Asana AI vs. ClickUp Brain: data protection per plan
Asana AI (3 plans) and ClickUp Brain (3 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Asana AI | ClickUp Brain |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Asana, Inc., 633 Folsom Street, Suite 100, San Francisco, CA 94107-3600, USA | Mango Technologies, Inc. DBA ClickUp, 350 Tenth Ave, 5th floor, San Diego, CA 92101, USA |
| Plans recorded | 3 | 3 |
| Hosting | mixed: Personal, Starter / AdvancedEU option: Enterprise / Enterprise+ | not documented: Free Forever, Core / BusinessEU option: MAX / Enterprise |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: all 3 plans | no: all 3 plans |
| DPA | not documented: Personalyes: Starter / Advanced, Enterprise / Enterprise+ | yes: all 3 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Asana AI Starter / Advanced vs. ClickUp Brain Core / Business
| Feature | Asana AIStarter / Advanced | ClickUp BrainCore / Business |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (Data Processing Addendum, effective 2026-09-01, part of the subscription agreement of paying customers; with EU SCCs, UK Addendum and Swiss SCCs) Provider’s DPA | yes (Data Protection Addendum at clickup.com/terms/dpa, applies to customers with Terms of Use or SaaS Services Agreement, no plan restriction; contains EU SCCs Module Two and Three, UK Addendum and Swiss adaptations as Annex 3) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | opt-out available | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | Privacy policy (as of 08/2026): 'When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain, we use metadata related to your domain's use of Asana to train machine learning models' (the models also take effect in other domains); admins can adjust AI settings. Third-party LLMs are contractually excluded from training on customer data; AI page: partners delete customer data after each request. | Help centre FAQ (q8): 'ClickUp AI is not trained on data from your Workspace.'; contracts with AI providers prohibit training and retention ('prohibit ClickUp customer data from being used to train any AI model or from being retained by that model after processing'); zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers. Brain page: 'We forbid third-party AI providers from training on your data'. According to the FAQ, engineers only see traces when a user rates an AI response negatively (thumbs down). |
| differs by plan | mixed | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | Pricing page (comparison table): data residency only as an add-on (Enterprise) or included (Enterprise+), not offered for this plan. Product-Specific Terms: without a data residency SKU, hosting in an AWS data centre in the US (migration from there only with the SKU). Sub-processor list (as of 2026-09-11): AWS data centres in the US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan. | Security page: ClickUp is hosted entirely on Amazon Web Services; sub-processor list: AWS locations USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore (without stating which region applies without data residency). Pricing page: data residency not included in Unlimited/Core and Business (Enterprise or MAX only). DPA 8.1: processing “anywhere ClickUp or its Subprocessors maintains facilities”. AI processing: according to the help centre FAQ not in the EU even with EU hosting ('No. OpenAI, the subprocessor for ClickUp AI integrated with Chat-GPT, is located in the US.'); AI sub-processors according to the list (as of 2026-09-28) in the USA, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0 in China. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | DPA | DPA: deletion after the end of the… |
| Details: Data retention | DPA (2026-09-01): retention 'For as long as necessary to provide the Service as described in the Agreement, as legally or contractually required, or upon receipt of Customer's written request for deletion'; after contract end, deletion on written request, otherwise deletion 'in line with its obligations under Applicable Law'; 'Customer Personal Data is deleted or anonymized upon termination of the Agreement'. Privacy policy: retention for the duration of the purposes, no fixed periods. AI page: AI partners must delete customer data after each query. | DPA: deletion after the end of the contract 'as soon as reasonably practicable'; 30-day export period after termination, deletion within 30 days of a customer request. Help centre FAQ: zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers, data at partners 'deleted from their systems as soon as possible'. Privacy policy: storage 'as long as reasonably required'. |
