Canva AI vs. Midjourney: data protection per plan
Canva AI (4 plans) and Midjourney (4 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Canva AI | Midjourney |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | 110 Kippax St, Surry Hills, NSW 2010, Australia | USA. The Terms of Service give the following address for takedown notices: Midjourney, Inc., 611 Gateway Blvd. Ste 120, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7066, US. Place of jurisdiction/seat of arbitration: Santa Clara County, California |
| Plans recorded | 4 | 4 |
| Hosting | mixed: all 4 plans | US only: all 4 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Canva Free, Canva Prono: Canva Business, Canva Enterprise | yes: all 4 plans |
| DPA | no: Canva Free, Canva Proyes: Canva Business, Canva Enterprise | not documented: all 4 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Canva AI Canva Pro vs. Midjourney Basic
| Feature | Canva AICanva Pro | MidjourneyBasic |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | no | not publicly documented |
| Details: DPA available | no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only') | not publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)") |
| differs by plan | opt-out available | yes |
| Details: Training on inputs | Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used. | Under 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: by default, content is publicly viewable and remixable (ToS Section 4: "By default, Your Content is publicly viewable and remixable"); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is not available in this plan. |
| differs by plan | mixed | US only |
| Details: Data residency | Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. | Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | Privacy policy section 8: after account… | Privacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains… |
| Details: Data retention | Privacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive). | Privacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | 10 USD/mo… (further prices in the details) |
| Details: Price | not publicly documented (pricing page lists Pro; amount not readable on retrieval, see gaps) | 10 USD/month or 96 USD/year (8 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14 |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (Pro page: “Access premium content, brand tools, and AI features”, including Canva AI 2.0, Magic Layers, Canva Code; pricing page: "10x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "High AI access", "AI Pass add-on available (extra cost)") | yes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison) |
| 9 sources | 9 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Prono
- Midjourney Basicnot publicly documented
- Canva AI Canva Pro
no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only')
Midjourney Basicnot publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)")
Training
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Proopt-out available
- Midjourney Basicyes
- Canva AI Canva Pro
Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used.
Midjourney BasicUnder 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: by default, content is publicly viewable and remixable (ToS Section 4: "By default, Your Content is publicly viewable and remixable"); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is not available in this plan.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Promixed
- Midjourney BasicUS only
- Canva AI Canva Pro
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented.
Midjourney BasicData Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented.
Sub-processors
- Canva AI Canva Prolist available
- Midjourney Basiclist available
- Canva AI Canva Pro
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
Midjourney Basic- No list published. Privacy Policy 2.3 names categories: "Service Providers, Third Party Vendors, Consultants, and other Business Partners", payment service providers and analytics and advertising partners (cookies).
Retention
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva ProPrivacy policy section 8: after account…
- Midjourney BasicPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains…
- Canva AI Canva ProPrivacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive).Midjourney BasicPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- Canva AI Canva Pronot publicly documented
- Midjourney Basic10 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Canva AI Canva Pro
not publicly documented (pricing page lists Pro; amount not readable on retrieval, see gaps)
Midjourney Basic10 USD/month or 96 USD/year (8 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14
- Canva AI Canva Proyes
- Midjourney Basicyes
- Canva AI Canva Pro
yes (Pro page: “Access premium content, brand tools, and AI features”, including Canva AI 2.0, Magic Layers, Canva Code; pricing page: "10x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "High AI access", "AI Pass add-on available (extra cost)")
Midjourney Basicyes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison)
Evidence
- Canva AI Canva Pro9 sources
- Midjourney Basic9 sources
- Canva AI Canva Pro
- Privacy Policy (last updated 2026-08-25)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Product Terms (effective 2026-06-26)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (effective 2026-08-19)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Canva's Sub-ProcessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – Privacy (incl. FAQ AI at Canva)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva List of Subprocessors (PDF, last updated 2026-04-17)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva Pricing: Compare Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise plansPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva ProProvider product page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Canva Help Center: Manage your privacy preferencesHelp article, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Midjourney Basic- Midjourney Terms of Service (Version Effective Date 2026-05-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Privacy Policy (Last Updated 2026-09-03)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Comparing Midjourney Plans (Docs)Pricing page/documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Stealth Mode (Docs)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Public Summary of Training Content (Version 1, as of 2026-03-17)Provider documentation (AI Act), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Training Data Documentation under California AB2013 (as of 2026-01-20)Provider documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (as of 2026-09-03)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Help Center: Deleting Your DataHelp Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Help Center: Group Plans & Corporate BillingHelp Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Canva AI | Midjourney |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
