JetBrains AI Assistant vs. Ollama: data protection per plan
JetBrains AI Assistant (5 plans) and Ollama (5 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Ollama |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | JetBrains s.r.o., Na Hřebenech II 1718/8, 14000 Prague, Czech Republic | Ollama Inc. |
| Plans recorded | 5 | 5 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 5 plans | mixed: all 5 plans |
| Training on inputs | no: all 5 plans | no: all 5 plans |
| DPA | yes: all 5 plans | not documented: all 5 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate vs. Ollama Team
| Feature | JetBrains AI AssistantAI Ultimate (organisation licence) | OllamaTeam (Early Access) |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | yes | not publicly documented |
| Details: DPA available | yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request) Provider’s DPA | not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller) |
| no | no | |
| Details: Training on inputs | AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains. | Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses. |
| mixed | mixed | |
| Details: Data residency | 'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. | Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs… | Privacy Policy |
| Details: Data retention | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA. | Privacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details) | from 500 USD/mo |
| Details: Price | Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated. | from 500 USD per month (pricing page); usage beyond the included credits is billed from a shared team balance as you go. According to the FAQ, Ollama creates a separate team account on joining. The customer is responsible for taxes (Terms). |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available) | yes (Pro plus unlimited users, 1,000 USD of usage credits per month shared across the team, centralised billing and administration, priority support, 10 concurrent requests; shared projects "coming soon" according to the pricing page) |
| 7 sources | 4 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Ollama Teamnot publicly documented
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPAOllama Teamnot publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
Training
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateno
- Ollama Teamno
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Ollama TeamPricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
Hosting
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatemixed
- Ollama Teammixed
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
Ollama TeamPricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatelist available
- Ollama Teamlist available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Ollama Team- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
Retention
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…
- Ollama TeamPrivacy Policy
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.Ollama TeamPrivacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Ollama Teamfrom 500 USD/mo
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
Ollama Teamfrom 500 USD per month (pricing page); usage beyond the included credits is billed from a shared team balance as you go. According to the FAQ, Ollama creates a separate team account on joining. The customer is responsible for taxes (Terms).
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Ollama Teamyes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
Ollama Teamyes (Pro plus unlimited users, 1,000 USD of usage credits per month shared across the team, centralised billing and administration, priority support, 10 concurrent requests; shared projects "coming soon" according to the pricing page)
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate7 sources
- Ollama Team4 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Ollama Team- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service (Last updated: May 2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: March 2026)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: CloudDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Ollama |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | yesall 5 plans | not publicly documentedall 5 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| noall 5 plans | noall 5 plans | |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| mixedall 5 plans | mixedall 5 plans | |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 5 plans | list availableall 5 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans | Privacy Policyall 5 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 5 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 8 sources | 4 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Ollamanot publicly documentedall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Pro
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
Ollama- Free
not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
- Pro
not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
- Max
not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
- Team (Early Access)
not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
- Enterprise
not publicly documented (no DPA on the retrieved pages; the Privacy Policy names Ollama Inc. as controller)
- AI Free
Training
- JetBrains AI Assistantnoall 5 plans
- Ollamanoall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Pro
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Ollama- Free
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
- Pro
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
- Max
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
- Team (Early Access)
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
- Enterprise
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): "Prompt or response data is never logged or trained on." Terms (May 2026, section 5): Ollama does not use inputs or outputs to train AI models. Privacy Policy (March 2026): no use of inputs or outputs for training; prompt or response content is not requested in support requests. According to the pricing page, Ollama requires no-logging, no-training and zero-data-retention policies from hosting partners. Local use: according to the Privacy Policy, Ollama has no access to prompts and responses.
- AI Free
Hosting
- JetBrains AI Assistantmixedall 5 plans
- Ollamamixedall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Pro
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
Ollama- Free
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
- Pro
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
- Max
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
- Team (Early Access)
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
- Enterprise
Pricing page (FAQ Privacy): Ollama hosts models and compute resources primarily in the United States; to serve global demand, traffic may be routed to Europe ("may route to Europe for additional capacity"). A selectable EU region is not documented. Privacy Policy: data may be transferred to and processed in the United States. Local models run on the user's own device.
