Bolt.new vs. Windsurf: data protection per plan
Bolt.new (4 plans) and Windsurf (5 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Bolt.new | Windsurf |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | StackBlitz, Inc., 1160 Battery Street, Suite 30W, San Francisco, CA 94111, USA | Cognition AI, Inc., 550 Third Street, San Francisco, CA 94107, USA |
| Plans recorded | 4 | 5 |
| Hosting | US only: all 4 plans | US only: Free, Pro, Max, Teamsnot documented: Enterprise |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Free, Prono: Teams, Enterprise | yes: Freeopt-out available: Pro, Max, Teamsno: Enterprise |
| DPA | not documented: all 4 plans | yes: all 5 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Bolt.new Teams vs. Windsurf Teams
| Feature | Bolt.newTeams | WindsurfTeams |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | yes |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found) | yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | no | opt-out available |
| Details: Training on inputs | Terms 3.5 and privacy policy 5.C: use for model training and dataset licensing does not apply to organisation-managed accounts (Teams and Enterprise workspaces), unless the administrator has activated it, nor to accounts with a separate written agreement. Accounts in the EEA/UK/CH are exempt in general. | Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law. |
| US only | US only | |
| Details: Data residency | Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented. | DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Privacy policy section 11: storage as… | DPA |
| Details: Data retention | Privacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented. | DPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | 30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details) | 80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | 30 USD per month per member with monthly payment or 27 USD per month per member with annual payment (pricing page; net/gross not stated) | 80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (features of Pro plus centralised billing, team management, admin controls) | yes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products) |
| 5 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- Bolt.new Teamsnot publicly documented
- Windsurf Teamsyes
- Bolt.new Teams
not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found)
Windsurf Teamsyes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Bolt.new Teamsno
- Windsurf Teamsopt-out available
- Bolt.new Teams
Terms 3.5 and privacy policy 5.C: use for model training and dataset licensing does not apply to organisation-managed accounts (Teams and Enterprise workspaces), unless the administrator has activated it, nor to accounts with a separate written agreement. Accounts in the EEA/UK/CH are exempt in general.
Windsurf TeamsPlatform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
Hosting
- Bolt.new TeamsUS only
- Windsurf TeamsUS only
- Bolt.new Teams
Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented.
Windsurf TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
Sub-processors
- Bolt.new Teamslist available
- Windsurf Teamslist available
- Bolt.new Teams
- AWS (cloud and data hosting; according to the Trust Center region US-West-2, backups US-West-1)
- Cloudfront (content delivery network)
- GitHub (code repository)
- Anthropic (code generation, LLM)
- Google Gemini (code generation, LLM)
Windsurf Teams- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
Retention
- differs by plan
- Bolt.new TeamsPrivacy policy section 11: storage as…
- Windsurf TeamsDPA
- Bolt.new TeamsPrivacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented.Windsurf TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- Bolt.new Teams30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Windsurf Teams80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Bolt.new Teams
30 USD per month per member with monthly payment or 27 USD per month per member with annual payment (pricing page; net/gross not stated)
Windsurf Teams80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users.