| several tiers | several tiers | |
| Details: Price | Starter 10.99 USD and Advanced 24.99 USD per user per month with annual billing (13.49 USD and 30.49 USD respectively, monthly), with no user cap. AI surcharge: additional AI requests 0.50 USD per request (prepaid packs) or 0.60 USD (pay-as-you-go, billed monthly). AI Studio Plus (annual subscription with 100,000 credits per month) and AI Studio Pro (20 million credits per year) chargeable, amounts stated neither on the pricing page nor in the help centre (pricing page, net/gross not stated) | Pricing page as displayed in the browser on 2026-10-18: Unlimited USD 7, Business USD 12 per user per month with annual billing, USD 10 and USD 19 respectively with monthly billing; AI add-on Brain AI USD 9, Everything AI USD 28 per user per month; additional credits USD 10 per 10,000 credits. Hidden variant 'pricing-2026' in the page source: Core USD 9, Business USD 17 with annual billing (USD 12 and USD 25 regular price), AI included. No indication whether VAT is included. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI Teammates and Asana Dash: 5 requests per user per month, up to 50 requests per account; AI Studio Basic with rate limits: Starter 50K, Advanced 75K credits per billing account per month; AI Studio Plus/Pro chargeable; pricing page) | yes (pricing page as displayed in the browser: AI as an add-on, 'Brain AI' with 1,500 AI Super Credits or 'Everything AI' with 5,000 AI Super Credits per user per month; hidden page variant 'pricing-2026': ClickUp Brain² included in the plan, Core 1,000, Business 1,500 credits per user per month, pooled) |
| 9 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedyes
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businessyes
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
yes (Data Processing Addendum, effective 2026-09-01, part of the subscription agreement of paying customers; with EU SCCs, UK Addendum and Swiss SCCs)
Provider’s DPAClickUp Brain Core / Businessyes (Data Protection Addendum at clickup.com/terms/dpa, applies to customers with Terms of Use or SaaS Services Agreement, no plan restriction; contains EU SCCs Module Two and Three, UK Addendum and Swiss adaptations as Annex 3)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedopt-out available
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businessno
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
Privacy policy (as of 08/2026): 'When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain, we use metadata related to your domain's use of Asana to train machine learning models' (the models also take effect in other domains); admins can adjust AI settings. Third-party LLMs are contractually excluded from training on customer data; AI page: partners delete customer data after each request.
ClickUp Brain Core / BusinessHelp centre FAQ (q8): 'ClickUp AI is not trained on data from your Workspace.'; contracts with AI providers prohibit training and retention ('prohibit ClickUp customer data from being used to train any AI model or from being retained by that model after processing'); zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers. Brain page: 'We forbid third-party AI providers from training on your data'. According to the FAQ, engineers only see traces when a user rates an AI response negatively (thumbs down).
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedmixed
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businessnot publicly documented
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
Pricing page (comparison table): data residency only as an add-on (Enterprise) or included (Enterprise+), not offered for this plan. Product-Specific Terms: without a data residency SKU, hosting in an AWS data centre in the US (migration from there only with the SKU). Sub-processor list (as of 2026-09-11): AWS data centres in the US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan.
ClickUp Brain Core / BusinessSecurity page: ClickUp is hosted entirely on Amazon Web Services; sub-processor list: AWS locations USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore (without stating which region applies without data residency). Pricing page: data residency not included in Unlimited/Core and Business (Enterprise or MAX only). DPA 8.1: processing “anywhere ClickUp or its Subprocessors maintains facilities”. AI processing: according to the help centre FAQ not in the EU even with EU hosting ('No. OpenAI, the subprocessor for ClickUp AI integrated with Chat-GPT, is located in the US.'); AI sub-processors according to the list (as of 2026-09-28) in the USA, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0 in China.