| not publicly documentedall 4 plans |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| yesall 4 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | mixedall 4 plans | US onlyall 4 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableall 4 plans | list availableall 4 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| Privacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains…all 4 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 4 plans | yesall 4 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 9 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- noCanva Free, Canva Pro
- yesCanva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- Midjourneynot publicly documentedall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only')
- Canva Pro
no (DPA according to the Trust Center 'for Canva Business and Canva Enterprise only')
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
yes (automatic)
Provider’s DPA - Canva Enterprise
yes (automatic)
Provider’s DPA
Midjourney- Basic
not publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)")
- Standard
not publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)")
- Pro
not publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)")
- Mega
not publicly documented (no data processing agreement (DPA) is mentioned in the Terms of Service or Privacy Policy; www.midjourney.com/dpa returns 404. Help Center "Group Plans & Corporate Billing" (q9): Midjourney does not offer, among other things, "Terms and policy negotiations" or "Participation in vendor, supplier, or security processes (such as signing organization-required forms)")
- Canva Free
Training
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- opt-out availableCanva Free, Canva Pro
- noCanva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- Midjourneyyesall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used.
- Canva Pro
Trust Center: 'Canva won't use your user content to improve AI-powered features unless this is consistent with your Privacy Settings'; setting can be changed at any time; also applies to partners/service providers. Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25): analysis of activity, content and uploads 'to train our algorithms, models and AI products and services using machine learning'; controlled via the Privacy Controls. The default value of the setting for individual accounts is not stated. AI Product Terms: 'Your Privacy Settings control whether Canva and our Technology Partners, may use your data to improve our AI services for everyone.' Canva Education: setting disabled, student content is not used.
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'.
- Canva Enterprise
Trust Center: 'For users who have a Canva Business or Enterprise account, you'll see that this control in the Privacy Settings page is disabled' and 'we don't use your business, team or enterprise content to improve AI-powered features, and we don't allow third parties to do so either.' Note: an opt-in option for Business, Teams and Enterprise admins has been announced as 'coming soon'.
Midjourney- Basic
Under 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: by default, content is publicly viewable and remixable (ToS Section 4: "By default, Your Content is publicly viewable and remixable"); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is not available in this plan.
- Standard
Under 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: by default, content is publicly viewable and remixable (ToS Section 4: "By default, Your Content is publicly viewable and remixable"); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is not available in this plan.
- Pro
Under 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: public by default (ToS Section 4); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is available in this plan. ToS: Midjourney commits to "best efforts" not to publish assets created with Stealth; content created in public Discord channels remains visible to others.
- Mega
Under 'Applicability', the Privacy Policy lists, among the data collected, "data collected through the process of training Midjourney machine learning algorithms" and "data collected from third party sources" ("public databases, commercial data sources, and the public internet"). The Terms of Service (Section 4) grant Midjourney, for inputs and assets, a "perpetual, worldwide, non-exclusive, sublicensable no-charge, royalty-free, irrevocable copyright license to reproduce, prepare derivative works of, publicly display, publicly perform, sublicense, and distribute". Public Summary of Training Content (q5, Section 2.4): for the question "Was data from user interactions with the AI model (e.g. user input and prompts) used to train the model?" "Yes" is ticked (modalities text and image); addition: "Midjourney adheres to its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, as applicable, for user data training." The AB2013 documentation (q6) names as a training source, among others, "data our users provide through use of the Midjourney service". An opt-out is not documented in the primary sources retrieved. Visibility: public by default (ToS Section 4); according to the plan comparison and Stealth documentation, Stealth Mode is available in this plan. ToS: Midjourney commits to "best efforts" not to publish assets created with Stealth; content created in public Discord channels remains visible to others.
