JetBrains AI Assistant vs. Tabnine: data protection per plan
JetBrains AI Assistant (5 plans) and Tabnine (2 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Tabnine |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | JetBrains s.r.o., Na Hřebenech II 1718/8, 14000 Prague, Czech Republic | Tabnine Ltd., Israel |
| Plans recorded | 5 | 2 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 5 plans | not documented: all 2 plans |
| Training on inputs | no: all 5 plans | no: all 2 plans |
| DPA | yes: all 5 plans | not documented: all 2 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise vs. Tabnine Enterprise
| Feature | JetBrains AI AssistantAI Enterprise | TabnineEnterprise (SaaS) |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | yes | not publicly documented |
| Details: DPA available | yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request) Provider’s DPA | not publicly documented (Trust Center lists a Master Services Agreement, no DPA; Privacy Policy describes Tabnine as processor when used for organisations, but does not refer to any DPA) |
| no | no | |
| Details: Training on inputs | AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains. | Docs 'Privacy': 'no-train-no-retain' policy for Tabnine models; Tabnine does not store code, does not share code with third parties and does not train on customer code. Tabnine's code completion and Protected Chat model are stated to be trained only on open-source code under permissive licences; private fine-tuned models (team opt-in) accessible only to the team. Optional third-party chat models: privacy rules and protection may differ (Docs 'AI Models'). Terms of Use (as of 2024-07-25): Tabnine uses code developed during use only to improve the service for that specific customer, not for other users; "Tailor Made" models only at express request. |
| differs by plan | mixed | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | 'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case. | Security documentation: SaaS on AWS (North Virginia, USA) and Google Cloud (Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA), plus Heroku (Virginia, USA) as main locations. Docs 'Deployment options': Secure SaaS is 'hosted, managed, and monitored by Tabnine', without stating a location. The Trust Center names Google Cloud Platform under 'Infrastructure'. An EU region or choice of region is not documented. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs… | Docs: context |
| Details: Data retention | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA. | Docs: context (code snippets, chat history) is deleted immediately after the response (ephemeral processing); operational metrics and logs of the Tabnine cluster are retained for one week; stored data is encrypted with AES-256. Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12): personal data only as long as necessary for the services and legitimate business/legal purposes; specific retention periods not stated. |
| differs by plan | 60 USD… (further prices in the details) | not publicly documented |
| Details: Price | Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom). | not publicly documented (tabnine.com/pricing redirects to the Tricentis contact form; Terms: fees in USD, excluding taxes) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic) | yes (code completion, chat, agent, CLI, context engine; Tabnine's own models as well as optional third-party models) |
| 7 sources | 9 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterpriseyes
- Tabnine Enterprisenot publicly documented
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPATabnine Enterprisenot publicly documented (Trust Center lists a Master Services Agreement, no DPA; Privacy Policy describes Tabnine as processor when used for organisations, but does not refer to any DPA)
Training
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterpriseno
- Tabnine Enterpriseno
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Tabnine EnterpriseDocs 'Privacy': 'no-train-no-retain' policy for Tabnine models; Tabnine does not store code, does not share code with third parties and does not train on customer code. Tabnine's code completion and Protected Chat model are stated to be trained only on open-source code under permissive licences; private fine-tuned models (team opt-in) accessible only to the team. Optional third-party chat models: privacy rules and protection may differ (Docs 'AI Models'). Terms of Use (as of 2024-07-25): Tabnine uses code developed during use only to improve the service for that specific customer, not for other users; "Tailor Made" models only at express request.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprisemixed
- Tabnine Enterprisenot publicly documented
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
Tabnine EnterpriseSecurity documentation: SaaS on AWS (North Virginia, USA) and Google Cloud (Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA), plus Heroku (Virginia, USA) as main locations. Docs 'Deployment options': Secure SaaS is 'hosted, managed, and monitored by Tabnine', without stating a location. The Trust Center names Google Cloud Platform under 'Infrastructure'. An EU region or choice of region is not documented.