Sub-processors
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedlist available
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businesslist available
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
- Amazon Web Services (cloud; US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan)
- Google Cloud (cloud; US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich)
- Fireworks AI (cloud service provider, US; since 2026-08-31)
- LLM providers: Anthropic (US), OpenAI OpCo (US and Norway), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich), AWS Bedrock (US, EU)
- Analytics/data warehouse: Amplitude, Databricks, Segment, Tableau (US)
- Support: Intercom (AI chatbot), Salesforce Service Cloud (US)
ClickUp Brain Core / Business- Amazon Web Services (infrastructure; USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore)
- OpenAI (AI functionality; USA)
- Anthropic (AI functionality; USA)
- Google Firebase, Google Analytics, Google Gemini (including AI functionality; USA)
- Microsoft Azure AI Foundry (AI functionality; USA)
- AssemblyAI, Baseten, Brave, Browserbase, Memori Labs, Vercel (AI functionality; each USA)
- Foundry Labs, Inc / E2B (AI functionality: code interpreter; USA)
- Kling 3.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Seedance 2.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Daily (audio/video, transcription, recording; USA); Recall (transcription; USA)
- further platform, support and service sub-processors (including Amplitude, Datadog, Snowflake, Stripe, Twilio, Zendesk, Salesforce, Maven AGI, Replit), all USA; full list at q7
Retention
- differs by plan
- Asana AI Starter / AdvancedDPA
- ClickUp Brain Core / BusinessDPA: deletion after the end of the…
- Asana AI Starter / AdvancedDPA (2026-09-01): retention 'For as long as necessary to provide the Service as described in the Agreement, as legally or contractually required, or upon receipt of Customer's written request for deletion'; after contract end, deletion on written request, otherwise deletion 'in line with its obligations under Applicable Law'; 'Customer Personal Data is deleted or anonymized upon termination of the Agreement'. Privacy policy: retention for the duration of the purposes, no fixed periods. AI page: AI partners must delete customer data after each query.ClickUp Brain Core / BusinessDPA: deletion after the end of the contract 'as soon as reasonably practicable'; 30-day export period after termination, deletion within 30 days of a customer request. Help centre FAQ: zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers, data at partners 'deleted from their systems as soon as possible'. Privacy policy: storage 'as long as reasonably required'.
Price
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedseveral tiers
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businessseveral tiers
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
Starter 10.99 USD and Advanced 24.99 USD per user per month with annual billing (13.49 USD and 30.49 USD respectively, monthly), with no user cap. AI surcharge: additional AI requests 0.50 USD per request (prepaid packs) or 0.60 USD (pay-as-you-go, billed monthly). AI Studio Plus (annual subscription with 100,000 credits per month) and AI Studio Pro (20 million credits per year) chargeable, amounts stated neither on the pricing page nor in the help centre (pricing page, net/gross not stated)
ClickUp Brain Core / BusinessPricing page as displayed in the browser on 2026-10-18: Unlimited USD 7, Business USD 12 per user per month with annual billing, USD 10 and USD 19 respectively with monthly billing; AI add-on Brain AI USD 9, Everything AI USD 28 per user per month; additional credits USD 10 per 10,000 credits. Hidden variant 'pricing-2026' in the page source: Core USD 9, Business USD 17 with annual billing (USD 12 and USD 25 regular price), AI included. No indication whether VAT is included.
- Asana AI Starter / Advancedyes
- ClickUp Brain Core / Businessyes
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
yes (AI Teammates and Asana Dash: 5 requests per user per month, up to 50 requests per account; AI Studio Basic with rate limits: Starter 50K, Advanced 75K credits per billing account per month; AI Studio Plus/Pro chargeable; pricing page)
ClickUp Brain Core / Businessyes (pricing page as displayed in the browser: AI as an add-on, 'Brain AI' with 1,500 AI Super Credits or 'Everything AI' with 5,000 AI Super Credits per user per month; hidden page variant 'pricing-2026': ClickUp Brain² included in the plan, Core 1,000, Business 1,500 credits per user per month, pooled)
Evidence
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced9 sources
- ClickUp Brain Core / Business8 sources
- Asana AI Starter / Advanced
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana AIProvider product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana Product-Specific Terms (Effective 2026-10-05)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Statement (Effective 2026-09-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (Last updated 2026-09-11)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2026-09-01)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana User Terms of Service (Effective 2024-01-01)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Residency for Asana (help centre)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Studio add-on and pricing (help centre)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