- Canva Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Canva AImixedall 4 plans
- MidjourneyUS onlyall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented.
- Canva Pro
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented.
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form.
- Canva Enterprise
Trust Center Privacy FAQ: 'Canva stores your data in the United States.' Processing by Canva group companies in Australia, New Zealand, the Philippines, the UK, Singapore, Europe and the USA (intra-group Data Transfer Agreement). Privacy policy (updated 2026-08-25) section 5: storage and processing in 'the United States, Australia, Singapore, European Union, United Kingdom, Philippines and New Zealand' and other countries. Sub-processor list (2026-04-17): AWS 'United States & EU', other hosting and AI service providers USA. Selectable EU data residency is not documented. According to the list, Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. does not process customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form.
Midjourney- Basic
Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented.
- Standard
Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented.
- Pro
Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented.
- Mega
Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7, as of 2026-09-03): "The personal information you provide is stored on Midjourney servers in the US." For data stored on Discord, the FAQ refers to Discord ("Discord is in control of all data you store on Discord"). Privacy Policy 2.5: processing also "at the Midjourney's operating offices and in any other places where the parties involved in the processing are located". A choice of region is not documented.
- Canva Free
Sub-processors
- Canva AIlist availableall 4 plans
- Midjourneylist availableall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Pro
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (Canva AI; USA; according to the list, not for Canva Education, Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Canva Enterprise
- Amazon Web Services (hosting, infrastructure, Canva AI; USA & EU)
- Anthropic (Canva AI; USA)
- ElevenLabs (Canva AI; USA)
- Features & Labels (Canva AI; USA)
- Google (hosting, infrastructure, security, Canva AI; USA)
- MongoDB (hosting; USA)
- OpenAI (Canva AI; USA)
- Snowflake (hosting; USA)
- Assembled (support; USA)
- Concentrix (support; Philippines)
- DeepL (translation; EU)
- Kaizo (support; EU)
- IBEX (support; USA)
- Zendesk (support; USA)
- Canva Austria GmbH (photo/video AI; EU & USA)
- Canva Pty Ltd (support; Australia)
- Canva Solutions Inc. (support; Philippines)
- Canva US, Inc. (support, printing; USA)
- Canva UK Operations Ltd (support, Flourish/Charts; EU)
- Leonardo.AI (AI; Australia & USA)
- Scene Group Ltd (Cavalry; EU)
- Serif (Europe) Ltd (Affinity; EU)
- Not for Canva Enterprise: Nanonoble Pte. Ltd. (according to the sub-processor list, no customer personal data for Canva Enterprise or customers with a signed Order Form)
Midjourney- Basic
- No list published. Privacy Policy 2.3 names categories: "Service Providers, Third Party Vendors, Consultants, and other Business Partners", payment service providers and analytics and advertising partners (cookies).
- Standard
- No list published. Privacy Policy 2.3 names categories: "Service Providers, Third Party Vendors, Consultants, and other Business Partners", payment service providers and analytics and advertising partners (cookies).
- Pro
- No list published. Privacy Policy 2.3 names categories: "Service Providers, Third Party Vendors, Consultants, and other Business Partners", payment service providers and analytics and advertising partners (cookies).
- Mega
- No list published. Privacy Policy 2.3 names categories: "Service Providers, Third Party Vendors, Consultants, and other Business Partners", payment service providers and analytics and advertising partners (cookies).
- Canva Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- Privacy policy section 8: after account…Canva Free, Canva Pro
- DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data…Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- MidjourneyPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains…all 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva FreePrivacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive).
- Canva ProPrivacy policy section 8: after account closure/deactivation, retention of profile data and User Content 'for a commercially reasonable time'; beyond that, for as long as a legitimate purpose exists (legal, audit, backup, archive).