- Bolt.new Teamsyes
- Windsurf Teamsyes
- Bolt.new Teams
yes (features of Pro plus centralised billing, team management, admin controls)
Windsurf Teamsyes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products)
Evidence
- Bolt.new Teams5 sources
- Windsurf Teams6 sources
- Bolt.new Teams
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- StackBlitz Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-22)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- StackBlitz Terms of Service (as of 2026-09-22)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Bolt.new Customer Assurance Profile (Trust Center)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Bolt SecuritySecurity page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
Windsurf Teams- Plans and Pricing (windsurf.com/pricing redirects here)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Devin Desktop FAQ (transition from Windsurf)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-30)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Last updated: 2026-07-23, with sub-processor list in Appendix C)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: 2026-03-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Security at Cognition (windsurf.com/security redirects here)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Bolt.new | Windsurf |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedall 4 plans | yesall 5 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | US onlyall 4 plans |
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 4 plans | list availableall 5 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Privacy policy section 11: storage as…all 4 plans | DPAall 5 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 4 plans | yesall 5 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 7 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Bolt.newnot publicly documentedall 4 plans
- Windsurfyesall 5 plans
- Bolt.new
- Free
not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found)
- Pro
not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found)
- Teams
not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found)
- Enterprise
not publicly documented (the privacy policy mentions data processing agreements/DPAs for customer data 'where applicable'; no publicly available template found)
Windsurf- Free
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Pro
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Max
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Teams
yes (Platform Terms 4.2: where personal data is processed, the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.ai/dpa applies; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (Enterprise Terms 4.3: the Data Processing Addendum at cognition.com/dpa is incorporated into the agreement; EU SCCs Module Two/Three, UK Addendum)
Provider’s DPA
- Free
Training
- differs by tool
- Bolt.new
- opt-out availableFree, Pro
- noTeams, Enterprise
- Windsurf
- yesFree
- opt-out availablePro, Max, Teams
- noEnterprise
- Bolt.new
- Free
Privacy policy (as of 2026-09-22) section 5.C: Bolt may use inputs, outputs, interaction data and project files arising from Bolt AI features from 2026-10-07 onwards for training/fine-tuning its own models and may license de-identified datasets to third parties for remuneration, unless the user objects (opt-out free of charge, regardless of plan, in the account settings or by email; implemented within 15 days). Accounts in the EEA, the United Kingdom and Switzerland are exempt; accounts whose location cannot be determined are treated like EEA accounts. When 'Bolt Forge' is activated (Terms 3.6), the opt-out does not apply as long as Forge is active.
- Pro
Privacy policy (as of 2026-09-22) section 5.C: Bolt may use inputs, outputs, interaction data and project files arising from Bolt AI features from 2026-10-07 onwards for training/fine-tuning its own models and may license de-identified datasets to third parties for remuneration, unless the user objects (opt-out free of charge, regardless of plan, in the account settings or by email; implemented within 15 days). Accounts in the EEA, the United Kingdom and Switzerland are exempt; accounts whose location cannot be determined are treated like EEA accounts. When 'Bolt Forge' is activated (Terms 3.6), the opt-out does not apply as long as Forge is active. Help Center 'Bolt Forge': when Forge is used, prompts, code, project files, configuration, tool calls and edit histories are stored in de-identified form and used by Bolt's partners to train open-source models (consent before first use of Forge); sessions from the EEA, UK and Switzerland are exempt; switching to another agent only stops future collection, data already collected is removed only on request to privacy@stackblitz.com.
- Teams
Terms 3.5 and privacy policy 5.C: use for model training and dataset licensing does not apply to organisation-managed accounts (Teams and Enterprise workspaces), unless the administrator has activated it, nor to accounts with a separate written agreement. Accounts in the EEA/UK/CH are exempt in general.
- Enterprise
Terms 3.5 and privacy policy 5.C: use for model training and dataset licensing does not apply to organisation-managed accounts (Teams and Enterprise workspaces), unless the administrator has activated it, nor to accounts with a separate written agreement. Accounts in the EEA/UK/CH are exempt in general.
Windsurf- Free
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. An opt-out is only available on paid plans ("If you subscribe to a paid Service Tier, you may opt out of this use"); no opt-out is documented for Free. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Pro
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. Default according to the documentation: training enabled, opt-out at any time in the Data Controls settings. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Max
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. Default according to the documentation: training enabled, opt-out at any time in the Data Controls settings. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Teams
Platform Terms (as of 2026-06-30) 3.3.1: Cognition may use Customer Data for model training and to improve the Services. On paid plans, an opt-out is available; after that, the data is not used for any other purpose including training, and Zero Data Retention (ZDR) is enabled with the model providers. On the Teams plan, only an administrator can exercise the opt-out. Default according to the documentation: training enabled. Exceptions under 3.3.3: ZDR does not preclude retention or disclosure of data flagged by abuse-detection classifiers, needed for safety, security and AUP compliance review, or compelled by law.
