JetBrains AI Assistant vs. Windsurf: data protection per plan
JetBrains AI Assistant (5 plans) and Windsurf (5 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Windsurf |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | JetBrains s.r.o., Na Hřebenech II 1718/8, 14000 Prague, Czech Republic | Cognition AI, Inc., 550 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94107, USA |
| Plans recorded | 5 | 5 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 5 plans | US only: Free, Pro, Max, Teamsnot documented: Enterprise |
| Training on inputs | no: all 5 plans | yes: Freeopt-out available: Pro, Max, Teamsno: Enterprise |
| DPA | yes: all 5 plans | yes: all 5 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate vs. Windsurf Teams
| Feature | JetBrains AI AssistantAI Ultimate (organisation licence) | WindsurfTeams |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request) Provider’s DPA | yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | no | opt-out available |
| Details: Training on inputs | AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains. | Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law. |
| differs by plan | mixed | US only |
| Details: Data residency | 'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. | DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs… | DPA |
| Details: Data retention | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA. | DPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details) | 80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated. | 80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available) | yes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products) |
| 7 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Windsurf Teamsyes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPAWindsurf Teamsyes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateno
- Windsurf Teamsopt-out available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Windsurf TeamsPlatform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatemixed
- Windsurf TeamsUS only
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
Windsurf TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatelist available
- Windsurf Teamslist available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Windsurf Teams- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
Retention
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…
- Windsurf TeamsDPA
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.Windsurf TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Windsurf Teams80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
Windsurf Teams80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users.
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Windsurf Teamsyes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
Windsurf Teamsyes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products)
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate7 sources
- Windsurf Teams6 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Windsurf Teams- Plans and Pricing (windsurf.com/pricing redirects here)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Devin Desktop FAQ (transition from Windsurf)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-30)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Last updated: 2026-07-23, with sub-processor list in Appendix C)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: 2026-03-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Security at Cognition (windsurf.com/security redirects here)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Windsurf |
|---|---|---|
| yesall 5 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | noall 5 plans |
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | mixedall 5 plans |
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 5 plans | list availableall 5 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans | DPAall 5 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 5 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 8 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Windsurfyesall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Pro
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
Windsurf- Free
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Pro
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Max
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Teams
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (Enterprise Terms 4.3: the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.com/dpa is incorporated into the agreement; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
- AI Free
Training
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistantnoall 5 plans
- Windsurf
- yesFree
- opt-out availablePro, Max, Teams
- noEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Pro
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Windsurf- Free
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. An opt-out is only available on paid plans ("If you subscribe to a paid Service Tier, you may opt out of this use"); no opt-out is documented for Free. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Pro
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. Default according to the documentation: training enabled, opt-out at any time in the Data Controls settings. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Max
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. Default according to the documentation: training enabled, opt-out at any time in the Data Controls settings. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Teams
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Enterprise
Enterprise Terms (as of 2026-06-08) 3.3: Cognition does not use, or permit any third party to use, Customer Data to train AI models without the customer's express prior written consent; Usage Data may be used for internal analytics. Documentation: "If you are an Enterprise customer, we will never train on your data without your express prior written consent." DPA (as of 2026-07-23) section 4: sub-processors are subject to equivalent restrictions.
- AI Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistantmixedall 5 plans
- Windsurf
- US onlyFree, Pro, Max, Teams
- not publicly documentedEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Pro
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
Windsurf- Free
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Pro
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Max
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Teams
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Enterprise
Standard SaaS according to DPA Appendix C (as of 2026-07-23) with sub-processors in the United States, support workflow in India. Pricing page: Enterprise with "Dedicated deployment option" and deployment in the customer's own VPC; documentation: FedRAMP deployment on AWS GovCloud. Regions of the dedicated or VPC deployment not publicly documented; an EU region is not documented.
- AI Free
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistantlist availableall 5 plans
- Windsurflist availableall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Pro
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Windsurf- Free
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Pro
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Max
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Teams
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Enterprise
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- AI Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI AssistantAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans
- WindsurfDPAall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI FreeAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI ProAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Windsurf- FreeDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. Without opt-out, ZDR with model providers is not committed; specific retention periods for prompts and code not publicly documented.
- ProDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- MaxDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- EnterpriseDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. Specific retention periods for prompts and code in Enterprise agreements not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- 0 EURAI Free
- 10 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Pro
- 30 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- 60 USD… (further prices in the details)AI Enterprise
- Windsurf
- 0 USD/moFree
- 20 USD/moPro
- 200 USD/moMax
- 80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Teams
- customEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
0 EUR (pricing page and help: 'Free'; 3 AI Credits per month)
- AI Pro
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 10 EUR per user per month or 100 EUR per user per year net (11.90 or 119 EUR incl. 19 % VAT; according to the page, the tax rate depends on country, VAT ID and purchase method). Organisations: the pricing page no longer shows an AI Pro licence (only AI Credits and Air Governance); help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 20 USD with 20 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 30 EUR per user per month or 300 EUR per user per year net (35.70 or 357 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); 35 monthly AI Credits.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
Windsurf- Free
0 USD per month (pricing page)
- Pro
20 USD per month (pricing page, no information on taxes); extra usage at API pricing. Quotas refresh daily and weekly (FAQ).
- Max
200 USD per month (pricing page, no information on taxes); extra usage at API pricing.
- Teams
80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users.
- Enterprise
Price on request (pricing page: "Let's talk")
- AI Free
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Windsurfyesall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (3 AI Credits per 30 days; no top-up; according to the help, only in IDEs from version 2025.1)
- AI Pro
yes (according to the help, 10 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, 20 with an organisation licence; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the help, 35 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, list price 30 USD; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
- AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
Windsurf- Free
yes (light quota for agents, limited model availability, unlimited inline edits and Tab completions)
- Pro
yes (Free plus higher quotas with frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini and SpaceXAI as well as open-source models, full model availability, SWE-2, cloud agents (Devin Cloud), extra usage at API pricing)
- Max
yes (Pro plus significantly higher quotas)
- Teams
yes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products)
- Enterprise
yes (highest priority support, dedicated account management, SAML/OIDC SSO, centralised enterprise admin controls, teamspace isolation, dedicated deployment option or deployment in the customer's VPC, custom terms)
- AI Free
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant8 sources
- Windsurf8 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant: Data handling (help 2026.2)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Windsurf- Plans and Pricing (windsurf.com/pricing redirects here)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Devin Desktop FAQ (transition from Windsurf)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-30)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Enterprise Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-08)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Last updated: 2026-07-23, with sub-processor list in Appendix C)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: 2026-03-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Security at Cognition (windsurf.com/security redirects here)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: FedRAMP Security Admin Guide (Devin Desktop)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
JetBrains AI Assistant compared with
Individual pages: JetBrains AI Assistant, Windsurf. All tools in the category: Software development.