Amazon Q Developer vs. JetBrains AI Assistant: data protection per plan
Amazon Q Developer (2 plans) and JetBrains AI Assistant (5 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Amazon Q Developer | JetBrains AI Assistant |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Depending on the account country: Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL, 38 Avenue John F. Kennedy, L-1855 Luxembourg | JetBrains s.r.o., Na Hřebenech II 1718/8, 14000 Prague, Czech Republic |
| Plans recorded | 2 | 5 |
| Hosting | mixed: Free TierEU option: Pro Tier | mixed: all 5 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Free Tierno: Pro Tier | no: all 5 plans |
| DPA | yes: all 2 plans | yes: all 5 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier vs. JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
| Feature | Amazon Q DeveloperPro Tier | JetBrains AI AssistantAI Ultimate (organisation licence) |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (according to the GDPR Center, the AWS GDPR DPA, including standard contractual clauses, is part of the AWS Service Terms and applies automatically) Provider’s DPA | yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request) Provider’s DPA |
| no | no | |
| Details: Training on inputs | FAQ: Amazon Q Developer Pro and Amazon Q Business do not use content for service improvement; content from the Pro Tier is not used to train underlying foundation models. Telemetry/usage metrics may be collected (opt-out in the IDE settings). Pricing page: 'Automatically opted out'. | AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains. |
| differs by plan | EU option | mixed |
| Details: Data residency | Documentation 'Amazon Q Developer Pro Region support': the Q Developer console and profile are available in US East (N. Virginia) and Europe (Frankfurt); Pro via a personal Builder ID only in US East (N. Virginia). Documentation 'Data storage': in the Pro Tier, content is stored in the profile Region only for the following features: Q chat in the AWS console, error diagnosis in the console, Q in Eclipse, JetBrains, VS Code and Visual Studio, and Q on the command line; for all other features 'your content may be stored and processed in a US Region' (can be blocked via a service control policy). Exceptions include: Amazon Q artifacts (visualisations) in a US Region; Console to Code stored in the console Region and processed in a US Region; CloudWatch investigations possibly in other Regions. Not available for profiles in Frankfurt: support chat, troubleshooting resources, .NET transformation in the IDE, Slack integration, Console Mobile App, GitLab Duo with Amazon Q, Amazon Q for GitHub. Cross-region inference stays within the geography (Europe: Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm). | 'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | FAQ and documentation 'Data storage'… | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs… |
| Details: Data retention | FAQ and documentation 'Data storage': content is stored to generate responses and to provide the service; according to the documentation, 'We do not use content from Amazon Q Developer Pro or Amazon Q Business for service improvement'; encryption at rest and in transit. Specific retention period: not publicly documented. | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA. |
| differs by plan | 19 USD/user/mo | 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | 19 USD per user per month (pricing page, no indication whether incl. VAT; according to AWS Tax Help, AWS Europe charges VAT on service charges for accounts in the EU) | Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (extended limits for agentic requests, according to the FAQ 10,000 inference calls per month or around 1,000 user requests; Java/.NET transformation up to 4,000 lines of code per user in the pool; admin dashboard, IP indemnity) | yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available) |
| 11 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tieryes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
yes (according to the GDPR Center, the AWS GDPR DPA, including standard contractual clauses, is part of the AWS Service Terms and applies automatically)
Provider’s DPAJetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tierno
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateno
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
FAQ: Amazon Q Developer Pro and Amazon Q Business do not use content for service improvement; content from the Pro Tier is not used to train underlying foundation models. Telemetry/usage metrics may be collected (opt-out in the IDE settings). Pricing page: 'Automatically opted out'.
JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Amazon Q Developer Pro TierEU option
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatemixed
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
Documentation 'Amazon Q Developer Pro Region support': the Q Developer console and profile are available in US East (N. Virginia) and Europe (Frankfurt); Pro via a personal Builder ID only in US East (N. Virginia). Documentation 'Data storage': in the Pro Tier, content is stored in the profile Region only for the following features: Q chat in the AWS console, error diagnosis in the console, Q in Eclipse, JetBrains, VS Code and Visual Studio, and Q on the command line; for all other features 'your content may be stored and processed in a US Region' (can be blocked via a service control policy). Exceptions include: Amazon Q artifacts (visualisations) in a US Region; Console to Code stored in the console Region and processed in a US Region; CloudWatch investigations possibly in other Regions. Not available for profiles in Frankfurt: support chat, troubleshooting resources, .NET transformation in the IDE, Slack integration, Console Mobile App, GitLab Duo with Amazon Q, Amazon Q for GitHub. Cross-region inference stays within the geography (Europe: Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm).
