Canva AI vs. HeyGen: data protection per plan
Canva AI (4 plans) and HeyGen (4 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Canva AI | HeyGen |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | 110 Kippax St, Surry Hills, NSW 2010, Australia | HeyGen Technology Inc., 12130 Millennium Drive Suite 300, Los Angeles, CA 90094, USA |
| Plans recorded | 4 | 4 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 4 plans | US only: all 4 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Canva Free, Canva Prono: Canva Business, Canva Enterprise | opt-out available: Free, Creator / Pro, Businessno: Enterprise |
| DPA | no: Canva Free, Canva Proyes: Canva Business, Canva Enterprise | yes: all 4 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Canva AI Canva Business vs. HeyGen Business
| Feature | Canva AICanva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams') | HeyGenBusiness |
|---|---|---|
| yes | yes | |
| Details: DPA available | yes (automatic) Provider’s DPA | yes (Data Processing Addendum; according to the Terms, applies when a business accepts the Terms; version 'Effective as of October 2024') Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | no | opt-out available |
| Details: Training on inputs | Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'. | Security page: 'Non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting' the privacy contact; contracts with all AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data. Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): submitted texts, voices, scripts, images and videos may be used for training on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out by email to the privacy address. Terms (as of 2026-10-15, Section 3 for Creator/Pro/Business): licence to 'Your Content' also 'to train or otherwise improve or modify our artificial intelligence and machine learning models'. For avatars, face/body parts are processed; biometric verification on the basis of explicit consent. Trust Center FAQ: data of non-enterprise customers 'may be used to train and enhance the models that power our Services'; according to the FAQ, opt-out via the privacy policy (request by email). |
| differs by plan | mixed | US only |
| Details: Data residency | Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form. | Security page: 'All HeyGen customer data is stored in the United States on AWS infrastructure.' Sub-processor list in the Trust Center: all service providers with data location USA except BytePlus (Singapore, video generation for Video Agent). For EU customers, HeyGen refers to its certification under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data… | Privacy policy |
| Details: Data retention | DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.' | Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): according to the text, deletion requests are processed within 72 hours; backups/disaster recovery are retained for 60 days and then permanently deleted. In general (section 8): retention for as long as necessary to provide the services or with permission, based on criteria such as account administration, maintaining generated content, dispute resolution; no fixed periods stated for videos and avatars. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | 149 USD/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | not publicly documented | USD 149/month or USD 119/month with annual payment (USD 1,428 per year) with 1,500 credits; additional seats USD 20 per seat per month; credit packs and auto-reload available, prices for these not stated (pricing page). Not stated whether VAT is included; according to the Terms, the customer bears applicable taxes ('including all taxes'). |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "Higher AI access", "AI Pass add-on and AI top-ups available (extra cost)"; including Canva AI 2.0, Canva AI connectors, Magic Layers) | yes (1,500 credits/month, videos up to 60 min, 4K, 5 custom avatars; SAML/SSO, central billing, workspace collaboration and team management according to the pricing page) |
| 6 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Canva AI Canva Businessyes
- HeyGen Businessyes
- HeyGen Business
yes (Data Processing Addendum; according to the Terms, applies when a business accepts the Terms; version 'Effective as of October 2024')
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Businessno
- HeyGen Businessopt-out available
- Canva AI Canva Business
Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'.
HeyGen BusinessSecurity page: 'Non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting' the privacy contact; contracts with all AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data. Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): submitted texts, voices, scripts, images and videos may be used for training on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out by email to the privacy address. Terms (as of 2026-10-15, Section 3 for Creator/Pro/Business): licence to 'Your Content' also 'to train or otherwise improve or modify our artificial intelligence and machine learning models'. For avatars, face/body parts are processed; biometric verification on the basis of explicit consent. Trust Center FAQ: data of non-enterprise customers 'may be used to train and enhance the models that power our Services'; according to the FAQ, opt-out via the privacy policy (request by email).
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Businessmixed
- HeyGen BusinessUS only
- Canva AI Canva Business
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form.
HeyGen BusinessSecurity page: 'All HeyGen customer data is stored in the United States on AWS infrastructure.' Sub-processor list in the Trust Center: all service providers with data location USA except BytePlus (Singapore, video generation for Video Agent). For EU customers, HeyGen refers to its certification under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework.