- AI Free
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistantlist availableall 5 plans
- Ollamalist availableall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Pro
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Ollama- Free
- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
- Pro
- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
- Max
- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
- Team (Early Access)
- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
- Enterprise
- NVIDIA Cloud Providers (NCPs) for hosting open models, without names or locations (pricing page)
- Stripe (payment processing, according to the Terms and Privacy Policy)
- Cloud infrastructure and model inference providers according to the Privacy Policy, without names
- Sub-processor list: not publicly documented
- AI Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI AssistantAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans
- OllamaPrivacy Policyall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI FreeAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI ProAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Ollama- FreePrivacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- ProPrivacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- MaxPrivacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- Team (Early Access)Privacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- EnterprisePrivacy Policy (March 2026): for cloud models, prompts and responses are processed only transiently and not stored beyond the time required to fulfil the request; pricing page: prompt and response data is never logged. Account information until deletion on request, billing records according to tax and accounting obligations, support communications until resolved, metadata as needed for operations, then deleted or de-identified. Specific retention periods not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- 0 EURAI Free
- 10 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Pro
- 30 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- 60 USD… (further prices in the details)AI Enterprise
- Ollama
- 0 USD… (further prices in the details)Free
- 20 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 100 USD/moMax
- from 500 USD/moTeam (Early Access)
- customEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
0 EUR (pricing page and help: 'Free'; 3 AI Credits per month)
- AI Pro
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 10 EUR per user per month or 100 EUR per user per year net (11.90 or 119 EUR incl. 19 % VAT; according to the page, the tax rate depends on country, VAT ID and purchase method). Organisations: the pricing page no longer shows an AI Pro licence (only AI Credits and Air Governance); help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 20 USD with 20 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 30 EUR per user per month or 300 EUR per user per year net (35.70 or 357 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); 35 monthly AI Credits.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
Ollama- Free
0 USD (pricing page). Additional usage credits at token prices per million tokens, e.g. gpt-oss:120b 0.15 USD input and 0.60 USD output; off-peak prices outside 12:00–18:00 UTC on weekdays and all day at weekends. Purchased credits expire after one year; the customer is responsible for taxes (Terms).
- Pro
20 USD per month or 200 USD per year (16.67 USD per month billed annually) (pricing page); one account per person. The customer is responsible for taxes (Terms).
- Max
100 USD per month (pricing page); one account per person. The customer is responsible for taxes (Terms).
- Team (Early Access)
from 500 USD per month (pricing page); usage beyond the included credits is billed from a shared team balance as you go. According to the FAQ, Ollama creates a separate team account on joining. The customer is responsible for taxes (Terms).
- Enterprise
Custom (pricing page: "Custom", volume usage pricing; contact via sales)
- AI Free
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Ollamayesall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (3 AI Credits per 30 days; no top-up; according to the help, only in IDEs from version 2025.1)
- AI Pro
yes (according to the help, 10 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, 20 with an organisation licence; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the help, 35 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, list price 30 USD; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
- AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
Ollama- Free
yes (cloud models with starter usage credits and access to starter models; all cloud models after buying usage credits; local models unlimited; 1 concurrent request)
- Pro
yes (Free plus 60 USD of usage credits per month, larger pro models, several models concurrently, 3 concurrent requests; Fast mode "coming soon" according to the pricing page)
- Max
yes (Pro plus 300 USD of usage credits per month, early access to the newest models, 10 concurrent requests)
- Team (Early Access)
yes (Pro plus unlimited users, 1,000 USD of usage credits per month shared across the team, centralised billing and administration, priority support, 10 concurrent requests; shared projects "coming soon" according to the pricing page)
- Enterprise
yes (Team plus model access controls, cost budgets for users and API keys, private Slack channel with dedicated support, custom security questionnaires)
- AI Free
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant8 sources
- Ollama4 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant: Data handling (help 2026.2)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Ollama- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service (Last updated: May 2026)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: March 2026)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: CloudDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
JetBrains AI Assistant compared with
Individual pages: JetBrains AI Assistant, Ollama. All tools in the category: Software development.