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')DPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.'
- Canva EnterpriseDPA Annex 1.B: 'Customer Personal Data will be retained for as long as is necessary for the Permitted Purpose or required by applicable law.'
Midjourney- BasicPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented.
- StandardPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented.
- ProPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented.
- MegaPrivacy Policy 2.4: Midjourney retains personal data "to the extent necessary to comply with Our legal obligations", for dispute resolution and to enforce agreements; Usage Data is "generally retained for a shorter period of time". Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (q7): the account and associated data are deleted "within 30 days after successful submission of your deletion request"; the request can be withdrawn within 7 days (likewise q8). Specific periods for prompts/images while the account exists: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- Canva AI
- 0Canva Free
- not publicly documentedCanva Pro, Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams'), Canva Enterprise
- Midjourney
- 10 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Basic
- 30 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Standard
- 60 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 120 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Mega
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
0 (free plan according to the pricing page; amounts for the other plans not readable on retrieval)
- Canva Pro
not publicly documented (pricing page lists Pro; amount not readable on retrieval, see gaps)
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
not publicly documented
- Canva Enterprise
not publicly documented
Midjourney- Basic
10 USD/month or 96 USD/year (8 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14
- Standard
30 USD/month or 288 USD/year (24 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14
- Pro
60 USD/month or 576 USD/year (48 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14
- Mega
120 USD/month or 1,152 USD/year (96 USD/month with annual payment), as of 2026-10-14
- Canva Free
- Canva AIyesall 4 plans
- Midjourneyyesall 4 plans
- Canva AI
- Canva Free
yes (pricing page 2026-10-18: "Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses"; comparison table Standard AI: "Limited AI access")
- Canva Pro
yes (Pro page: “Access premium content, brand tools, and AI features”, including Canva AI 2.0, Magic Layers, Canva Code; pricing page: "10x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "High AI access", "AI Pass add-on available (extra cost)")
- Canva Business (Trust Center also lists 'Teams')
yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)", comparison table "Higher AI access", "AI Pass add-on and AI top-ups available (extra cost)"; including Canva AI 2.0, Canva AI connectors, Magic Layers)
- Canva Enterprise
yes (pricing page: "20x more AI than Canva Free (Premium or Ultra AI)"; Canva AI 2.0 and Canva AI connectors marked "Soon"; comparison table: "Contact Sales to learn more about AI access for Enterprise")
Midjourney- Basic
yes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison)
- Standard
yes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison)
- Pro
yes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison)
- Mega
yes (Image and video generation; features per plan according to the plan comparison)
- Canva Free
Evidence
- Canva AI10 sources
- Midjourney9 sources
- Canva AI
- Privacy Policy (last updated 2026-08-25)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- AI Product Terms (effective 2026-06-26)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms of Use (effective 2026-08-19)Terms and conditions, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Data Processing Addendum (last updated 2025-10-30)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva's Sub-ProcessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Trust Center – Privacy (incl. FAQ AI at Canva)Trust Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva List of Subprocessors (PDF, last updated 2026-04-17)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva Pricing: Compare Free, Pro, Business and Enterprise plansPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Canva ProProvider product page, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Canva Help Center: Manage your privacy preferencesHelp article, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Midjourney- Midjourney Terms of Service (Version Effective Date 2026-05-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Privacy Policy (Last Updated 2026-09-03)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Comparing Midjourney Plans (Docs)Pricing page/documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Stealth Mode (Docs)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Public Summary of Training Content (Version 1, as of 2026-03-17)Provider documentation (AI Act), retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Training Data Documentation under California AB2013 (as of 2026-01-20)Provider documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Data Deletion and Privacy FAQ (as of 2026-09-03)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Help Center: Deleting Your DataHelp Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Midjourney Help Center: Group Plans & Corporate BillingHelp Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Canva AI compared with
Midjourney compared with
Individual pages: Canva AI, Midjourney. All tools in the category: Image & design.