hosting Dublin, Ireland, region eu-west-1)
- Snowflake (data warehouse and AI processing; default USA, with EU hosting Ireland)
- AI default: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Microsoft (each USA); with EU hosting: OpenAI, Google, Microsoft (EU), Anthropic not listed
- Text-to-speech: Eleven Labs, Cartesia (default USA, with EU hosting EU)
- PlanetScale, Ably Realtime and others (USA)
Retention
- differs by plan
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6…
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinDPA Section 10: deletion on written…
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotService descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinDPA Section 10: deletion on written request 'within a maximum period of 30 days'; without a request, automatic deletion '180 days after the termination or expiration of this Agreement'; backups deleted after 14 days. Security page: opt-out of fine-tuning with deletion within 30 days; third-party AI without retention after the response. Fin Memory (help centre): recent messages and summaries 45 days, facts 180 days, then automatic deletion. Retention of ongoing conversations during the contract term: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- DATEV AI features DATEV CopilotDATEV shop
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finseveral tiers
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinIntercom Helpdesk: Essential 19 USD, Advanced 85 USD, Expert 132 USD per seat per month with annual billing; 29 USD, 99 USD, 139 USD with monthly billing (pricing page; Lite seats free of charge). AI surcharge separate: Fin AI Agent 0.99 USD per outcome ('outcome'), qualifications 9.99 USD; with a third-party helpdesk, minimum purchase of 50 outcomes per month; Copilot 29 USD (annual billing) or 35 USD (monthly billing) per user per month; Pro add-on from 100 USD per workspace per month (Intercom and Fin pricing pages; USD only; net/gross not stated)
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilotyes
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finyes
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
yes
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Finyes (Fin AI Agent usable in all plans; base fee 0 USD; billing per outcome)
Evidence
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot9 sources
- Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin10 sources
- DATEV AI features DATEV Copilot
- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Intercom Fin Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin- PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Fin AI Agent PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-08-21)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2025-04-09)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors List (Effective 2026-06-25)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Regional Data Hosting Addendum (Effective 2024-03-08)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Fin's Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Regional Data HostingHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Fin memoryHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | DATEV AI features | Intercom Fin |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| yesonly plan |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| opt-out availableonly plan |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| EU optiononly plan |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 3 plans | list availableonly plan | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| DPA Section 10: deletion on written…only plan |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| several tiersonly plan |
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 3 plans | yesonly plan | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 16 sources | 10 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- yesDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors), AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Intercom Finyesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
not publicly documented
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA - AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes (concluded via online form with DATEV SmartCard/SmartLogin or by being stored in DATEV Einverständniserklärungen; effective 'upon confirmation of the conclusion of the contract by DATEV' (translated), DPA item 19 a)
Provider’s DPA
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
yes (Data Processing Addendum, Effective 2025-04-09, including standard contractual clauses)
Provider’s DPA
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Training
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- noDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- yesAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Intercom Finopt-out availableonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
KI-Werkstatt page: 'Some prototypes in the DATEV KI-Werkstatt use the Microsoft Azure Open AI Services' (translated); inputs are 'not passed on to OpenAI and not used to train the models' (translated). No statement for the other prototypes; therefore not substantiated for the plan as a whole.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV Copilot FAQ: 'Is my data used to train the AI? No, neither Microsoft nor OpenAI use your data for training.' (translated). Copilot is a DATEV cloud service under the DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (doc. no. 0904407); unlike the service descriptions for Rechnungswesen, Steuern, Personalwirtschaft and Wissen, these contain no clause on cross-customer processing for 'Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen'. Item 3.8, however, permits DATEV to process data 'for the purpose of developing new or further developing existing DATEV products in an appropriately secured environment' (translated); according to item 3.8 this does not apply if the customer concluded the DPA without the anonymisation agreement (deletion possible under DPA item 15). An express statement on DATEV's own model training with Copilot inputs is missing.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV service descriptions for the DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (accounting), Steuern (tax) and Personalwirtschaft (payroll), each item 1.8 'Service-related cross-customer data processing' (translated) (identical wording also for Wissen [knowledge]): for 'intelligent cloud solutions' (translated), the customer instructs DATEV to use the data sets 'set up by the customer for the „Intelligente DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“' (translated) 'in the context of new and further development, quality assurance and operation' (translated); 'For machine learning or deep learning, this training forms the basis for the systems' learning' (translated); 'for example, data of different customers of the „DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen“ are analysed together' (translated); 'Personal data may still be processed in the resulting AI models as well' (translated); special categories of personal data may also be processed. The application of the AI models remains 'exclusively a DATEV-internal process' (translated). No possibility of objection is described in item 1.8; according to its wording, the optional deletion of the anonymisation agreement (DPA item 15b) only affects items 3.7/3.8, not item 1.8. The Basis service description (Copilot) contains no item 1.8 of this kind. Payroll benchmark uses 'real, anonymised DATEV payroll records' (translated); de-identification service: data is 'analysed in the DATEV data centre' (translated) and de-identified before AI processing.