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
Sub-processors
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tierlist available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatelist available
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL / Amazon Web Services, Inc. (contracting party, depending on the account country)
- AWS infrastructure entities per region (e.g. A100 ROW GmbH, region Europe/Frankfurt)
- Amazon Bedrock (LLM inference; cross-region inference within the geography)
- The sub-processor list (section 'AWS entities providing service improvement') names the locations Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, US for 'Amazon Q Developer Free Tier / Kiro Free Tier / Individual Subscriber'; applies provided the customer has not objected to use for service improvement
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Retention
- differs by plan
- Amazon Q Developer Pro TierFAQ and documentation 'Data storage'…
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…
- Amazon Q Developer Pro TierFAQ and documentation 'Data storage': content is stored to generate responses and to provide the service; according to the documentation, 'We do not use content from Amazon Q Developer Pro or Amazon Q Business for service improvement'; encryption at rest and in transit. Specific retention period: not publicly documented.JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Price
- differs by plan
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier19 USD/user/mo
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
19 USD per user per month (pricing page, no indication whether incl. VAT; according to AWS Tax Help, AWS Europe charges VAT on service charges for accounts in the EU)
JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimatePricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tieryes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
yes (extended limits for agentic requests, according to the FAQ 10,000 inference calls per month or around 1,000 user requests; Java/.NET transformation up to 4,000 lines of code per user in the pool; admin dashboard, IP indemnity)
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
Evidence
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier11 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate7 sources
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Tier
- Amazon Q Developer PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer FAQsDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- AWS Sub-processors (as of 2026-07-28)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- AWS GDPR CenterPrivacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Cross-region processing in Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Supported Regions for Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Region supportDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data storage in Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer service improvementDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AWS Service Terms (as of 2026-10-13)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AWS Tax Help – European UnionHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Amazon Q Developer | JetBrains AI Assistant |
|---|---|---|
| yesall 2 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| noall 5 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| mixedall 5 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 2 plans | list availableall 5 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 2 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 12 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Amazon Q Developeryesall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
yes (AWS Service Terms, section 1.14.1: 'These Service Terms incorporate the AWS Data Processing Addendum ("DPA"), when you use AWS Services to process Customer Data'; no exception for the Free Tier is stated there; section 50.13 additionally governs the use of Free Tier content for service improvement)
Provider’s DPA - Pro Tier
yes (according to the GDPR Center, the AWS GDPR DPA, including standard contractual clauses, is part of the AWS Service Terms and applies automatically)
Provider’s DPA
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Pro
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
- Free Tier
Training
- differs by tool
- Amazon Q Developer
- opt-out availableFree Tier
- noPro Tier
- JetBrains AI Assistantnoall 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
FAQ and documentation 'Amazon Q Developer service improvement': in the Free Tier, content (questions, responses, generated code) may be used for service improvement, according to the documentation including 'for model training'. Service Terms 50.13: Amazon Q Content may be used to improve Amazon Q and, for that purpose, stored outside the AWS Region in use; content that does not contain personal data may also be used to train other AWS ML models. Opt-out depending on the environment: IDE/command line via the setting 'Share Amazon Q content with AWS' or 'Amazon Q: Share Content'; console/mobile app/AWS websites/chat applications via an AI services opt-out policy in AWS Organizations. Telemetry (without code) can be switched off separately. Pricing page: 'Opt-out available'.
- Pro Tier
FAQ: Amazon Q Developer Pro and Amazon Q Business do not use content for service improvement; content from the Pro Tier is not used to train underlying foundation models. Telemetry/usage metrics may be collected (opt-out in the IDE settings). Pricing page: 'Automatically opted out'.
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Pro
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- Free Tier
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Amazon Q Developer
- mixedFree Tier
- EU optionPro Tier
- JetBrains AI Assistantmixedall 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
Documentation 'Data storage in Amazon Q Developer': in the Free Tier, content is stored in a US Region (console error diagnosis: US West/Oregon, everything else: US East/N. Virginia). Cross-region inference may route requests to other Regions within the geography. Service Terms 50.13.1: content used for service improvement may be stored outside the Region in use. The sub-processor list names Canada, Germany, the Netherlands and the USA as locations of the AWS entities that process Free Tier content for service improvement (only without opt-out).
- Pro Tier
Documentation 'Amazon Q Developer Pro Region support': the Q Developer console and profile are available in US East (N. Virginia) and Europe (Frankfurt); Pro via a personal Builder ID only in US East (N. Virginia). Documentation 'Data storage': in the Pro Tier, content is stored in the profile Region only for the following features: Q chat in the AWS console, error diagnosis in the console, Q in Eclipse, JetBrains, VS Code and Visual Studio, and Q on the command line; for all other features 'your content may be stored and processed in a US Region' (can be blocked via a service control policy). Exceptions include: Amazon Q artifacts (visualisations) in a US Region; Console to Code stored in the console Region and processed in a US Region; CloudWatch investigations possibly in other Regions. Not available for profiles in Frankfurt: support chat, troubleshooting resources, .NET transformation in the IDE, Slack integration, Console Mobile App, GitLab Duo with Amazon Q, Amazon Q for GitHub. Cross-region inference stays within the geography (Europe: Frankfurt, Ireland, Paris, Stockholm).
