Otter.ai vs. tl;dv: data protection per plan
Otter.ai (4 plans) and tl;dv (4 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Otter.ai | tl;dv |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Delaware corporation, registered address 800 W El Camino Real, Suite 170, Mountain View, CA 94040, USA | Tldx Solutions GmbH, Kaiser-Friedrich-Allee 51, 52074 Aachen, Germany |
| Plans recorded | 4 | 4 |
| Hosting | US only: all 4 plans | EU option: all 4 plans |
| Training on inputs | yes: Basic, Pronot documented: Businessno: Enterprise | no: all 4 plans |
| DPA | yes: all 4 plans | yes: all 4 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Otter.ai Business vs. tl;dv Business
| Feature | Otter.aiBusiness | tl;dvBusiness |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (automatically) Provider’s DPA | yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | Privacy policy: under an Otter Business/Enterprise contract, Otter processes data 'on behalf of and at the instructions of that customer' (customer is the controller). The exclusion from training in the Help Center is expressly documented only for Enterprise workspaces; no plan-specific statement was found for Business. Terms 18.4: Otter may use 'aggregated and/or deidentified data derived from Data' for purposes including machine learning and training. The account-level setting 'Help improve Otter' (Help Center 'Provide feedback to Otter', q9) is described without reference to a plan; a Business-specific statement on training is missing. | Privacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan. |
| differs by plan | US only | EU option |
| Details: Data residency | See Basic. | DPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. Documentation does not differentiate by plan. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | See Basic | Privacy Policy: recordings and… |
| Details: Data retention | See Basic. | Privacy Policy: recordings and transcripts for paying users until account deletion; logs 10 days. DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing. The DPA does not state a fixed retention period. |
| differs by plan | 30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details) | 39 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | USD 30/user/month with monthly payment (promotion USD 24, 20% discount for 3 months), USD 19.99/user/month with annual payment; unlimited meetings, up to 4 hours/meeting; number of imported audio/video files 'Unlimited', but transcription of imported files limited to '6,000 minutes per user' per month (comparison table; prices in USD, as of 2026-10-18) | EUR 39 per user/month with monthly billing; EUR 29 per user/month with annual billing (structured price data: EUR 348 per seat/year) (pricing page; no indication whether VAT is included) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes | yes |
| 7 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Otter.ai Businessyes
- tl;dv Businessyes
- tl;dv Business
yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Otter.ai Businessnot publicly documented
- tl;dv Businessno
- Otter.ai Business
Privacy policy: under an Otter Business/Enterprise contract, Otter processes data 'on behalf of and at the instructions of that customer' (customer is the controller). The exclusion from training in the Help Center is expressly documented only for Enterprise workspaces; no plan-specific statement was found for Business. Terms 18.4: Otter may use 'aggregated and/or deidentified data derived from Data' for purposes including machine learning and training. The account-level setting 'Help improve Otter' (Help Center 'Provide feedback to Otter', q9) is described without reference to a plan; a Business-specific statement on training is missing.
tl;dv BusinessPrivacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Otter.ai BusinessUS only
- tl;dv BusinessEU option
- Otter.ai Business
See Basic.
tl;dv BusinessDPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
Sub-processors
- Otter.ai Businesslist available
- tl;dv Businesslist available
- tl;dv Business
- Google Cloud Platform – cloud and AI infrastructure (Europe; DPA: Google Cloud EMEA Limited, Germany)
- Wasabi – data storage for recordings and metadata (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Hetzner – infrastructure/hosting (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Cloudflare – DNS, load balancing, DDoS protection, WAF (Worldwide (Local to Customers); DPA: data centres in Finland, Germany, Ireland and France)
- AssemblyAI – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- ElevenLabs – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- Anthropic – AI models (Trust Center: US, EU alternative via Google Agent Platform; DPA table states 'Germany')
- Vanta – security and compliance monitoring (Europe; according to the DPA no customer data)
- Paragon – integration platform (Europe; DPA: European Union)
- CustomerIO – marketing (Europe)
- Cello – referral programme (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- GitLab – version control (US)
- HubSpot – CRM/marketing (European Union / Germany; DPA: Ireland)
- Intercom – customer support (US; DPA: 'In contact to move over to EU data centers')
- Stripe – payments (Worldwide; DPA: Stripe Payments Europe, European Union)
- Abicom – security audits, penetration testing, GDPR support (France)
Retention
- differs by plan
- Otter.ai BusinessSee Basic
- tl;dv BusinessPrivacy Policy: recordings and…
- Otter.ai BusinessSee Basic.tl;dv BusinessPrivacy Policy: recordings and transcripts for paying users until account deletion; logs 10 days. DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing. The DPA does not state a fixed retention period.
