Aleph Alpha vs. DeepSeek: data protection per plan
Aleph Alpha (1 plan) and DeepSeek (2 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Aleph Alpha | DeepSeek |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Speyerer Straße 14, 69115 Heidelberg, Germany | Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co., Ltd., 'registered address in China' |
| Plans recorded | 1 | 2 |
| Hosting | EU option: PhariaAI | not documented: all 2 plans |
| Training on inputs | not documented: PhariaAI | opt-out available: Chatnot documented: Open Platform API |
| DPA | not documented: PhariaAI | not documented: all 2 plans |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Aleph Alpha PhariaAI vs. DeepSeek Open Platform API
| Feature | Aleph AlphaPhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan) | DeepSeekOpen Platform API (usage-based) |
|---|---|---|
| not publicly documented | not publicly documented | |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in) | not publicly documented |
| not publicly documented | not publicly documented | |
| Details: Training on inputs | not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data). | The Open Platform terms (effective 2026-04-29) govern ownership of inputs and outputs (the customer retains rights to inputs and receives rights to outputs) but contain no express statement on the use of API inputs for training; they refer to the document 'Model Principles and Training Methods Explanation', which likewise does not distinguish between chat and API. The terms of use (section 4.3) and the privacy policy apply to 'Services' in general; an API-specific opt-out is not described. For end-user data in its own applications, according to the privacy policy and the Open Platform terms (5.5), the developer is the controller. |
| differs by plan | EU option | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland". | Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented. Region of API processing: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | list available | not publicly documented |
| Details: List published |
| not publicly documented |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | Privacy policy: storage for as long as… |
| Details: Data retention | not publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period. | Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. API-specific retention: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | per token |
| Details: Price | not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated)) | Per 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) USD 0.003 off-peak / USD 0.006 peak; input (cache miss) USD 0.15 / USD 0.3; output USD 0.6 / USD 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: cache hit USD 0.022 / USD 0.044; cache miss USD 0.66 / USD 1.32; output USD 1.98 / USD 3.96. Peak hours: 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday (excluding Chinese public holidays); otherwise half price. Search and Fetch API USD 0.75 each per 1,000 successful requests. Billed against topped-up or granted credit; DeepSeek may change prices; no indication whether incl. VAT. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03) | yes (models deepseek-flash = DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 and deepseek-v4-pro = DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813, each with 1M-token context, up to 384K output, thinking/non-thinking mode, tool calls, JSON output, Responses API, OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible interface; vision only with deepseek-flash; additionally Search and Fetch API) |
| 10 sources | 5 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in)
DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
Training
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data).
DeepSeek Open Platform APIThe Open Platform terms (effective 2026-04-29) govern ownership of inputs and outputs (the customer retains rights to inputs and receives rights to outputs) but contain no express statement on the use of API inputs for training; they refer to the document 'Model Principles and Training Methods Explanation', which likewise does not distinguish between chat and API. The terms of use (section 4.3) and the privacy policy apply to 'Services' in general; an API-specific opt-out is not described. For end-user data in its own applications, according to the privacy policy and the Open Platform terms (5.5), the developer is the controller.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIEU option
- DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland".
DeepSeek Open Platform APIPrivacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented. Region of API processing: not publicly documented.
Sub-processors
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIlist available
- DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
- not publicly documented (no list published). Named as infrastructure partner for PhariaAI-as-a-Service: STACKIT (Schwarz Group), press release 2025-05-26.
DeepSeek Open Platform APInot publicly documented
Retention
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- DeepSeek Open Platform APIPrivacy policy: storage for as long as…
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period.DeepSeek Open Platform APIPrivacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. API-specific retention: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by plan
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAInot publicly documented
- DeepSeek Open Platform APIper token
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated))
DeepSeek Open Platform APIPer 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) USD 0.003 off-peak / USD 0.006 peak; input (cache miss) USD 0.15 / USD 0.3; output USD 0.6 / USD 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: cache hit USD 0.022 / USD 0.044; cache miss USD 0.66 / USD 1.32; output USD 1.98 / USD 3.96. Peak hours: 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday (excluding Chinese public holidays); otherwise half price. Search and Fetch API USD 0.75 each per 1,000 successful requests. Billed against topped-up or granted credit; DeepSeek may change prices; no indication whether incl. VAT.