ClickUp Brain Core / Business- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp BrainProvider product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-06-02)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp AI Terms (Last updated 2025-07-11)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing AddendumDPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- List of Sub-processors (Last updated September 28, 2026)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp AI models, privacy, and security FAQHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Asana AI | ClickUp Brain |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| yesall 3 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | opt-out availableall 3 plans | noall 3 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 3 plans | list availableall 3 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| yesall 3 plans |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 9 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Asana AI
- not publicly documentedPersonal
- yesStarter / Advanced, Enterprise / Enterprise+
- ClickUp Brainyesall 3 plans
- Asana AI
- Personal
not publicly documented (according to its text, the DPA is part of the „applicable subscription agreement“; according to the User Terms, Personal users are „Free Users“ without a Customer Agreement)
- Starter / Advanced
yes (Data Processing Addendum, effective 2026-09-01, part of the subscription agreement of paying customers; with EU SCCs, UK Addendum and Swiss SCCs)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise / Enterprise+
yes (Data Processing Addendum, effective 2026-09-01)
Provider’s DPA
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
yes (Data Protection Addendum at clickup.com/terms/dpa, applies to customers with Terms of Use or SaaS Services Agreement, no plan restriction; contains EU SCCs Module Two and Three, UK Addendum and Swiss adaptations as Annex 3)
Provider’s DPA - Core / Business
yes (Data Protection Addendum at clickup.com/terms/dpa, applies to customers with Terms of Use or SaaS Services Agreement, no plan restriction; contains EU SCCs Module Two and Three, UK Addendum and Swiss adaptations as Annex 3)
Provider’s DPA - MAX / Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
- Personal
Training
- differs by tool
- Asana AIopt-out availableall 3 plans
- ClickUp Brainnoall 3 plans
- Asana AI
- Personal
Privacy policy (as of 08/2026): metadata training of its own ML models, „When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain“; according to the pricing page, Asana AI features are not included in Personal. Free User Content: licence to Asana „as permitted by Asana’s Privacy Statement“ (User Terms 8.2).
- Starter / Advanced
Privacy policy (as of 08/2026): 'When features powered by Asana AI are enabled in your domain, we use metadata related to your domain's use of Asana to train machine learning models' (the models also take effect in other domains); admins can adjust AI settings. Third-party LLMs are contractually excluded from training on customer data; AI page: partners delete customer data after each request.
- Enterprise / Enterprise+
as for Personal to Advanced (privacy policy): metadata training of its own ML models, admin setting; third-party LLMs contractually excluded from training.
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
Help centre FAQ (q8): 'ClickUp AI is not trained on data from your Workspace.'; contracts with AI providers prohibit training and retention ('prohibit ClickUp customer data from being used to train any AI model or from being retained by that model after processing'); zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers. Brain page: 'We forbid third-party AI providers from training on your data'. According to the FAQ, engineers only see traces when a user rates an AI response negatively (thumbs down).
- Core / Business
Help centre FAQ (q8): 'ClickUp AI is not trained on data from your Workspace.'; contracts with AI providers prohibit training and retention ('prohibit ClickUp customer data from being used to train any AI model or from being retained by that model after processing'); zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers. Brain page: 'We forbid third-party AI providers from training on your data'. According to the FAQ, engineers only see traces when a user rates an AI response negatively (thumbs down).
- MAX / Enterprise
Help centre FAQ (q8): 'ClickUp AI is not trained on data from your Workspace.'; contracts with AI providers prohibit training and retention ('prohibit ClickUp customer data from being used to train any AI model or from being retained by that model after processing'); zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers. Brain page: 'We forbid third-party AI providers from training on your data'. According to the FAQ, engineers only see traces when a user rates an AI response negatively (thumbs down).
- Personal
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Asana AI
- mixedPersonal, Starter / Advanced
- EU optionEnterprise / Enterprise+
- ClickUp Brain
- not publicly documentedFree Forever, Core / Business
- EU optionMAX / Enterprise
- Asana AI
- Personal
Pricing page (comparison table): data residency only as an add-on (Enterprise) or included (Enterprise+), not offered for this plan. Product-Specific Terms: without a data residency SKU, hosting in an AWS data centre in the US (migration from there only with the SKU). Sub-processor list (as of 2026-09-11): AWS data centres in the US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan.
- Starter / Advanced
Pricing page (comparison table): data residency only as an add-on (Enterprise) or included (Enterprise+), not offered for this plan. Product-Specific Terms: without a data residency SKU, hosting in an AWS data centre in the US (migration from there only with the SKU). Sub-processor list (as of 2026-09-11): AWS data centres in the US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan.