Price
- differs by plan
- Otter.ai Business30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details)
- tl;dv Business39 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Otter.ai Business
USD 30/user/month with monthly payment (promotion USD 24, 20% discount for 3 months), USD 19.99/user/month with annual payment; unlimited meetings, up to 4 hours/meeting; number of imported audio/video files 'Unlimited', but transcription of imported files limited to '6,000 minutes per user' per month (comparison table; prices in USD, as of 2026-10-18)
tl;dv BusinessEUR 39 per user/month with monthly billing; EUR 29 per user/month with annual billing (structured price data: EUR 348 per seat/year) (pricing page; no indication whether VAT is included)
- Otter.ai Businessyes
- tl;dv Businessyes
- Otter.ai Business
yes
tl;dv Businessyes
Evidence
- Otter.ai Business7 sources
- tl;dv Business6 sources
- Otter.ai Business
- Privacy Policy (effective 2026-06-16)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service incl. DPA (effective 2025-09-19)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Privacy & SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (effective 2026-03-31)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Otter AI Chat FAQs (Help Center, updated 2026-10-18)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Provide feedback to Otter (Help Center, updated 2026-09-16)Documentation, retrieved 19 Oct 2026
tl;dv Business- Pricing (rendered in browser, monthly and annual view)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (effective 2026-05-18)Terms and conditions, retrieved 8 Oct 2026
- Security CommitmentTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Data Processing Agreement (last updated 2026-09-11)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Subprocessors (16 entries with location)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Otter.ai | tl;dv |
|---|---|---|
| yesall 4 plans | yesall 4 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| noall 4 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | US onlyall 4 plans | EU optionall 4 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 4 plans | list availableall 4 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 4 plans | yesall 4 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 9 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Otter.aiyesall 4 plans
- tl;dvyesall 4 plans
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
yes (automatically)
Provider’s DPA - Pro
yes (automatically)
Provider’s DPA - Business
yes (automatically)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (automatically)
Provider’s DPA
tl;dv- Free
yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated)
Provider’s DPA - Pro
yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated)
Provider’s DPA - Business
yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Agreement publicly viewable in the Trust Center, as of 2026-09-11, as a template for signature by the customer; applicability per plan not stated)
Provider’s DPA
- Basic (Free)
Training
- differs by tool
- Otter.ai
- yesBasic (Free), Pro
- not publicly documentedBusiness
- noEnterprise
- tl;dvnoall 4 plans
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
Privacy policy (purpose 'Improve and monitor the Services'): 'training our proprietary AI technology on de-identified audio recordings and on transcriptions (which may contain Personal Information)'. Privacy & Security page: 'Otter uses a proprietary method to de-identify user data before training our models'. The privacy policy and Privacy & Security do not mention an opt-out switch. In these passages the documentation does not differentiate by plan. Privacy & Security additionally states that imported customer data 'will not be used to create, train, or improve our machine learning or artificial intelligence models' (refers to imported data, not to recordings/transcripts). Terms 18.4 permits the use of aggregated/de-identified data 'for machine learning and training'. Help Center 'Provide feedback to Otter' (q9, updated 2026-09-16): under Account Settings > Meetings > 'Feedback and Training' / 'Help improve Otter', the user chooses whether Otter and its third-party providers may 'access your conversations for training and product improvement, including through human review' ('Allow sharing' or 'Don't allow sharing'; can be changed at any time; as long as nothing has been chosen, the setting shows 'Select an option'). Whether this setting also covers the training on de-identified recordings and transcripts described in the privacy policy is not documented. AI Chat FAQ: 'Our 3rd-party AI service providers do not train on user data or use it for training.'
- Pro
See Basic; the privacy policy does not differentiate for Pro. According to the sub-processor list, subcontractors (Anthropic, OpenAI) may not use customer data to train their own models.
