Cursor vs. JetBrains AI Assistant: data protection per plan
Cursor (5 plans) and JetBrains AI Assistant (5 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Cursor | JetBrains AI Assistant |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Anysphere, Inc., 2261 Market Street STE 86466, San Francisco, CA 94114, USA | JetBrains s.r.o., Na Hřebenech II 1718/8, 14000 Prague, Czech Republic |
| Plans recorded | 5 | 5 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 5 plans | mixed: all 5 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: all 5 plans | no: all 5 plans |
| DPA | not documented: Free, Plus, Premium / Super / Ultra, Teamsyes: Enterprise | yes: all 5 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Cursor Teams vs. JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate
| Feature | CursorTeams | JetBrains AI AssistantAI Ultimate (organisation licence) |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | yes |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service') | yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | opt-out available | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. Teams: team-wide privacy settings; new members inherit the team setting; admins can enforce Privacy Mode. | AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains. |
| mixed | mixed | |
| Details: Data residency | Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development. | 'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | With Privacy Mode: ZDR with model… | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs… |
| Details: Data retention | With Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented. | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA. |
| differs by plan | from 30 USD/user/mo | 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | from USD 30 per user per month (pricing page: "$30+/user/month", excl. taxes); seat types can be combined. | Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (as Premium, plus team marketplace, centralised billing, team-wide privacy settings, custom chat data retention, SAML/OIDC SSO; usage 4x to 50x Plus depending on seat tier) | yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available) |
| 6 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- Cursor Teamsnot publicly documented
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Cursor Teams
not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service')
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Cursor Teamsopt-out available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateno
- Cursor Teams
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. Teams: team-wide privacy settings; new members inherit the team setting; admins can enforce Privacy Mode.
JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
Hosting
- Cursor Teamsmixed
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatemixed
- Cursor Teams
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
Sub-processors
- Cursor Teamslist available
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimatelist available
- Cursor Teams
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
Retention
- differs by plan
- Cursor TeamsWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model…
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…
- Cursor TeamsWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimateAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Price
- differs by plan
- Cursor Teamsfrom 30 USD/user/mo
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Cursor Teams
from USD 30 per user per month (pricing page: "$30+/user/month", excl. taxes); seat types can be combined.
JetBrains AI Assistant AI UltimatePricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- Cursor Teamsyes
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes
- Cursor Teams
yes (as Premium, plus team marketplace, centralised billing, team-wide privacy settings, custom chat data retention, SAML/OIDC SSO; usage 4x to 50x Plus depending on seat tier)
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimateyes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
Evidence
- Cursor Teams6 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate7 sources
- Cursor Teams
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Security (as of 2026-08-25)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Use & Privacy Overview (as of 2026-09-03)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Privacy and data governanceDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Subprocessors (Vanta, 20 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
JetBrains AI Assistant AI Ultimate- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Cursor | JetBrains AI Assistant |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| yesall 5 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | opt-out availableall 5 plans | noall 5 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| mixedall 5 plans | mixedall 5 plans | |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 5 plans | list availableall 5 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | With Privacy Mode: ZDR with model…all 5 plans | AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 5 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 8 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Cursor
- not publicly documentedFree (free of charge), Plus, Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual), Teams
- yesEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service')
- Plus
not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service')
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service')
- Teams
not publicly documented (the public DPA refers to a Master Services Agreement with Anysphere; according to the Terms of Service an MSA applies only if the organisation has concluded one; the Privacy Policy mentions a processor role only generally 'For commercial uses of the Service')
- Enterprise
yes (public DPA, applies together with the Master Services Agreement; EU SCCs Module Two and UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Pro
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms, which apply to legal and natural persons alike; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA - AI Enterprise
yes (according to the AI terms of use, the Data Processing Addendum forms part of the terms; online version, effective upon order or quote request)
Provider’s DPA
- Free (free of charge)
Training
- differs by tool
- Cursoropt-out availableall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantnoall 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. According to the Security page, Privacy Mode is also available for Free and can be enabled in the settings; default setting for individual accounts not publicly documented.
- Plus
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. According to the Security page, Privacy Mode is available for Free and Pro and can be enabled in the settings; default setting for individual accounts not publicly documented.
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. According to the Security page, Privacy Mode is available for Free and Pro and can be enabled in the settings; default setting for individual accounts not publicly documented.
- Teams
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. Teams: team-wide privacy settings; new members inherit the team setting; admins can enforce Privacy Mode.
- Enterprise
Data Use (as of 2026-09-03): with Privacy Mode enabled, Customer Data is not used by Cursor for training; Cursor has zero data retention agreements with all model providers, and the providers do not store or train on the data. Exception: risk classifiers; where abuse detection is triggered, data may be stored for investigation. Non-ZDR models are labelled or require admin approval. Without Privacy Mode, Cursor may store codebase data, prompts, editor actions and code snippets and use them to train its own models. Enterprise: according to the documentation, Privacy Mode is enabled by default and enforceable; requests to models with provider-side storage (according to the documentation, Claude Fable 5 and 5.1) fail until an admin approves the retention policy.
