Aleph Alpha vs. Claude: data protection per plan
Aleph Alpha (1 plan) and Claude (6 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Aleph Alpha | Claude |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Speyerer Straße 14, 69115 Heidelberg, Germany | Anthropic PBC: 548 Market St, PMB 90375, San Francisco, CA 94104, USA |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 6 |
| Hosting | EU option: PhariaAI | mixed: Free, Pro, Max, API / Consolenot documented: Team, Enterprise |
| Training on inputs | not documented: PhariaAI | opt-out available: Free, Pro, Maxno: Team, Enterprise, API / Console |
| DPA | not documented: PhariaAI | not documented: Free, Pro, Maxyes: Team, Enterprise, API / Console |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Aleph Alpha PhariaAI vs. Claude Enterprise
| Feature | Aleph AlphaPhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan) | ClaudeEnterprise |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | yes |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in) | yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK) Provider’s DPA |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data). | Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Enterprise model training: "None by default". |
| differs by plan | EU option | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland". | not publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK". The Claude Enterprise product page (q19) lists "US-only inference" among the data controls; an EU region is not mentioned there. |
| list available | list available | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | Saved chats/coding sessions are retained… |
| Details: Data retention | not publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period. | Saved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Custom data retention controls (Enterprise): the default is unlimited retention; organisation owners can set the retention period for chats and projects, minimum 30 days (Help Center); according to the Help Center, the custom periods do not apply to Claude Design, Claude Tag, Claude Managed Agents and other features built on Claude Code on the web. According to the Help Center, zero data retention agreements apply to eligible APIs and Claude Code on Enterprise plans, not to the entire product. Help Center (q18): "Enterprise plan customers can also set custom retention timelines for their organization's data." |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | 20 USD/user/mo |
| Details: Price | not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated)) | Self-serve: USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, minimum 20 seats, plus usage-based costs at API rates; sales-assisted: individual quote (pricing page FAQ: "You can get started self-serve or contact sales for a tailored quote."); Enterprise with annual billing only (list claude.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-10-18) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03) | yes (all Team features plus roles/SCIM, audit logs, Compliance API, IP allowlisting, HIPAA-ready offering; according to the pricing page) |
| 10 sources | 12 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- Claude Enterpriseyes
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in)
Claude Enterpriseyes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA
Training
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- Claude Enterpriseno
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data).
Claude EnterprisePrivacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Enterprise model training: "None by default".
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIEU option
- Claude Enterprisenot publicly documented
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland".
Claude Enterprisenot publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK". The Claude Enterprise product page (q19) lists "US-only inference" among the data controls; an EU region is not mentioned there.
Sub-processors
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIlist available
- Claude Enterpriselist available
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
- not publicly documented (no list published). Named as infrastructure partner for PhariaAI-as-a-Service: STACKIT (Schwarz Group), press release 2025-05-26.
Claude Enterprise- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- ElevenLabs (text-to-speech; USA; Claude for Work only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
Retention
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- Claude EnterpriseSaved chats/coding sessions are retained…
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period.Claude EnterpriseSaved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Custom data retention controls (Enterprise): the default is unlimited retention; organisation owners can set the retention period for chats and projects, minimum 30 days (Help Center); according to the Help Center, the custom periods do not apply to Claude Design, Claude Tag, Claude Managed Agents and other features built on Claude Code on the web. According to the Help Center, zero data retention agreements apply to eligible APIs and Claude Code on Enterprise plans, not to the entire product. Help Center (q18): "Enterprise plan customers can also set custom retention timelines for their organization's data."