- Business
Privacy policy: under an Otter Business/Enterprise contract, Otter processes data 'on behalf of and at the instructions of that customer' (customer is the controller). The exclusion from training in the Help Center is expressly documented only for Enterprise workspaces; no plan-specific statement was found for Business. Terms 18.4: Otter may use 'aggregated and/or deidentified data derived from Data' for purposes including machine learning and training. The account-level setting 'Help improve Otter' (Help Center 'Provide feedback to Otter', q9) is described without reference to a plan; a Business-specific statement on training is missing.
- Enterprise
Help Center 'Enterprise Admin Controls Overview' (updated 2026-07-17): 'By default, Enterprise workspaces are opted out of AI model training.' Recordings, transcripts and notes are processed only for features within the workspace; opt-in to training only via the Otter Account Manager. Pricing page lists 'Enterprise-grade security & controls', SSO and SCIM (each from a 100-user licence), Domain Capture, HIPAA (add-on).
tl;dv- Free
Privacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Pro
Privacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Business
Privacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Enterprise
Privacy Policy section 9: tldx does not use customer content (recordings, transcripts, notes) for training/fine-tuning foundation or language models; AI service providers used process content only to provide the service and do not use it to train their general-purpose models. DPA section 1.4.3: 'The Data Processor does not and will not use any of the CLIENT’s data for AI model training.' DPA section 1.5.7: neither Anthropic nor Google Cloud trains on the customer's data under either of the two AI configurations. Security page: 'No customer data is used to train the AI'. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Basic (Free)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Otter.aiUS onlyall 4 plans
- tl;dvEU optionall 4 plans
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
Sub-processor list: AWS as 'Cloud service provider and customer data storage platform', country United States; all other entries also US, one additionally Philippines/Honduras (support). Privacy & Security page: storage on AWS S3 with AES-256. EU option not documented.
- Pro
See Basic.
- Business
See Basic.
- Enterprise
See Basic; no EU option documented.
tl;dv- Free
DPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Pro
DPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Business
DPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. Documentation does not differentiate by plan.
- Enterprise
DPA section 1.4.6 and Trust Center (Subprocessors): storage with Google Cloud (Germany), Wasabi (Germany) and Hetzner (Germany/Finland). AI summaries: according to DPA section 1.5.7, Anthropic is accessed via its direct API, 'used by default, including for users located outside the European Union/European Economic Area'; only if the customer actively selects the EU AI hosting configuration in the account or organisation-wide does the same Anthropic model run via Google Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), with the data remaining in the EU. Transcription via AssemblyAI and ElevenLabs, each listed in the Trust Center with the location 'Europe'. Privacy Policy section 5 and the security page additionally name AWS as hosting; the DPA and the Trust Center list do not include AWS. The pricing page additionally lists privately hosted AI for Enterprise; details not publicly documented.
- Basic (Free)
Sub-processors
- Otter.ailist availableall 4 plans
- tl;dvlist availableall 4 plans
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
- Amazon Web Services (storage)
- Google Cloud Platform
- Crusoe
- Anthropic (AI)
- OpenAI (evaluation)
- Zendesk
- Intercom
- Stripe
- Zuora
- Slack
- OneSignal
- Workato
- WorkOS
- Crescendo (US/Philippines/Honduras)
- Research Transcriptions (data annotation)
- PlanHat
- On24
- Pro
- see Basic
- Business
- see Basic
- Enterprise
- see Basic
tl;dv- Free
- Google Cloud Platform – cloud and AI infrastructure (Europe; DPA: Google Cloud EMEA Limited, Germany)
- Wasabi – data storage for recordings and metadata (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Hetzner – infrastructure/hosting (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Cloudflare – DNS, load balancing, DDoS protection, WAF (Worldwide (Local to Customers); DPA: data centres in Finland, Germany, Ireland and France)
- AssemblyAI – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- ElevenLabs – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- Anthropic – AI models (Trust Center: US, EU alternative via Google Agent Platform; DPA table states 'Germany')
- Vanta – security and compliance monitoring (Europe; according to the DPA no customer data)
- Paragon – integration platform (Europe; DPA: European Union)
- CustomerIO – marketing (Europe)