- Enterprise / Enterprise+
Help centre 'Data Residency for Asana': data residency as an add-on for Enterprise, included in Enterprise+; regions Frankfurt (backup Dublin), Virginia (default), Tokyo, Sydney; customer data (teams, projects, tasks, exports, attachments) and profile data are stored in the chosen location, while authentication data and usage data, among others, are stored outside it. AI: 'customers who have chosen the European Union for their Data Residency settings will have their data processed on servers located in the EU'; AI features are disabled if the LLM is not available in the EU; for other regions, AI processing in the US. In addition, Enterprise Key Management as an add-on (Product-Specific Terms).
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
Security page: ClickUp is hosted entirely on Amazon Web Services; sub-processor list: AWS locations USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore (without stating which region applies without data residency). Pricing page: data residency in the Enterprise plan only. DPA 8.1: processing “anywhere ClickUp or its Subprocessors maintains facilities”. AI processing: according to the help centre FAQ not in the EU even with EU hosting ('No. OpenAI, the subprocessor for ClickUp AI integrated with Chat-GPT, is located in the US.'); AI sub-processors according to the list (as of 2026-09-28) in the USA, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0 in China.
- Core / Business
Security page: ClickUp is hosted entirely on Amazon Web Services; sub-processor list: AWS locations USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore (without stating which region applies without data residency). Pricing page: data residency not included in Unlimited/Core and Business (Enterprise or MAX only). DPA 8.1: processing “anywhere ClickUp or its Subprocessors maintains facilities”. AI processing: according to the help centre FAQ not in the EU even with EU hosting ('No. OpenAI, the subprocessor for ClickUp AI integrated with Chat-GPT, is located in the US.'); AI sub-processors according to the list (as of 2026-09-28) in the USA, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0 in China.
- MAX / Enterprise
Security page: Enterprise customers can host core workspace data at no extra cost in US, EU (AWS Ireland) or APAC data centres (Australia, Singapore). Pricing page: data residency included in the Enterprise plan. AI processing: according to the help centre FAQ not in the EU even with EU hosting ('No. OpenAI, the subprocessor for ClickUp AI integrated with Chat-GPT, is located in the US.'); AI sub-processors according to the list (as of 2026-09-28) in the USA, Kling 3.0 and Seedance 2.0 in China.
- Personal
Sub-processors
- Asana AIlist availableall 3 plans
- ClickUp Brainlist availableall 3 plans
- Asana AI
- Personal
- Amazon Web Services (cloud; US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan)
- Google Cloud (cloud; US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich)
- Fireworks AI (cloud service provider, US; since 2026-08-31)
- LLM providers: Anthropic (US), OpenAI OpCo (US and Norway), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich), AWS Bedrock (US, EU)
- Analytics/data warehouse: Amplitude, Databricks, Segment, Tableau (US)
- Support: Intercom (AI chatbot), Salesforce Service Cloud (US)
- Starter / Advanced
- Amazon Web Services (cloud; US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan)
- Google Cloud (cloud; US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich)
- Fireworks AI (cloud service provider, US; since 2026-08-31)
- LLM providers: Anthropic (US), OpenAI OpCo (US and Norway), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich), AWS Bedrock (US, EU)
- Analytics/data warehouse: Amplitude, Databricks, Segment, Tableau (US)
- Support: Intercom (AI chatbot), Salesforce Service Cloud (US)
- Enterprise / Enterprise+
- Amazon Web Services (cloud; US, Germany, Ireland, Australia, Japan)
- Google Cloud (cloud; US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich)
- Fireworks AI (cloud service provider, US; since 2026-08-31)
- LLM providers: Anthropic (US), OpenAI OpCo (US and Norway), Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (US, Belgium, Frankfurt, London, Madrid, Milan, Zurich), AWS Bedrock (US, EU)
- Analytics/data warehouse: Amplitude, Databricks, Segment, Tableau (US)
- Support: Intercom (AI chatbot), Salesforce Service Cloud (US)
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
- Amazon Web Services (infrastructure; USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore)