- Enterprise
Enterprise Terms (as of 2026-06-08) 3.3: Cognition does not use, or permit any third party to use, Customer Data to train AI models without the customer's express prior written consent; Usage Data may be used for internal analytics. Documentation: "If you are an Enterprise customer, we will never train on your data without your express prior written consent." DPA (as of 2026-07-23) section 4: sub-processors are subject to equivalent restrictions.
- Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Bolt.newUS onlyall 4 plans
- Windsurf
- US onlyFree, Pro, Max, Teams
- not publicly documentedEnterprise
- Bolt.new
- Free
Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented.
- Pro
Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented.
- Teams
Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented.
- Enterprise
Trust Center: primary hosting at AWS in US-West-2 (Oregon), backup storage in AWS US-West-1. According to the security page, Bolt executes project code client-side in the browser (WebContainer). An EU region is not documented. For Enterprise, the pricing page mentions 'Data governance & retention policies'; location options are not described.
Windsurf- Free
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Pro
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Max
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Teams
DPA (as of 2026-07-23), Appendix C: all named sub-processors for core processing, profile data, logs and model inference are located in the United States; support workflow via Agumbe (Cognition India) in India. Privacy Policy (as of 2026-03-09): Cognition and its service providers may transfer and process data throughout the world, including the EU, UK and US. A selectable EU region is not documented.
- Enterprise
Standard SaaS according to DPA Appendix C (as of 2026-07-23) with sub-processors in the United States, support workflow in India. Pricing page: Enterprise with "Dedicated deployment option" and deployment in the customer's own VPC; documentation: FedRAMP deployment on AWS GovCloud. Regions of the dedicated or VPC deployment not publicly documented; an EU region is not documented.
- Free
Sub-processors
- Bolt.newlist availableall 4 plans
- Windsurflist availableall 5 plans
- Bolt.new
- Free
- AWS (cloud and data hosting; according to the Trust Center region US-West-2, backups US-West-1)
- Cloudfront (content delivery network)
- GitHub (code repository)
- Anthropic (code generation, LLM)
- Google Gemini (code generation, LLM)
- Pro
- AWS (cloud and data hosting; according to the Trust Center region US-West-2, backups US-West-1)
- Cloudfront (content delivery network)
- GitHub (code repository)
- Anthropic (code generation, LLM)
- Google Gemini (code generation, LLM)
- Teams
- AWS (cloud and data hosting; according to the Trust Center region US-West-2, backups US-West-1)
- Cloudfront (content delivery network)
- GitHub (code repository)
- Anthropic (code generation, LLM)
- Google Gemini (code generation, LLM)
- Enterprise
- AWS (cloud and data hosting; according to the Trust Center region US-West-2, backups US-West-1)
- Cloudfront (content delivery network)
- GitHub (code repository)
- Anthropic (code generation, LLM)
- Google Gemini (code generation, LLM)
Windsurf- Free
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Pro
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Max
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Teams
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Enterprise
- Microsoft Azure, AWS and Google Cloud: core processing, for AWS and Google Cloud also profile data, logs and indices (United States)
- Auth0 (profile data); Hex, Sentry and Datadog (system logs) (United States)
- Zendesk and Pylon (support contacts), Decagon (support chatbot) (United States); Agumbe (Cognition India, support workflow) (India)
- Model providers, to the extent inputs contain personal data: OpenAI, Anthropic, Microsoft/Azure, Google/Vertex (United States); Databricks, xAI, Snowflake only if enabled in Devin Desktop (United States)
- Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- Bolt.newPrivacy policy section 11: storage as…all 4 plans
- WindsurfDPAall 5 plans
- Bolt.new
- FreePrivacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented.
- ProPrivacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented.
- TeamsPrivacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented.
- EnterprisePrivacy policy section 11: storage as long as the account is active; on termination/suspension without a violation, 30 days to export, after which deletion is possible; after voluntary account closure, deletion or anonymisation 'within a reasonable period'; residual copies in backups/logs for a limited time. Specific periods: not publicly documented. Enterprise: retention policies configurable according to the pricing page (details not publicly documented).
Windsurf- FreeDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. Without opt-out, ZDR with model providers is not committed; specific retention periods for prompts and code not publicly documented.
- ProDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- MaxDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- TeamsDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. After opt-out: Zero Data Retention with model providers (data not persistently stored and deleted once the output is generated, Platform Terms 1.8). Without opt-out, specific retention periods not publicly documented.
- EnterpriseDPA (as of 2026-07-23): processing during the term of the agreement and for 30 days after termination; sub-processors delete within 30 days of termination. Privacy Policy: retention as long as needed to provide the Service or for legal reasons, without specific periods. Specific retention periods for prompts and code in Enterprise agreements not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- Bolt.new
- 0 USDFree
- 25 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 30 USD/user/mo… (further prices in the details)Teams
- customEnterprise
- Windsurf
- 0 USD/moFree
- 20 USD/moPro
- 200 USD/moMax
- 80 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Teams
- customEnterprise
- Bolt.new
- Free
0 USD (pricing page; net/gross not stated)
- Pro
25 USD per month with monthly payment or 18 USD per month with annual payment (pricing page; net/gross not stated)
- Teams
30 USD per month per member with monthly payment or 27 USD per month per member with annual payment (pricing page; net/gross not stated)
- Enterprise
Individual (pricing page: 'Custom')
Windsurf- Free
0 USD per month (pricing page)
- Pro
20 USD per month (pricing page, no information on taxes); extra usage at API pricing. Quotas refresh daily and weekly (FAQ).
- Max
200 USD per month (pricing page, no information on taxes); extra usage at API pricing.
- Teams
80 USD per month for the team plan plus 40 USD per month per full dev seat (pricing page, no information on taxes); up to 200 users.
- Enterprise
Price on request (pricing page: "Let's talk")
- Free
- Bolt.newyesall 4 plans
- Windsurfyesall 5 plans
- Bolt.new
- Free
yes (AI app builder; 300,000 tokens per day, 1 million tokens per month)
- Pro
yes (no daily limit, from 10M tokens per month, unused tokens roll over); according to the Help Center, Bolt Forge (agent using open-source models) was included at no extra cost during the research preview from 2026-09-14 to 2026-10-14, after which Pro no longer has Forge access
- Teams
yes (features of Pro plus centralised billing, team management, admin controls)
- Enterprise
yes (features of Pro plus SSO, audit logs, compliance support, data governance and retention policies)
Windsurf- Free
yes (light quota for agents, limited model availability, unlimited inline edits and Tab completions)
- Pro
yes (Free plus higher quotas with frontier models from OpenAI, Claude, Gemini and SpaceXAI as well as open-source models, full model availability, SWE-2, cloud agents (Devin Cloud), extra usage at API pricing)
- Max
yes (Pro plus significantly higher quotas)
- Teams
yes (Pro plus up to 200 users, sharing and collaboration, centralised billing, admin dashboard with analytics, priority support; according to the FAQ, Devin Desktop only with a full seat, each full seat with 40 USD of usage per month across all Devin products)
- Enterprise
yes (highest priority support, dedicated account management, SAML/OIDC SSO, centralised enterprise admin controls, teamspace isolation, dedicated deployment option or deployment in the customer's VPC, custom terms)
- Free
Evidence
- Bolt.new7 sources
- Windsurf8 sources
- Bolt.new
- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- StackBlitz Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-22)Privacy notice, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- StackBlitz Terms of Service (as of 2026-09-22)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Bolt.new Customer Assurance Profile (Trust Center)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Bolt SecuritySecurity page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Help Center: Bolt ForgeHelp Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- What is Bolt Forge? (Bolt blog)Provider blog, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Windsurf- Plans and Pricing (windsurf.com/pricing redirects here)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Devin Desktop FAQ (transition from Windsurf)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-30)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Enterprise Terms of Service (Last updated: 2026-06-08)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (Last updated: 2026-07-23, with sub-processor list in Appendix C)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (Last updated: 2026-03-09)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: Security at Cognition (windsurf.com/security redirects here)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Docs: FedRAMP Security Admin Guide (Devin Desktop)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Bolt.new compared with
Individual pages: Bolt.new, Windsurf. All tools in the category: Software development.