- Cello – referral programme (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- GitLab – version control (US)
- HubSpot – CRM/marketing (European Union / Germany; DPA: Ireland)
- Intercom – customer support (US; DPA: 'In contact to move over to EU data centers')
- Stripe – payments (Worldwide; DPA: Stripe Payments Europe, European Union)
- Abicom – security audits, penetration testing, GDPR support (France)
- Pro
- Google Cloud Platform – cloud and AI infrastructure (Europe; DPA: Google Cloud EMEA Limited, Germany)
- Wasabi – data storage for recordings and metadata (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Hetzner – infrastructure/hosting (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Cloudflare – DNS, load balancing, DDoS protection, WAF (Worldwide (Local to Customers); DPA: data centres in Finland, Germany, Ireland and France)
- AssemblyAI – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- ElevenLabs – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- Anthropic – AI models (Trust Center: US, EU alternative via Google Agent Platform; DPA table states 'Germany')
- Vanta – security and compliance monitoring (Europe; according to the DPA no customer data)
- Paragon – integration platform (Europe; DPA: European Union)
- CustomerIO – marketing (Europe)
- Cello – referral programme (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- GitLab – version control (US)
- HubSpot – CRM/marketing (European Union / Germany; DPA: Ireland)
- Intercom – customer support (US; DPA: 'In contact to move over to EU data centers')
- Stripe – payments (Worldwide; DPA: Stripe Payments Europe, European Union)
- Abicom – security audits, penetration testing, GDPR support (France)
- Business
- Google Cloud Platform – cloud and AI infrastructure (Europe; DPA: Google Cloud EMEA Limited, Germany)
- Wasabi – data storage for recordings and metadata (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Hetzner – infrastructure/hosting (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Cloudflare – DNS, load balancing, DDoS protection, WAF (Worldwide (Local to Customers); DPA: data centres in Finland, Germany, Ireland and France)
- AssemblyAI – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- ElevenLabs – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- Anthropic – AI models (Trust Center: US, EU alternative via Google Agent Platform; DPA table states 'Germany')
- Vanta – security and compliance monitoring (Europe; according to the DPA no customer data)
- Paragon – integration platform (Europe; DPA: European Union)
- CustomerIO – marketing (Europe)
- Cello – referral programme (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- GitLab – version control (US)
- HubSpot – CRM/marketing (European Union / Germany; DPA: Ireland)
- Intercom – customer support (US; DPA: 'In contact to move over to EU data centers')
- Stripe – payments (Worldwide; DPA: Stripe Payments Europe, European Union)
- Abicom – security audits, penetration testing, GDPR support (France)
- Enterprise
- Google Cloud Platform – cloud and AI infrastructure (Europe; DPA: Google Cloud EMEA Limited, Germany)
- Wasabi – data storage for recordings and metadata (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Hetzner – infrastructure/hosting (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- Cloudflare – DNS, load balancing, DDoS protection, WAF (Worldwide (Local to Customers); DPA: data centres in Finland, Germany, Ireland and France)
- AssemblyAI – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- ElevenLabs – transcription for paying customers (Europe)
- Anthropic – AI models (Trust Center: US, EU alternative via Google Agent Platform; DPA table states 'Germany')
- Vanta – security and compliance monitoring (Europe; according to the DPA no customer data)
- Paragon – integration platform (Europe; DPA: European Union)
- CustomerIO – marketing (Europe)
- Cello – referral programme (Europe; DPA: Germany)
- GitLab – version control (US)
- HubSpot – CRM/marketing (European Union / Germany; DPA: Ireland)
- Intercom – customer support (US; DPA: 'In contact to move over to EU data centers')
- Stripe – payments (Worldwide; DPA: Stripe Payments Europe, European Union)
- Abicom – security audits, penetration testing, GDPR support (France)
- Basic (Free)
Retention
- differs by tool
- Otter.ai
- Deleted conversations go to the trash and…Basic (Free)
- See BasicPro, Business
- Trash as for BasicEnterprise
- tl;dv
- Privacy Policy: video/audio recordings…Free
- Privacy Policy: recordings and…Pro, Business
- The Privacy Policy distinguishes only…Enterprise
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)Deleted conversations go to the trash and are automatically deleted there after 30 days (Privacy & Security). Otherwise privacy policy: 'for as long as necessary to fulfill the purposes set out in this Policy, or for as long as we are required to do so by law'; no fixed periods stated for active data/audio. 'Custom data retention' is marked only for Enterprise in the pricing comparison.
- ProSee Basic; Pro plan includes 'Unlimited storage' (pricing page).