- OpenAI (AI functionality; USA)
- Anthropic (AI functionality; USA)
- Google Firebase, Google Analytics, Google Gemini (including AI functionality; USA)
- Microsoft Azure AI Foundry (AI functionality; USA)
- AssemblyAI, Baseten, Brave, Browserbase, Memori Labs, Vercel (AI functionality; each USA)
- Foundry Labs, Inc / E2B (AI functionality: code interpreter; USA)
- Kling 3.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Seedance 2.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Daily (audio/video, transcription, recording; USA); Recall (transcription; USA)
- further platform, support and service sub-processors (including Amplitude, Datadog, Snowflake, Stripe, Twilio, Zendesk, Salesforce, Maven AGI, Replit), all USA; full list at q7
- Core / Business
- Amazon Web Services (infrastructure; USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore)
- OpenAI (AI functionality; USA)
- Anthropic (AI functionality; USA)
- Google Firebase, Google Analytics, Google Gemini (including AI functionality; USA)
- Microsoft Azure AI Foundry (AI functionality; USA)
- AssemblyAI, Baseten, Brave, Browserbase, Memori Labs, Vercel (AI functionality; each USA)
- Foundry Labs, Inc / E2B (AI functionality: code interpreter; USA)
- Kling 3.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Seedance 2.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Daily (audio/video, transcription, recording; USA); Recall (transcription; USA)
- further platform, support and service sub-processors (including Amplitude, Datadog, Snowflake, Stripe, Twilio, Zendesk, Salesforce, Maven AGI, Replit), all USA; full list at q7
- MAX / Enterprise
- Amazon Web Services (infrastructure; USA, Ireland, Germany, Australia, Singapore)
- OpenAI (AI functionality; USA)
- Anthropic (AI functionality; USA)
- Google Firebase, Google Analytics, Google Gemini (including AI functionality; USA)
- Microsoft Azure AI Foundry (AI functionality; USA)
- AssemblyAI, Baseten, Brave, Browserbase, Memori Labs, Vercel (AI functionality; each USA)
- Foundry Labs, Inc / E2B (AI functionality: code interpreter; USA)
- Kling 3.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Seedance 2.0 (Gen AI; China)
- Daily (audio/video, transcription, recording; USA); Recall (transcription; USA)
- further platform, support and service sub-processors (including Amplitude, Datadog, Snowflake, Stripe, Twilio, Zendesk, Salesforce, Maven AGI, Replit), all USA; full list at q7
- Personal
Retention
- differs by tool
- Asana AI
- DPAPersonal, Starter / Advanced
- as aboveEnterprise / Enterprise+
- ClickUp Brain
- DPA: deletion after the end of the…Free Forever, Core / Business
- as aboveMAX / Enterprise
- Asana AI
- PersonalDPA (2026-09-01): retention 'For as long as necessary to provide the Service as described in the Agreement, as legally or contractually required, or upon receipt of Customer's written request for deletion'; after contract end, deletion on written request, otherwise deletion 'in line with its obligations under Applicable Law'; 'Customer Personal Data is deleted or anonymized upon termination of the Agreement'. Privacy policy: retention for the duration of the purposes, no fixed periods. AI page: AI partners must delete customer data after each query.
- Starter / AdvancedDPA (2026-09-01): retention 'For as long as necessary to provide the Service as described in the Agreement, as legally or contractually required, or upon receipt of Customer's written request for deletion'; after contract end, deletion on written request, otherwise deletion 'in line with its obligations under Applicable Law'; 'Customer Personal Data is deleted or anonymized upon termination of the Agreement'. Privacy policy: retention for the duration of the purposes, no fixed periods. AI page: AI partners must delete customer data after each query.
- Enterprise / Enterprise+as above
ClickUp Brain- Free ForeverDPA: deletion after the end of the contract 'as soon as reasonably practicable'; 30-day export period after termination, deletion within 30 days of a customer request. Help centre FAQ: zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers, data at partners 'deleted from their systems as soon as possible'. Privacy policy: storage 'as long as reasonably required'.
- Core / BusinessDPA: deletion after the end of the contract 'as soon as reasonably practicable'; 30-day export period after termination, deletion within 30 days of a customer request. Help centre FAQ: zero data retention agreements with all LLM providers, data at partners 'deleted from their systems as soon as possible'. Privacy policy: storage 'as long as reasonably required'.