Price
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- Claude Enterprise20 USD/user/mo
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated))
Claude EnterpriseSelf-serve: USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, minimum 20 seats, plus usage-based costs at API rates; sales-assisted: individual quote (pricing page FAQ: "You can get started self-serve or contact sales for a tailored quote."); Enterprise with annual billing only (list claude.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-10-18)
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIyes
- Claude Enterpriseyes
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03)
Claude Enterpriseyes (all Team features plus roles/SCIM, audit logs, Compliance API, IP allowlisting, HIPAA-ready offering; according to the pricing page)
Evidence
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI10 sources
- Claude Enterprise12 sources
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
- Privacy notice aleph-alpha.com (website) (German)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha launches PhariaAI (2024-08-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Partnership with STACKIT, PhariaAI-as-a-Service (2025-05-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha releases Kolibri (2026-10-05) (German)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Model overview (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI documentation (HOME)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Installation Guide: Shared responsibility modelDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Technical Report: Kolibri: A Sovereign European Model on the Pareto Frontier (PDF, 2026-10)Technical report, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Release Notes v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Claude Enterprise- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-08-18)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my organization's data? (Commercial; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2025-02-24)DPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Commercial Terms of Service (Effective 2025-06-17)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Pricing (Individual, Team & Enterprise, API)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Configure custom data retention controls for Enterprise plansHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Zero data retention agreement - applicable productsHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How do you use personal data in model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Trust Center: Subprocessors (22 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Can you delete data that I sent via Team and Enterprise plans? (as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Enterprise (product page incl. FAQ Security and compliance)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Aleph Alpha | Claude |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | EU optiononly plan |
|
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| list availableonly plan | list availableall 6 plans | |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 6 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 17 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- Claude
- not publicly documentedFree, Pro, Max
- yesTeam, Enterprise, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in)
Claude- Free
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Pro
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Max
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Team
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA - API / Console (Claude Platform)
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Training
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- Claude
- opt-out availableFree, Pro, Max
- noTeam, Enterprise, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data).
Claude- Free
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Pro
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Max
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Team
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Team: "No model training on your content by default".
- Enterprise
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Enterprise model training: "None by default".
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services."
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Aleph AlphaEU optiononly plan
- Claude
- mixedFree, Pro, Max, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- not publicly documentedTeam, Enterprise
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland".
Claude- Free
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Pro
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Max
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Team
not publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK".
- Enterprise
not publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK". The Claude Enterprise product page (q19) lists "US-only inference" among the data controls; an EU region is not mentioned there.
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
Claude Platform Docs (Data residency): two settings. Inference geo (parameter inference_geo): "global" (default) "Inference may run in any available geography"; "us" "Inference runs only in US-based infrastructure" (surcharge 1.1x, Claude 4.6 and newer only). Workspace geo (storage at rest and endpoint processing): "Currently, 'us' is the only available workspace geo." According to the same documentation (retrieved 2026-10-18): "Inference geo: Only 'us' and 'global' are available." and "Workspace geo: Only 'us' is currently available."; an EU region is therefore not currently offered. On Amazon Bedrock/Google Cloud, the endpoint URL or the inference profile determines the region (not part of this entry).
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Sub-processors
- Aleph Alphalist availableonly plan
- Claudelist availableall 6 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
- not publicly documented (no list published). Named as infrastructure partner for PhariaAI-as-a-Service: STACKIT (Schwarz Group), press release 2025-05-26.
Claude- Free
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Pro
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Max
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Team
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- ElevenLabs (text-to-speech; USA; Claude for Work only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Enterprise
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- ElevenLabs (text-to-speech; USA; Claude for Work only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Retention
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- Claude
- Deleted chats: removed from the history…Free, Pro, Max
- Saved chats/coding sessions are retained…Team, Enterprise
- Anthropic API: inputs/outputs are…API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)not publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period.
Claude- FreeDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- ProDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- MaxDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- TeamSaved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Help Center (q18, as of 2026-03-16): "While using Team and Enterprise plans, prompts and conversations in the product are maintained so you can see your conversation history in the product."
- EnterpriseSaved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Custom data retention controls (Enterprise): the default is unlimited retention; organisation owners can set the retention period for chats and projects, minimum 30 days (Help Center); according to the Help Center, the custom periods do not apply to Claude Design, Claude Tag, Claude Managed Agents and other features built on Claude Code on the web. According to the Help Center, zero data retention agreements apply to eligible APIs and Claude Code on Enterprise plans, not to the entire product. Help Center (q18): "Enterprise plan customers can also set custom retention timelines for their organization's data."