Sub-processors
- Canva AI Canva Businesslist available
- HeyGen Businesslist available
- Canva AI Canva Business
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
HeyGen Business- Amazon Web Services (web hosting, data storage, image moderation, video processing): USA
- AI: Anthropic (LLM), OpenAI and Google (script generation, video translation, text-to-speech, content moderation), xAI (LLM, TTS, voice clone), Microsoft Azure and Elevenlabs (text-to-speech), Cartesia (TTS, voice clone), Gladia (speech recognition), fal (image generation): each USA
- BytePlus (video generation for Video Agent): Singapore
- Datadog (monitoring, log storage), Posthog (data analytics), Hex and Snowflake (data processing and querying), Retool (internal tooling), LiveKit (no purpose stated), Cloudflare (DNS): each USA
- Customer.io (email communication), Intercom (customer support and help centre): USA
Retention
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva BusinessDPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data…
- HeyGen BusinessPrivacy policy
- Canva AI Canva BusinessDPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.'HeyGen BusinessPrivacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): according to the text, deletion requests are processed within 72 hours; backups/disaster recovery are retained for 60 days and then permanently deleted. In general (section 8): retention for as long as necessary to provide the services or with permission, based on criteria such as account administration, maintaining generated content, dispute resolution; no fixed periods stated for videos and avatars.
Price
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Businessnot publicly documented
- HeyGen Business149 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Canva AI Canva Business
not publicly documented
HeyGen BusinessUSD 149/month or USD 119/month with annual payment (USD 1,428 per year) with 1,500 credits; additional seats USD 20 per seat per month; credit packs and auto-reload available, prices for these not stated (pricing page). Not stated whether VAT is included; according to the Terms, the customer bears applicable taxes ('including all taxes').
- Canva AI Canva Businessyes
- HeyGen Businessyes
- Canva AI Canva Business
yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "Higher AI access", "AI Pass add-on and AI top-ups available (extra cost)"; including Canva AI 2.0, Canva AI connectors, Magic Layers)
HeyGen Businessyes (1,500 credits/month, videos up to 60 min, 4K, 5 custom avatars; SAML/SSO, central billing, workspace collaboration and team management according to the pricing page)
Evidence
- Canva AI Canva Business6 sources
- HeyGen Business6 sources
- Canva AI Canva Business
- Privacy Policy (last updated 2026-08-25)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (last updated 2025-10-30)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva's Sub-ProcessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – Privacy (incl. FAQ AI at Canva)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva List of Subprocessors (PDF, last updated 2026-04-17)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva Pricing: Compare Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise plansPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
HeyGen Business- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-15)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service (as of 2026-10-15)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing AddendumDPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- HeyGen Trust Center (Drata)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Canva AI | HeyGen |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| yesall 4 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
|
| |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | mixedall 4 plans | US onlyall 4 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 4 plans | list availableall 4 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 4 plans | yesall 4 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- noCanva Free, Canva Pro
- yesCanva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- HeyGenyesall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only')
- Canva Pro
no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only')
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
yes (automatic)
Provider’s DPA - Canva Enterprise
yes (automatic)
Provider’s DPA
HeyGen- Free
yes (Data Processing Addendum; according to the Terms, applies when a business accepts the Terms; version 'Effective as of October 2024')
Provider’s DPA - Creator / Pro
yes (Data Processing Addendum; according to the Terms, applies when a business accepts the Terms; version 'Effective as of October 2024')
Provider’s DPA - Business
yes (Data Processing Addendum; according to the Terms, applies when a business accepts the Terms; version 'Effective as of October 2024')
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes (Data Processing Addendum, part of the Order Form or Enterprise SaaS Agreement)
Provider’s DPA
- Canva Free
Training
- Canva AI
- opt-out availableCanva Free, Canva Pro
- noCanva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- HeyGen
- opt-out availableFree, Creator / Pro, Business
- noEnterprise
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used.
- Canva Pro
Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used.
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'.
- Canva Enterprise
Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'.
HeyGen- Free
Security page: 'Non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting' the privacy contact; contracts with all AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data. Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): submitted texts, voices, scripts, images and videos may be used for training on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out by email to the privacy address. Terms (as of 2026-10-15): Section 4 (Free Plan) contains no separate training licence; Section 1 permits processing for 'research and development of its AI models' for all users. Trust Center FAQ: data of non-enterprise customers 'may be used to train and enhance the models that power our Services'; according to the FAQ, opt-out via the privacy policy (request by email).
- Creator / Pro
Security page: 'Non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting' the privacy contact; contracts with all AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data. Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): submitted texts, voices, scripts, images and videos may be used for training on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out by email to the privacy address. Terms (as of 2026-10-15, Section 3 for Creator/Pro/Business): licence to 'Your Content' also 'to train or otherwise improve or modify our artificial intelligence and machine learning models'. For avatars, face/body parts are processed; biometric verification on the basis of explicit consent. Trust Center FAQ: data of non-enterprise customers 'may be used to train and enhance the models that power our Services'; according to the FAQ, opt-out via the privacy policy (request by email).