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
Security page: 'Fin trains only on your knowledge and Procedures, never on data you haven't approved, and you can opt out of fine-tuning anytime, with data deleted within 30 days.' FAQ on the Security page: 'Fin can use anonymized customer data for model fine-tuning'; opt-out at any time. Security page also: 'Fin Apex 2.0 is grounded in your knowledge base and post-trained on Fin's own production data'; third-party AI 'contractually barred from training on your data, with zero retention once a response is generated'. The Product Privacy Notice contains no statement on training; how the opt-out is exercised is not described there or in the help centre.
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- not publicly documentedDATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- EU optionDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- mixedAI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Intercom FinEU optiononly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Page: prototypes 'in a protected DATEV environment' (translated); for Azure OpenAI prototypes, inputs are 'sent as a request through the DATEV cloud-native data centre to Microsoft Azure' (translated) and processed there temporarily. Azure region not stated.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
FAQ: 'DATEV Copilot uses Microsoft Azure services. The data you upload is processed in an area hosted by DATEV at Microsoft Azure in a European data centre.' (translated). Internet research (optional, permission 'Allow internet research' (translated)): according to the programme content (doc. no. 0904530), 'you transmit your data to Microsoft Corporation in the USA' (translated); 'Microsoft processes your data for its own purposes and on global servers' (translated); DATEV warns against transmitting confidential or legally protected information.
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
DATEV data centre/DATEV cloud according to the de-identification article and the AI overview. Help document 1000192 (as of 2026-09-18): Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (IE) for 'DATEV Einspruchsgenerator, DATEV LEXchat AI functionalities' (translated) without transfer to a third country; transfers to a third country (USA) to Datadog, Inc. (DATEV Bankdatenservice) and Raintank, Inc./Grafana Labs (IT monitoring), among others, on the basis of the EU-U.S. DPF.
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
Sub-processor list (2026-06-25): for customers with EU data hosting, AWS is in Dublin (eu-west-1), Snowflake in Ireland; AI processing by OpenAI, Google, Microsoft, Eleven Labs and Cartesia located in the 'EU' (Anthropic not listed in the EU section). Help centre: 'Regional Data Hosting is only available to new workspaces on the Advanced and Expert plans'; only with a contract ('available to customers on a contract'), via sales; no migration of existing workspaces, conversations cannot be transferred; surcharge not stated. Regional Data Hosting Addendum (2024-03-08): account management, support and individual features may be processed outside the EU. Default: USA.
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Sub-processors
- DATEV AI featureslist availableall 3 plans
- Intercom Finlist availableonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Microsoft Azure OpenAI Services (some prototypes)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Microsoft Azure (AI services, European data centre, according to the Copilot FAQ)
- OpenAI models via Azure (according to the FAQ, OpenAI does not use data for training)
- Microsoft Bing (only with internet research enabled; independent processing by Microsoft)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.4: 'DATEV Copilot: Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited' (Dublin, IE), purpose 'AI functions' (translated); otherwise help document 1000192
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Microsoft Ireland Operations Limited (Einspruchsgenerator, LEXchat AI functionalities)
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL (operation/hosting of DATEV products)
- Microsoft Deutschland GmbH (DATEV products, data centre services)
- Google Ireland Ltd. (DATEV platform, chatbot use)
- Datadog, Inc. (USA, DATEV Bankdatenservice, DPF)
- others according to help document 1000192
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
- Amazon Web Services (hosting; default USA, with EU hosting Dublin, Ireland, region eu-west-1)
- Snowflake (data warehouse and AI processing; default USA, with EU hosting Ireland)
- AI default: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Microsoft (each USA); with EU hosting: OpenAI, Google, Microsoft (EU), Anthropic not listed
- Text-to-speech: Eleven Labs, Cartesia (default USA, with EU hosting EU)
- PlanetScale, Ably Realtime and others (USA)
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Retention
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- For Azure prototypes: 'There is no…DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- Service descriptions Basis item 3.6…DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Per product in the service descriptions…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Intercom FinDPA Section 10: deletion on written…only plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)For Azure prototypes: 'There is no persistent storage of personal data at Azure.' (translated). Otherwise not publicly documented.