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterpriselist available
- Tabnine Enterpriselist available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Tabnine Enterprise- Hosting providers according to the security documentation: Amazon Web Services (main data centre North Virginia, USA), Google Cloud Platform (Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA), Heroku (Virginia, USA)
- Google Cloud Identity (identity management according to the security documentation)
- Optional third-party chat models (depending on selection): Anthropic Claude, OpenAI GPT, Google Gemini and others; according to the documentation, privacy rules of these models may differ
- According to the Privacy Policy, also payment service providers, analytics and marketing service providers as well as affiliated companies (e.g. Tabnine Inc.), without names
- Complete sub-processor list: not publicly documented (tabnine.com/subprocessors still returns HTTP 502 when retrieved on 2026-10-18; the Trust Center contains no sub-processor list)
Retention
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…
- Tabnine EnterpriseDocs: context
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.Tabnine EnterpriseDocs: context (code snippets, chat history) is deleted immediately after the response (ephemeral processing); operational metrics and logs of the Tabnine cluster are retained for one week; stored data is encrypted with AES-256. Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12): personal data only as long as necessary for the services and legitimate business/legal purposes; specific retention periods not stated.
Price
- differs by plan
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise60 USD… (further prices in the details)
- Tabnine Enterprisenot publicly documented
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
Tabnine Enterprisenot publicly documented (tabnine.com/pricing redirects to the Tricentis contact form; Terms: fees in USD, excluding taxes)
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterpriseyes
- Tabnine Enterpriseyes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
Tabnine Enterpriseyes (code completion, chat, agent, CLI, context engine; Tabnine's own models as well as optional third-party models)
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise7 sources
- Tabnine Enterprise9 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Enterprise
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Tabnine Enterprise- Docs: PrivacyDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: SecurityDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: Enterprise (SaaS)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: AI ModelsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Trust Center (SafeBase)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12, PDF; redirect from tabnine.com/privacy)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Terms of Use incl. Multi-Model Addendum (as of 2024-07-25, PDF; redirect from tabnine.com/terms-of-use)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: Deployment optionsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Subscription plansDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | JetBrains AI Assistant | Tabnine |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | yesall 5 plans | not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| noall 5 plans | noall 2 plans | |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | mixedall 5 plans | not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 5 plans | list availableall 2 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans | Docs: contextall 2 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 5 plans | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 8 sources | 10 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Tabninenot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Pro
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
not publicly documented (Trust Center lists a Master Services Agreement, no DPA; Privacy Policy describes Tabnine as processor when used for organisations, but does not refer to any DPA)
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
not publicly documented (Trust Center lists a Master Services Agreement, no DPA; Privacy Policy describes Tabnine as processor when used for organisations, but does not refer to any DPA)
- AI Free
Training
- JetBrains AI Assistantnoall 5 plans
- Tabninenoall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Pro
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
Docs 'Privacy': 'no-train-no-retain' policy for Tabnine models; Tabnine does not store code, does not share code with third parties and does not train on customer code. Tabnine's code completion and Protected Chat model are stated to be trained only on open-source code under permissive licences; private fine-tuned models (team opt-in) accessible only to the team. Optional third-party chat models: privacy rules and protection may differ (Docs 'AI Models'). Terms of Use (as of 2024-07-25): Tabnine uses code developed during use only to improve the service for that specific customer, not for other users; "Tailor Made" models only at express request.
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
Docs 'Privacy': 'no-train-no-retain' policy for Tabnine models; Tabnine does not store code, does not share code with third parties and does not train on customer code. Tabnine's code completion and Protected Chat model are stated to be trained only on open-source code under permissive licences; private fine-tuned models (team opt-in) accessible only to the team. Optional third-party chat models: privacy rules and protection may differ (Docs 'AI Models'). Docs: even with private deployment, code in the context window remains ephemeral; in self-hosted operation, clusters send metrics and logs to Tabnine servers, in air-gapped operation they do not. According to the Docs, no code and no PII are sent in the process. Terms of Use (as of 2024-07-25): Tabnine uses code developed during use only to improve the service for that specific customer, not for other users; "Tailor Made" models only at express request.
- AI Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistantmixedall 5 plans
- Tabninenot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Pro
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
Security documentation: SaaS on AWS (North Virginia, USA) and Google Cloud (Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA), plus Heroku (Virginia, USA) as main locations. Docs 'Deployment options': Secure SaaS is 'hosted, managed, and monitored by Tabnine', without stating a location. The Trust Center names Google Cloud Platform under 'Infrastructure'. An EU region or choice of region is not documented.