- BusinessSee Basic.
- EnterpriseTrash as for Basic (30 days). 'Custom data retention' only for Enterprise according to the pricing comparison: admins have a period of 24 hours or more set up via the Otter account manager, which can be set separately for audio/video and transcripts; older conversations are deleted immediately on activation, thereafter 'guaranteed to be removed within 48 hours' after the period expires (Help Center 'Set a custom Data Retention policy', section Enterprise workspace settings, updated 2026-10-16).
tl;dv- FreePrivacy Policy: video/audio recordings and transcripts for free users 3 months; logs 10 days; account and profile data until account deletion. DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing.
- ProPrivacy Policy: recordings and transcripts for paying users until account deletion; logs 10 days. DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing. The DPA does not state a fixed retention period.
- BusinessPrivacy Policy: recordings and transcripts for paying users until account deletion; logs 10 days. DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing. The DPA does not state a fixed retention period.
- EnterpriseThe Privacy Policy distinguishes only between free and paying users (paying: recordings and transcripts until account deletion; logs 10 days). DPA section 1.5.10: at the end of the contract, deletion or return of all personal data at the choice of the parties; deletion is confirmed in writing. Enterprise-specific periods not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- Otter.ai
- FreeBasic (Free)
- 16.99 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details)Business
- customEnterprise
- tl;dv
- 0 EURFree
- 29 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 39 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)Business
- customEnterprise
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
Free; 300 minutes/month (shared allowance), 30 min per conversation, 3 file imports in total (prices in USD, as of 2026-10-14)
- Pro
List price USD 16.99/user/month with monthly payment or USD 8.33/user/month with annual payment; according to the pricing page, the USD 8.49 / 4.17 shown with an asterisk apply only with a credit card issued in India. 1,200 minutes/month, up to 90 min per meeting (as of 2026-10-14)
- Business
USD 30/user/month with monthly payment (promotion USD 24, 20% discount for 3 months), USD 19.99/user/month with annual payment; unlimited meetings, up to 4 hours/meeting; number of imported audio/video files 'Unlimited', but transcription of imported files limited to '6,000 minutes per user' per month (comparison table; prices in USD, as of 2026-10-18)
- Enterprise
Price on request (demo required; as of 2026-10-14)
tl;dv- Free
EUR 0 (pricing page; no indication whether VAT is included)
- Pro
EUR 29 per user/month with monthly billing; EUR 18 per user/month with annual billing (structured price data: EUR 216 per seat/year) (pricing page; no indication whether VAT is included)
- Business
EUR 39 per user/month with monthly billing; EUR 29 per user/month with annual billing (structured price data: EUR 348 per seat/year) (pricing page; no indication whether VAT is included)
- Enterprise
Custom price: the pricing page states 'custom' (Benutzerdefiniert) and refers to contact/demo for prices; no public price
- Basic (Free)
- Otter.aiyesall 4 plans
- tl;dvyesall 4 plans
- Otter.ai
- Basic (Free)
yes
- Pro
yes
- Business
yes
- Enterprise
yes
tl;dv- Free
yes (recording, transcription, AI notes with limits according to the pricing page)
- Pro
yes
- Business
yes
- Enterprise
yes (everything in Business plus, among others, SCIM provisioning, custom SSO, privately hosted AI, company activity logs and optional usage-based pricing according to the pricing page)
- Basic (Free)
Evidence
- Otter.ai9 sources
- tl;dv6 sources
- Otter.ai
- Privacy Policy (effective 2026-06-16)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service incl. DPA (effective 2025-09-19)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Privacy & SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Subprocessors (effective 2026-03-31)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Enterprise Admin Controls Overview (Help Center, updated 2026-07-17)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Set a custom Data Retention policy (Help Center, updated 2026-10-16)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Otter AI Chat FAQs (Help Center, updated 2026-10-18)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Provide feedback to Otter (Help Center, updated 2026-09-16)Documentation, retrieved 19 Oct 2026
tl;dv- Pricing (rendered in browser, monthly and annual view)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (effective 2026-05-18)Terms and conditions, retrieved 8 Oct 2026
- Security CommitmentTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Data Processing Agreement (last updated 2026-09-11)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Subprocessors (16 entries with location)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Otter.ai compared with
Individual pages: Otter.ai, tl;dv. All tools in the category: Meetings & transcription.