- Business
Security page: 'Non-enterprise customers may opt out at any time by contacting' the privacy contact; contracts with all AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data. Privacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): submitted texts, voices, scripts, images and videos may be used for training on the basis of legitimate interest, opt-out by email to the privacy address. Terms (as of 2026-10-15, Section 3 for Creator/Pro/Business): licence to 'Your Content' also 'to train or otherwise improve or modify our artificial intelligence and machine learning models'. For avatars, face/body parts are processed; biometric verification on the basis of explicit consent. Trust Center FAQ: data of non-enterprise customers 'may be used to train and enhance the models that power our Services'; according to the FAQ, opt-out via the privacy policy (request by email).
- Enterprise
Security page: 'Enterprise customers' data is excluded from AI model training by default.' Trust Center FAQ: 'We ensure that our enterprise customers' data is not used to train our AI systems'. Contracts with AI sub-processors prohibit training on customer data.
- Canva Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Canva AImixedall 4 plans
- HeyGenUS onlyall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented.
- Canva Pro
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented.
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form.
- Canva Enterprise
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form.
HeyGen- Free
Security page: 'All HeyGen customer data is stored in the United States on AWS infrastructure.' Sub-processor list in the Trust Center: all service providers with data location USA except BytePlus (Singapore, video generation for Video Agent). For EU customers, HeyGen refers to its certification under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework.
- Creator / Pro
Security page: 'All HeyGen customer data is stored in the United States on AWS infrastructure.' Sub-processor list in the Trust Center: all service providers with data location USA except BytePlus (Singapore, video generation for Video Agent). For EU customers, HeyGen refers to its certification under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework.
- Business
Security page: 'All HeyGen customer data is stored in the United States on AWS infrastructure.' Sub-processor list in the Trust Center: all service providers with data location USA except BytePlus (Singapore, video generation for Video Agent). For EU customers, HeyGen refers to its certification under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework.
- Enterprise
as self-service: the security page states storage in the USA on AWS; according to the Trust Center, sub-processors in the USA and Singapore (BytePlus); no EU storage location documented.
- Canva Free
Sub-processors
- Canva AIlist availableall 4 plans
- HeyGenlist availableall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Pro
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Enterprise
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Not for Canva Enterprise: Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (according to the sub-processor list, no customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
HeyGen- Free
- Amazon Web Services (web hosting, data storage, image moderation, video processing): USA
- AI: Anthropic (LLM), OpenAI and Google (script generation, video translation, text-to-speech, content moderation), xAI (LLM, TTS, voice clone), Microsoft Azure and Elevenlabs (text-to-speech), Cartesia (TTS, voice clone), Gladia (speech recognition), fal (image generation): each USA
- BytePlus (video generation for Video Agent): Singapore
- Datadog (monitoring, log storage), Posthog (data analytics), Hex and Snowflake (data processing and querying), Retool (internal tooling), LiveKit (no purpose stated), Cloudflare (DNS): each USA
- Customer.io (email communication), Intercom (customer support and help centre): USA
- Creator / Pro
- Amazon Web Services (web hosting, data storage, image moderation, video processing): USA
- AI: Anthropic (LLM), OpenAI and Google (script generation, video translation, text-to-speech, content moderation), xAI (LLM, TTS, voice clone), Microsoft Azure and Elevenlabs (text-to-speech), Cartesia (TTS, voice clone), Gladia (speech recognition), fal (image generation): each USA
- BytePlus (video generation for Video Agent): Singapore
- Datadog (monitoring, log storage), Posthog (data analytics), Hex and Snowflake (data processing and querying), Retool (internal tooling), LiveKit (no purpose stated), Cloudflare (DNS): each USA
- Customer.io (email communication), Intercom (customer support and help centre): USA
- Business
- Amazon Web Services (web hosting, data storage, image moderation, video processing): USA
- AI: Anthropic (LLM), OpenAI and Google (script generation, video translation, text-to-speech, content moderation), xAI (LLM, TTS, voice clone), Microsoft Azure and Elevenlabs (text-to-speech), Cartesia (TTS, voice clone), Gladia (speech recognition), fal (image generation): each USA
- BytePlus (video generation for Video Agent): Singapore
- Datadog (monitoring, log storage), Posthog (data analytics), Hex and Snowflake (data processing and querying), Retool (internal tooling), LiveKit (no purpose stated), Cloudflare (DNS): each USA
- Customer.io (email communication), Intercom (customer support and help centre): USA
- Enterprise
- as self-service
- Canva Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- Privacy policy section 8: after account…Canva Free, Canva Pro
- DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data…Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- HeyGen
- Privacy policyFree, Creator / Pro, Business
- as self-serviceEnterprise
- Canva AI
- Canva FreePrivacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive).
- Canva ProPrivacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive).
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.'
- Canva EnterpriseDPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.'