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Pro
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- AI Enterprise
AI terms of use (Version 2.1) Section 5c: JetBrains undertakes not to use inputs, data, outputs and suggestions to train language models that generate code, text or other data from which this content could be extracted, unless the customer expressly consents. AI subcontractors must undertake not to use data for training to at least the same extent (5e). Help: detailed data sharing (including the complete communication with the LLM) 'is disabled by default'. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07): 'Detailed code-related data can be used for product improvement and training AI models'; default setting by IDE licence, not by AI plan: non-commercial licence – collection by default on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out in the product settings; commercial individual licence, trial, EAP – only with explicit consent; organisational licence – not allowed by default, only after enablement by administrators or a company contract with JetBrains.
- Free (free of charge)
Hosting
- Cursormixedall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantmixedall 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
- Plus
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
- Teams
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
- Enterprise
Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11): processing on servers in various jurisdictions, including the US; data of EEA users may be transferred to the US. Sub-processor list (Trust Center): 'Our infrastructure is primarily hosted on AWS US region with some latency critical services in Europe and Singapore.' Docs: data residency only for Enterprise; US-only (inference, processing, storage incl. backups in the US, 10% uplift); EU/UK inference only on request, further EU coverage in development.
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Pro
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA.
- AI Enterprise
'Third-Party Services' (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30), section on AI providers, names data centre locations: OpenAI (US), Google (EU, US and Asia), Anthropic (US), xAI (US), Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US), Nebius (France, Spain, US). Depending on the service, configuration, model and route, one or more of these providers may process data; JetBrains' own models run on JetBrains infrastructure (location not stated). A selectable EU region for AI requests is not documented. Product Data Collection Notice: collected usage data including detailed code-related data remains stored in the EEA. For 'AI Enterprise (powered by OpenAI/Google/Anthropic)', according to the service provider list only that one provider is involved in each case.
- Free (free of charge)
Sub-processors
- Cursorlist availableall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantlist availableall 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
- Plus
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
- Teams
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
- Enterprise
- Amazon Web Services (primary cloud hosting; US, EU, Singapore)
- Further infrastructure: Microsoft Azure (secondary, US), Google Cloud Platform (US), Vercel (web hosting, US), Cloudflare (CDN/network security, worldwide)
- Model providers: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google Gemini (Vertex API), Meta (each worldwide), SpaceXAI (US), TypeSafe AI (US)
- Inference infrastructure: Fireworks (US, Canada, EU, UK), Baseten (US, Canada), Together (own models, with a ZDR agreement according to the list; US, Canada, UK), Nebius (UK), CoreWeave (US), Databricks (analytics database and inference, worldwide)
- Exa (web search, US), Datadog (logging/monitoring, US), WorkOS (SSO/SCIM, US)
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Pro
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- AI Enterprise
- OpenAI (GPT models; data centre location according to 'Third-Party Services': US)
- Google (Gemini models; EU, US and Asia)
- AWS (Amazon Bedrock models; according to the service provider list; not listed as an AI provider in 'Third-Party Services')
- Anthropic (Claude models; directly or via Amazon Bedrock; US)
- SpaceXAI (Grok models; listed in 'Third-Party Services' as xAI, US)
- Models operated by JetBrains itself (Mellum, Mellum2 as well as Qwen3.6-27B, Qwen3-Embedding-4B, Qwen3-Reranker-0.6B from Alibaba Cloud, other open-source models): according to the list, run on JetBrains infrastructure; inputs and outputs are not sent to the model developers
- According to 'Third-Party Services', also Baseten (US, UK), Tavily (US) and Nebius (France, Spain, US) as well as unnamed AI inference intermediaries and optimisation providers
- Free (free of charge)
Retention
- differs by tool
- CursorWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model…all 5 plans
- JetBrains AI AssistantAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs…all 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)With Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- PlusWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)With Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- TeamsWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- EnterpriseWith Privacy Mode: ZDR with model providers; file contents are encrypted to reduce latency and cached only for the duration of the request. Cloud Agents: according to the documentation, repository contents are stored only during the agent run and deleted afterwards. Without Privacy Mode: inference providers may temporarily store inputs/outputs, which are deleted afterwards. Personal data in general: only as long as necessary (Privacy Policy); specific retention periods not publicly documented.
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI FreeAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI ProAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)AI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
- AI EnterpriseAI terms of use 5b: inputs, data, outputs and suggestions may be monitored for security reasons and stored for a limited period; specific duration: not publicly documented. The help describes a log of the requests sent to the LLM provider that is stored only during the current session. Product Data Collection Notice (Version 1.6): a retention period of 1 year applies to 'Detailed code-related data', stored in the EEA. DPA 6.1: return or deletion of the customer's personal data within 90 days after the end of the DPA.