- API / Console (Claude Platform)Anthropic API: inputs/outputs are automatically deleted in the back end "within 30 days of receipt or generation", except for services with longer retention under customer control (e.g. Files API), an agreed deviation (e.g. Zero Data Retention), usage policy enforcement or a legal obligation. Limited retention and review apply to Covered Models. Flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback: 5 years. ZDR possible on application and after approval (Help Center, as of 2026-07-01).
Price
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- Claude
- 0 USD/moFree
- 17 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 100 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Max
- several tiersTeam
- 20 USD/user/moEnterprise
- per tokenAPI / Console (Claude Platform)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated))
Claude- Free
USD 0/month (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; prices excl. taxes)
- Pro
USD 17/month with annual subscription (USD 200 in advance), USD 20/month with monthly billing (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes)
- Max
Max 5x: USD 100/month; Max 20x: USD 200/month; prices for web subscriptions; according to the pricing page FAQ, annual subscriptions only for Pro and Team ("Annual subscriptions are available for Pro and Team plans.") (Help Center "What is the Max plan?", q17; pricing page claude.com/pricing: "from USD 100", prices excl. taxes)
- Team
Standard seat USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, USD 25 with monthly billing; Premium seat USD 100/seat/month annually, USD 125 monthly; Team for 2 to 150 people (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes)
- Enterprise
Self-serve: USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, minimum 20 seats, plus usage-based costs at API rates; sales-assisted: individual quote (pricing page FAQ: "You can get started self-serve or contact sales for a tailored quote."); Enterprise with annual billing only (list claude.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-10-18)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
List claude.com/pricing (as of 2026-10-14), per 1M tokens: Fable 5.1 input USD 10 / output USD 50; Opus 5.5 input USD 4 / output USD 20; Sonnet 5.5 input USD 2 / output USD 10; Haiku 5.5 input USD 0.10 (prompts up to 100K) / output USD 0.50; Batch -50 %; US-only inference at 1.1x price (excl. taxes)
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
- Aleph Alphayesonly plan
- Claudeyesall 6 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03)
Claude- Free
yes (chat, web search, file creation, code execution, Memory, Artifacts, Connectors; according to the pricing page)
- Pro
yes (Free plus more usage, Claude Code, Claude Design/Slides/Docs, Research, Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365; according to the pricing page)
- Max
yes (Pro plus 5x or 20x more usage, higher output limits, Early Access, Priority Access; new: monthly API credits for the Claude Platform of USD 100 (Max 5x) and USD 200 (Max 20x) respectively; according to the pricing page)
- Team
yes (all Claude features, more usage than Pro, Claude Code and Claude Cowork, Enterprise Search, SSO; according to the pricing page up to USD 500/month in pooled API credits)
- Enterprise
yes (all Team features plus roles/SCIM, audit logs, Compliance API, IP allowlisting, HIPAA-ready offering; according to the pricing page)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
yes (Messages API, Batch, Managed Agents and others; prices per MTok)
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Evidence
- Aleph Alpha10 sources
- Claude17 sources
- Aleph Alpha
- Privacy notice aleph-alpha.com (website) (German)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha launches PhariaAI (2024-08-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Partnership with STACKIT, PhariaAI-as-a-Service (2025-05-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha releases Kolibri (2026-10-05) (German)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Model overview (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI documentation (HOME)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Installation Guide: Shared responsibility modelDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Technical Report: Kolibri: A Sovereign European Model on the Pareto Frontier (PDF, 2026-10)Technical report, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Release Notes v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Claude- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Consumer: Free, Pro, Max; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-08-18)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my data? (Consumer; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my organization's data? (Commercial; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2025-02-24)DPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Commercial Terms of Service (Effective 2025-06-17)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Consumer Terms of Service (Effective 2025-10-08)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Pricing (Individual, Team & Enterprise, API)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Platform Docs: Data residencyDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Configure custom data retention controls for Enterprise plansHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Zero data retention agreement - applicable productsHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How do you use personal data in model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Trust Center: Subprocessors (22 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Help Center: What is the Max plan?Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Can you delete data that I sent via Team and Enterprise plans? (as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Enterprise (product page incl. FAQ Security and compliance)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Aleph Alpha compared with
Individual pages: Aleph Alpha, Claude. All tools in the category: AI assistants & search.