HeyGen- FreePrivacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): according to the text, deletion requests are processed within 72 hours; backups/disaster recovery are retained for 60 days and then permanently deleted. Terms Section 23: Free accounts may be deleted after six months of inactivity following reasonable notice. In general (section 8): retention for as long as necessary to provide the services or with permission, based on criteria such as account administration, maintaining generated content, dispute resolution; no fixed periods stated for videos and avatars.
- Creator / ProPrivacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): according to the text, deletion requests are processed within 72 hours; backups/disaster recovery are retained for 60 days and then permanently deleted. In general (section 8): retention for as long as necessary to provide the services or with permission, based on criteria such as account administration, maintaining generated content, dispute resolution; no fixed periods stated for videos and avatars.
- BusinessPrivacy policy (as of 2026-10-15): according to the text, deletion requests are processed within 72 hours; backups/disaster recovery are retained for 60 days and then permanently deleted. In general (section 8): retention for as long as necessary to provide the services or with permission, based on criteria such as account administration, maintaining generated content, dispute resolution; no fixed periods stated for videos and avatars.
- Enterpriseas self-service (privacy policy). DPA Section 9(b): erasure 'within a reasonable amount of time' after the end of the contract or earlier on request; return of a copy and confirmation of deletion each within 30 days on request.
Price
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- 0Canva Free
- not publicly documentedCanva Pro, Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- HeyGen
- 0 USDFree
- 29 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Creator / Pro
- 149 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Business
- customEnterprise
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
0 (free plan according to the pricing page; amounts for the other plans not readable on retrieval)
- Canva Pro
not publicly documented (pricing page lists Pro; amount not readable on retrieval, see gaps)
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
not publicly documented
- Canva Enterprise
not publicly documented
HeyGen- Free
0 USD (pricing page)
- Creator / Pro
Creator USD 29/month or USD 24/month with annual payment (USD 288 per year); Pro from USD 49/month or USD 41/month with annual payment (USD 488 per year) with 1,000 credits; further Pro tiers up to 100,000 credits for USD 4,300/month (pricing page). Not stated whether VAT is included; according to the Terms, the customer bears applicable taxes ('including all taxes').
- Business
USD 149/month or USD 119/month with annual payment (USD 1,428 per year) with 1,500 credits; additional seats USD 20 per seat per month; credit packs and auto-reload available, prices for these not stated (pricing page). Not stated whether VAT is included; according to the Terms, the customer bears applicable taxes ('including all taxes').
- Enterprise
Custom (contact sales)
- Canva Free
- Canva AIyesall 4 plans
- HeyGenyesall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
yes (pricing page 2026-10-18: "Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses"; comparison table Standard AI: "Limited AI access")
- Canva Pro
yes (Pro page: “Access premium content, brand tools, and AI features”, including Canva AI 2.0, Magic Layers, Canva Code; pricing page: "10x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "High AI access", "AI Pass add-on available (extra cost)")
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "Higher AI access", "AI Pass add-on and AI top-ups available (extra cost)"; including Canva AI 2.0, Canva AI connectors, Magic Layers)
- Canva Enterprise
yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)"; Canva AI 2.0 and Canva AI connectors marked "Soon"; comparison table: "Contact Sales to learn more about AI access for Enterprise")
HeyGen- Free
yes (3 videos/month up to 1 min, export up to 1080p, 1 custom avatar according to the pricing page; Terms Section 4: output licensed only to a limited extent, no commercial exploitation)
- Creator / Pro
yes (Creator 600 credits/month, Pro 1,000 credits/month; videos up to 30 min; Pro with 4K export; Avatar IV, voice cloning according to the pricing page; 1 seat each)
- Business
yes (1,500 credits/month, videos up to 60 min, 4K, 5 custom avatars; SAML/SSO, central billing, workspace collaboration and team management according to the pricing page)
- Enterprise
yes (according to the pricing page, custom sales; scope not itemised)
- Canva Free
Evidence
- Canva AI10 sources
- HeyGen6 sources
- Canva AI
- Privacy Policy (last updated 2026-08-25)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Product Terms (effective 2026-06-26)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (effective 2026-08-19)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (last updated 2025-10-30)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva's Sub-ProcessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – Privacy (incl. FAQ AI at Canva)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva List of Subprocessors (PDF, last updated 2026-04-17)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva Pricing: Compare Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise plansPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva ProProvider product page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Canva Help Center: Manage your privacy preferencesHelp article, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
HeyGen- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- SecurityTrust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-10-15)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Service (as of 2026-10-15)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data Processing AddendumDPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- HeyGen Trust Center (Drata)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Canva AI compared with
HeyGen compared with
Individual pages: Canva AI, HeyGen. All tools in the category: Image & design.