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
Operation and location are the customer's responsibility (data centre or supported cloud provider). Telemetry: in self-hosted operation, metrics, logs and client telemetry go to Tabnine servers, location not documented.
- AI Free
Sub-processors
- JetBrains AI Assistantlist availableall 5 plans
- Tabninelist availableall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Pro
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
- Hosting providers according to the security documentation: Amazon Web Services (main data centre North Virginia, USA), Google Cloud Platform (Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA), Heroku (Virginia, USA)
- Google Cloud Identity (identity management according to the security documentation)
- Optional third-party chat models (depending on selection): Anthropic Claude, OpenAI GPT, Google Gemini and others; according to the documentation, privacy rules of these models may differ
- According to the Privacy Policy, also payment service providers, analytics and marketing service providers as well as affiliated companies (e.g. Tabnine Inc.), without names
- Complete sub-processor list: not publicly documented (tabnine.com/subprocessors still returns HTTP 502 when retrieved on 2026-10-18; the Trust Center contains no sub-processor list)
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
- No operation by Tabnine; optionally connected third-party models via private endpoints at the customer's choice
- Telemetry recipient: Tabnine servers (hosting as for SaaS according to the security documentation: AWS, GCP, Heroku in the USA)
- AI Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI AssistantAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans
- TabnineDocs: contextall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI FreeAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI ProAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)Docs: context (code snippets, chat history) is deleted immediately after the response (ephemeral processing); operational metrics and logs of the Tabnine cluster are retained for one week; stored data is encrypted with AES-256. Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12): personal data only as long as necessary for the services and legitimate business/legal purposes; specific retention periods not stated.
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)Docs: context (code snippets, chat history) is deleted immediately after the response (ephemeral processing); operational metrics and logs of the Tabnine cluster are retained for one week; stored data is encrypted with AES-256. Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12): personal data only as long as necessary for the services and legitimate business/legal purposes; specific retention periods not stated.
Price
- differs by tool
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- 0 EURAI Free
- 10 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Pro
- 30 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- 60 USD… (further prices in the details)AI Enterprise
- Tabninenot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
0 EUR (pricing page and help: 'Free'; 3 AI Credits per month)
- AI Pro
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 10 EUR per user per month or 100 EUR per user per year net (11.90 or 119 EUR incl. 19 % VAT; according to the page, the tax rate depends on country, VAT ID and purchase method). Organisations: the pricing page no longer shows an AI Pro licence (only AI Credits and Air Governance); help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 20 USD with 20 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 30 EUR per user per month or 300 EUR per user per year net (35.70 or 357 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); 35 monthly AI Credits.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
not publicly documented (tabnine.com/pricing redirects to the Tricentis contact form; Terms: fees in USD, excluding taxes)
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
not publicly documented (tabnine.com/pricing redirects to the Tricentis contact form)
- AI Free
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Tabnineyesall 2 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- AI Free
yes (3 AI Credits per 30 days; no top-up; according to the help, only in IDEs from version 2025.1)
- AI Pro
yes (according to the help, 10 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, 20 with an organisation licence; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the help, 35 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, list price 30 USD; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
- AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
Tabnine- Enterprise (SaaS)
yes (code completion, chat, agent, CLI, context engine; Tabnine's own models as well as optional third-party models)
- Enterprise (private installation: VPC or on-premises)
yes (as SaaS; models run in the customer's own data centre or VPC, private endpoints for further models)
- AI Free
Evidence
- JetBrains AI Assistant8 sources
- Tabnine10 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant: Data handling (help 2026.2)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Tabnine- Docs: PrivacyDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: SecurityDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: Enterprise (SaaS)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: Enterprise (private installation)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: AI ModelsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Trust Center (SafeBase)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Privacy Policy (as of 2024-09-12, PDF; redirect from tabnine.com/privacy)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Tabnine Terms of Use incl. Multi-Model Addendum (as of 2024-07-25, PDF; redirect from tabnine.com/terms-of-use)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Docs: Deployment optionsDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Subscription plansDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
JetBrains AI Assistant compared with
Individual pages: JetBrains AI Assistant, Tabnine. All tools in the category: Software development.