- MAX / Enterpriseas above (DPA)
Price
- differs by tool
- Asana AI
- 0 USDPersonal
- several tiersStarter / Advanced
- customEnterprise / Enterprise+
- ClickUp Brain
- 0 USDFree Forever
- several tiersCore / Business
- Pricing page as displayed in the browser…MAX / Enterprise
- Asana AI
- Personal
0 USD („Free forever“), up to 2 users (pricing page)
- Starter / Advanced
Starter 10.99 USD and Advanced 24.99 USD per user per month with annual billing (13.49 USD and 30.49 USD respectively, monthly), with no user cap. AI surcharge: additional AI requests 0.50 USD per request (prepaid packs) or 0.60 USD (pay-as-you-go, billed monthly). AI Studio Plus (annual subscription with 100,000 credits per month) and AI Studio Pro (20 million credits per year) chargeable, amounts stated neither on the pricing page nor in the help centre (pricing page, net/gross not stated)
- Enterprise / Enterprise+
Custom (pricing page: contact sales); data residency for Enterprise as a paid add-on, included in Enterprise+ (price not stated, set-up via sales).
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
USD 0 (pricing page: Free Forever “Free”; also USD 0 in the hidden variant 'pricing-2026')
- Core / Business
Pricing page as displayed in the browser on 2026-10-18: Unlimited USD 7, Business USD 12 per user per month with annual billing, USD 10 and USD 19 respectively with monthly billing; AI add-on Brain AI USD 9, Everything AI USD 28 per user per month; additional credits USD 10 per 10,000 credits. Hidden variant 'pricing-2026' in the page source: Core USD 9, Business USD 17 with annual billing (USD 12 and USD 25 regular price), AI included. No indication whether VAT is included.
- MAX / Enterprise
Pricing page as displayed in the browser on 2026-10-18: Enterprise individual (“Contact sales”), AI add-ons as above; MAX only in the hidden variant 'pricing-2026': USD 100 per user per month with annual billing (USD 120 regular price). No indication whether VAT is included.
- Personal
- differs by tool
- Asana AI
- noPersonal
- yesStarter / Advanced, Enterprise / Enterprise+
- ClickUp Brainyesall 3 plans
- Asana AI
- Personal
no (pricing page: Personal card without „Asana AI included“; according to the FAQ, AI Studio only in Starter, Advanced, Enterprise and Enterprise+)
- Starter / Advanced
yes (AI Teammates and Asana Dash: 5 requests per user per month, up to 50 requests per account; AI Studio Basic with rate limits: Starter 50K, Advanced 75K credits per billing account per month; AI Studio Plus/Pro chargeable; pricing page)
- Enterprise / Enterprise+
yes (as above; higher allowances per account according to the pricing page)
ClickUp Brain- Free Forever
yes (pricing page as displayed in the browser: Free Forever with 'Trial access to advanced AI features'; hidden page variant 'pricing-2026': ClickUp Brain² Trial with 500 credits per workspace)
- Core / Business
yes (pricing page as displayed in the browser: AI as an add-on, 'Brain AI' with 1,500 AI Super Credits or 'Everything AI' with 5,000 AI Super Credits per user per month; hidden page variant 'pricing-2026': ClickUp Brain² included in the plan, Core 1,000, Business 1,500 credits per user per month, pooled)
- MAX / Enterprise
yes (pricing page as displayed in the browser: Enterprise, AI via the add-ons Brain AI/Everything AI; hidden page variant 'pricing-2026': Enterprise 'ClickUp Brain² Scaled' with 3,000, MAX 'ClickUp Brain² MAX' with 10,000 credits per user per month, pooled)
- Personal
Evidence
- Asana AI9 sources
- ClickUp Brain8 sources
- Asana AI
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana AIProvider product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana Product-Specific Terms (Effective 2026-10-05)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Statement (Effective 2026-09-01)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (Last updated 2026-09-11)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2026-09-01)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Asana User Terms of Service (Effective 2024-01-01)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Residency for Asana (help centre)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Studio add-on and pricing (help centre)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
ClickUp Brain- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp BrainProvider product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-06-02)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp AI Terms (Last updated 2025-07-11)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing AddendumDPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- List of Sub-processors (Last updated September 28, 2026)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- ClickUp AI models, privacy, and security FAQHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Asana AI compared with
ClickUp Brain compared with
Individual pages: Asana AI, ClickUp Brain. All tools in the category: Office & collaboration.