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)Service descriptions Basis item 3.6: 'After 2 years (from the date of the last activity in DATEV Copilot), DATEV deletes the DATEV Copilot chats; after 6 months, DATEV deletes uploaded documents.' (translated). Otherwise deletion on instruction; after the end of processing, deletion or return at the customer's choice, subject to statutory retention obligations (DPA item 12).
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)Per product in the service descriptions, item 3.6: Rechnungswesen, among others, e-invoices after 90 days, deleted Belege online data sets after 6 months, bank account transactions after 13 years; Wissen: 'After 12 months or when 100 conversations are exceeded, DATEV automatically deletes the conversations in DATEV LEXchat' (translated); otherwise deletion on instruction. No deletion period is stated for the AI models under item 1.8.
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with FinDPA Section 10: deletion on written request 'within a maximum period of 30 days'; without a request, automatic deletion '180 days after the termination or expiration of this Agreement'; backups deleted after 14 days. Security page: opt-out of fine-tuning with deletion within 30 days; third-party AI without retention after the response. Fin Memory (help centre): recent messages and summaries 45 days, facts 180 days, then automatic deletion. Retention of ongoing conversations during the contract term: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- DATEV AI features
- 'The platform can be used free of charge'DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- DATEV shopDATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
- Billing according to the service…AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
- Intercom Finseveral tiersonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
'The platform can be used free of charge' (translated); login via DATEV account and SmartCard/SmartLogin (as of 2026-10-18)
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
DATEV shop (item no. 90431): 'The prerequisite is ordering a free licence via this shop page' (translated); ordering also via the MyDATEV ordering and set-up assistant. Usage limit: rolling 2-hour window, if exceeded blocked for 2 hours (doc. no. 1049806). MyDATEV Kanzlei and LEXinform plus require a licence (as of 2026-10-18)
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
Billing according to the service descriptions 'in accordance with the current DATEV price list' (translated); the DATEV price list for firms is offered as a PDF download and was not evaluated (as of 2026-10-18)
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
Intercom Helpdesk: Essential 19 USD, Advanced 85 USD, Expert 132 USD per seat per month with annual billing; 29 USD, 99 USD, 139 USD with monthly billing (pricing page; Lite seats free of charge). AI surcharge separate: Fin AI Agent 0.99 USD per outcome ('outcome'), qualifications 9.99 USD; with a third-party helpdesk, minimum purchase of 50 outcomes per month; Copilot 29 USD (annual billing) or 35 USD (monthly billing) per user per month; Pro add-on from 100 USD per workspace per month (Intercom and Fin pricing pages; USD only; net/gross not stated)
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
- DATEV AI featuresyesall 3 plans
- Intercom Finyesonly plan
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
yes
- DATEV Copilot (cloud application in MyDATEV; available only to tax advisers and auditors)
yes
- AI-supported DATEV cloud functions (Automatisierungsservice Rechnungen/Bank, Liquiditätsmonitor online, Datenprüfung, Einspruchsgenerator, Personal-Benchmark online)
yes
Intercom Fin- Intercom Helpdesk Essential / Advanced / Expert with Fin
yes (Fin AI Agent usable in all plans; base fee 0 USD; billing per outcome)
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (prototypes, for DATEV members, free of charge)
Evidence
- DATEV AI features16 sources
- Intercom Fin10 sources
- DATEV AI features
- DATEV Copilot: login and functions of the AI assistant (FAQ) (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data processing agreement (DATEV AV V1) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI in everyday practice: DATEV Copilot (DATEV magazin) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- DATEV KI-Werkstatt (German)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DPA sections 6, 12, 15, 16 (third country, erasure, purpose limitation) (German)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI at DATEV (overview) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- How to get data protection right when using AI (De-Identifikation Service) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 1000192: overview of further processors used and transfers to third countries (as of 2026-09-18) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904407: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Basis (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904530: Programminhalt DATEV Copilot (programme content)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DATEV shop: DATEV Copilot (item no. 90431)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 1049806: Nutzungslimit DATEV Copilot (usage limit)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904399: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Rechnungswesen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904413: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Steuern (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904409: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Personalwirtschaft (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Help document 0904420: Leistungsbeschreibungen DATEV-Cloud-Lösungen Wissen (service descriptions)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Intercom Fin- PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Fin AI Agent PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-08-21)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2025-04-09)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors List (Effective 2026-06-25)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Regional Data Hosting Addendum (Effective 2024-03-08)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Fin's Trust CenterTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Regional Data HostingHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Fin memoryHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
DATEV AI features compared with
Individual pages: DATEV AI features, Intercom Fin. All tools in the category: Business software.