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Pro
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
- Free Tier
Sub-processors
- Amazon Q Developerlist availableall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantlist availableall 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL / Amazon Web Services, Inc. (contracting party, depending on the account country)
- AWS infrastructure entities per region (e.g. A100 ROW GmbH, region Europe/Frankfurt)
- Amazon Bedrock (LLM inference; cross-region inference within the geography)
- The sub-processor list (section 'AWS entities providing service improvement') names the locations Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, US for 'Amazon Q Developer Free Tier / Kiro Free Tier / Individual Subscriber'; applies provided the customer has not objected to use for service improvement
- Pro Tier
- Amazon Web Services EMEA SARL / Amazon Web Services, Inc. (contracting party, depending on the account country)
- AWS infrastructure entities per region (e.g. A100 ROW GmbH, region Europe/Frankfurt)
- Amazon Bedrock (LLM inference; cross-region inference within the geography)
- The sub-processor list (section 'AWS entities providing service improvement') names the locations Canada, Germany, the Netherlands, US for 'Amazon Q Developer Free Tier / Kiro Free Tier / Individual Subscriber'; applies provided the customer has not objected to use for service improvement
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Pro
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- Free Tier
Retention
- differs by tool
- Amazon Q Developer
- FAQ and documentation 'Data storage': AWS…Free Tier
- FAQ and documentation 'Data storage'…Pro Tier
- JetBrains AI AssistantAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free TierFAQ and documentation 'Data storage': AWS stores questions, responses and additional context (console metadata, code) to generate responses and may retain content for service improvement unless an opt-out has been made; encryption at rest and in transit. Specific retention period: not publicly documented (the Service Terms state a period of up to 60 days only for Kiro Free Tier, not for Amazon Q Developer).
- Pro TierFAQ and documentation 'Data storage': content is stored to generate responses and to provide the service; according to the documentation, 'We do not use content from Amazon Q Developer Pro or Amazon Q Business for service improvement'; encryption at rest and in transit. Specific retention period: not publicly documented.
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI FreeAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI ProAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Price
- differs by tool
- Amazon Q Developer
- 0 USDFree Tier
- 19 USD/user/moPro Tier
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- 0 EURAI Free
- 10 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Pro
- 30 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- 60 USD… (further prices in the details)AI Enterprise
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
0 USD (pricing page)
- Pro Tier
19 USD per user per month (pricing page, no indication whether incl. VAT; according to AWS Tax Help, AWS Europe charges VAT on service charges for accounts in the EU)
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
0 EUR (pricing page and help: 'Free'; 3 AI Credits per month)
- AI Pro
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 10 EUR per user per month or 100 EUR per user per year net (11.90 or 119 EUR incl. 19 % VAT; according to the page, the tax rate depends on country, VAT ID and purchase method). Organisations: the pricing page no longer shows an AI Pro licence (only AI Credits and Air Governance); help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 20 USD with 20 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 30 EUR per user per month or 300 EUR per user per year net (35.70 or 357 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); 35 monthly AI Credits.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
- Free Tier
- Amazon Q Developeryesall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Amazon Q Developer
- Free Tier
yes (50 agentic requests per month in IDE/CLI; Java upgrade transformation up to 1,000 lines of code per month; console Q&A)
- Pro Tier
yes (extended limits for agentic requests, according to the FAQ 10,000 inference calls per month or around 1,000 user requests; Java/.NET transformation up to 4,000 lines of code per user in the pool; admin dashboard, IP indemnity)
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
yes (3 AI Credits per 30 days; no top-up; according to the help, only in IDEs from version 2025.1)
- AI Pro
yes (according to the help, 10 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, 20 with an organisation licence; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the help, 35 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, list price 30 USD; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
- AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
- Free Tier
Evidence
- Amazon Q Developer12 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant8 sources
- Amazon Q Developer
- Amazon Q Developer PricingPricing page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer FAQsDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- AWS Sub-processors (as of 2026-07-28)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- AWS GDPR CenterPrivacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Cross-region processing in Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Supported Regions for Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer Pro Region supportDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data storage in Amazon Q DeveloperDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Amazon Q Developer service improvementDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Opt out of data sharing in the IDE and command lineDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AWS Service Terms (as of 2026-10-13)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AWS Tax Help – European UnionHelp centre, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
JetBrains AI Assistant- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant: Data handling (help 2026.2)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Amazon Q Developer compared with
JetBrains AI Assistant compared with
Individual pages: Amazon Q Developer, JetBrains AI Assistant. All tools in the category: Software development.