Price
- differs by tool
- Cursor
- 0 USD/moFree (free of charge)
- 8 USD/moPlus
- several tiersPremium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
- from 30 USD/user/moTeams
- customEnterprise
- JetBrains AI Assistant
- 0 EURAI Free
- 10 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Pro
- 30 EUR/user/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (personal licence)
- 60 EUR/mo… (further prices in the details)AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
- 60 USD… (further prices in the details)AI Enterprise
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
USD 0 per month (pricing page; prices excl. taxes such as VAT)
- Plus
USD 8 per month (pricing page, excl. taxes). According to the pricing page FAQ, subscriptions are sold via X Subscription Corp.
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
Premium USD 30, Super USD 100, Ultra USD 200 per month (pricing page, excl. taxes); third-party models are billed separately based on usage. According to the FAQ, sold via X Subscription Corp.
- Teams
from USD 30 per user per month (pricing page: "$30+/user/month", excl. taxes); seat types can be combined.
- Enterprise
Custom (pricing page: 'Custom'); invoice/PO billing available
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
0 EUR (pricing page and help: 'Free'; 3 AI Credits per month)
- AI Pro
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 10 EUR per user per month or 100 EUR per user per year net (11.90 or 119 EUR incl. 19 % VAT; according to the page, the tax rate depends on country, VAT ID and purchase method). Organisations: the pricing page no longer shows an AI Pro licence (only AI Credits and Air Governance); help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 20 USD with 20 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
Pricing page (country Germany, individual use; retrieved 2026-10-18): 30 EUR per user per month or 300 EUR per user per year net (35.70 or 357 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); 35 monthly AI Credits.
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
Pricing page when retrieved on 2026-10-08 (country Germany): business 60 EUR per month or 600 EUR per year net (71.40 or 714 EUR incl. 19 % VAT); when retrieved on 2026-10-18 no longer listed for organisations (only AI Credits and Air Governance). Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD with 70 AI Credits per 30 days, billing period of the price not stated.
- AI Enterprise
Help, tab 'Organizations (per-user model)': 60 USD, AI Credits 'On par with AI Ultimate quota, or higher'; billing period not stated. The pricing page for organisations (retrieved 2026-10-18) lists no 'AI Enterprise' plan but AI Credits at API prices as well as Air Governance Basic (free), Business (20 USD per seat per month) and Enterprise (custom).
- Free (free of charge)
- Cursoryesall 5 plans
- JetBrains AI Assistantyesall 5 plans
- Cursor
- Free (free of charge)
yes (limited AI usage, limited Agent and chat requests; Grok Chat/Imagine/Build limited)
- Plus
yes (shared AI usage pool; according to the pricing page, Grok models only; Grok Chat, Voice, Imagine, Build, Grok API access; plus X features)
- Premium / Super / Ultra (Individual)
yes (Premium 4x, Super 15x, Ultra 50x usage compared with Plus; Cloud Agents and automations, Bugbot, third-party models at API list price, Grok Bot, video generation; plus X features)
- Teams
yes (as Premium, plus team marketplace, centralised billing, team-wide privacy settings, custom chat data retention, SAML/OIDC SSO; usage 4x to 50x Plus depending on seat tier)
- Enterprise
yes (as Teams, plus pooled usage, invoice/PO, SCIM, access, network and model controls, audit logs, Priority Support; optional US data residency)
JetBrains AI Assistant- AI Free
yes (3 AI Credits per 30 days; no top-up; according to the help, only in IDEs from version 2025.1)
- AI Pro
yes (according to the help, 10 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, 20 with an organisation licence; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (personal licence)
yes (according to the help, 35 AI Credits per 30 days with a personal licence, list price 30 USD; top-up available, top-up credits valid for 12 months)
- AI Ultimate (organisation licence)
yes (according to the help, 70 AI Credits per 30 days with an organisation licence, list price 60 USD; the organisation's credits can flow into a shared pool via the JetBrains Central Console; top-up available)
- AI Enterprise
yes (according to the help, quota at least at the level of AI Ultimate, exact credits not stated; operation either via JetBrains AI or with a single provider: OpenAI, Google or Anthropic)
- Free (free of charge)
Evidence
- Cursor8 sources
- JetBrains AI Assistant8 sources
- Cursor
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Security (as of 2026-08-25)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Use & Privacy Overview (as of 2026-09-03)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-11)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (as of 2025-11-05)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Privacy and data governanceDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center: Subprocessors (Vanta, 20 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SpaceXAI Bundled Subscription Terms (X Subscription Corp)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
JetBrains AI Assistant- JetBrains AI Terms of Service (AI Assistant, Junie), version 2.1 of 2025-09-30Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Service Providers (AI subcontractors, as of 2026-09-29)Sub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- JetBrains Data Processing Addendum, version 1.3 of 2022-04-27DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI Plans & Pricing (redirect to /store/ai/)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Assistant: Data handling (help 2026.2)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- JetBrains AI plans and usageDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Third-Party Services (Version 3.15, effective from 2026-09-30)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Product Data Collection and Usage Notice (Version 1.6, 2026-07-07)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Cursor compared with
JetBrains AI Assistant compared with
Individual pages: Cursor, JetBrains AI Assistant. All tools in the category: Software development.