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAIyes
- DeepSeek Open Platform APIyes
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03)
DeepSeek Open Platform APIyes (models deepseek-flash = DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 and deepseek-v4-pro = DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813, each with 1M-token context, up to 384K output, thinking/non-thinking mode, tool calls, JSON output, Responses API, OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible interface; vision only with deepseek-flash; additionally Search and Fetch API)
Evidence
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI10 sources
- DeepSeek Open Platform API5 sources
- Aleph Alpha PhariaAI
- Privacy notice aleph-alpha.com (website) (German)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha launches PhariaAI (2024-08-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Partnership with STACKIT, PhariaAI-as-a-Service (2025-05-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha releases Kolibri (2026-10-05) (German)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Model overview (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI documentation (HOME)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Installation Guide: Shared responsibility modelDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Technical Report: Kolibri: A Sovereign European Model on the Pareto Frontier (PDF, 2026-10)Technical report, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Release Notes v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
DeepSeek Open Platform API- Models & PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Privacy Policy (Last Update 2026-02-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Terms of Use (Last Update 2026-03-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Open Platform Terms of Service (effective 2026-04-29)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeekDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Aleph Alpha | DeepSeek |
|---|---|---|
| not publicly documentedonly plan | not publicly documentedall 2 plans | |
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | EU optiononly plan | not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| differs by tool | list availableonly plan | not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan | Privacy policy: storage for as long as…all 2 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedonly plan |
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesonly plan | yesall 2 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 10 sources | 6 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented (no public DPA text; the privacy notices cover only the website, no product/customer contract; when retrieved on 2026-10-18 the documentation link "Data privacy" leads to the website privacy notices, and the support portal is accessible only after logging in)
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)
not publicly documented
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
not publicly documented
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Training
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- DeepSeek
- opt-out availableChat (web and app)
- not publicly documentedOpen Platform API (usage-based)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented: The privacy notices apply to the website aleph-alpha.com. Regarding customer data in PhariaAI operation, there is no statement on training on the platform, documentation or press release pages. The platform page states: "You retain full control over your data and processes." (translated) (no statement on training). Kolibri training data: according to the press release of 2026-10-05, checked against a blocklist of more than 4.5 million URLs; this concerns the origin of the model training data, not customer data. Technical Report on Kolibri (q13): "we redact PII from all training sources" (likewise concerns model training data, not customer data).
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)
Terms of use (as of 2026-03-27, section 4.3): DeepSeek may use inputs and outputs 'to a minimal extent', after encryption and de-identification, to improve the services and the underlying technologies; opt-out available by switching off 'Improve the model for everyone'. Privacy policy: data is used, among other things, to train and improve the models; right to object to use for training. Document 'Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeek': in the optimisation phase, a small portion of the training data may be based on user input, which is then encrypted, de-identified and anonymised.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
The Open Platform terms (effective 2026-04-29) govern ownership of inputs and outputs (the customer retains rights to inputs and receives rights to outputs) but contain no express statement on the use of API inputs for training; they refer to the document 'Model Principles and Training Methods Explanation', which likewise does not distinguish between chat and API. The terms of use (section 4.3) and the privacy policy apply to 'Services' in general; an API-specific opt-out is not described. For end-user data in its own applications, according to the privacy policy and the Open Platform terms (5.5), the developer is the controller.
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Aleph AlphaEU optiononly plan
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Platform page: "Available on-premise, air-gapped or in a sovereign SaaS solution" (translated); models are provided "in sovereign cloud, hybrid and on-premises environments" (translated). Press release 2025-05-26: PhariaAI-as-a-Service on STACKIT (Schwarz Group), "hosted entirely on European infrastructure". PhariaAI launch 2024-08-26: "available as SAAS solutions or on-premise in the customers' own datacenter"; hybrid execution (on-prem + cloud) possible. Specific data centre locations per operating model, and whether any operating mode runs exclusively in Germany: not publicly documented. Note: when retrieved on 2026-10-14, the model page (q9) contains the statement "Ownership, development and supply chain lie entirely in Germany and the EU" (translated) and "Confidential data always remains with the customer" (translated) (no information on data centre locations); the previously recorded wording "No foreign jurisdiction has access" (translated) is no longer contained there. Release notes PhariaAI v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03, q14): "Availability: On-premise and hosted". Technical Report (q13) on model training (not on customer operation): "train it on infrastructure in Germany and Finland".
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)
Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented. Region of API processing: not publicly documented.
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Sub-processors
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphalist availableonly plan
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
- not publicly documented (no list published). Named as infrastructure partner for PhariaAI-as-a-Service: STACKIT (Schwarz Group), press release 2025-05-26.
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)not publicly documented
- Open Platform API (usage-based)not publicly documented
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Retention
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- DeepSeekPrivacy policy: storage for as long as…all 2 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)not publicly documentedfor SaaS operation. For self-hosted operation, according to the Shared Responsibility Model (q12): the customer is responsible for protecting data "at rest and residing outside the core PhariaAI application", backups and log management. Aleph Alpha is responsible for encrypting data in transit within the core application. Aleph Alpha does not state a retention period.
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. Chat history can be deleted in the settings; after account deletion, access cannot be restored.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. API-specific retention: not publicly documented.
Price
- differs by tool
- Aleph Alphanot publicly documentedonly plan
- DeepSeek
- freeChat (web and app)
- per tokenOpen Platform API (usage-based)
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
not publicly documented (no public plan; contact via "Contact sales" (translated))
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)
free of charge (website app description: 'Chat with leading AI models for free.'; no paid chat plan found)
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
Per 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) USD 0.003 off-peak / USD 0.006 peak; input (cache miss) USD 0.15 / USD 0.3; output USD 0.6 / USD 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: cache hit USD 0.022 / USD 0.044; cache miss USD 0.66 / USD 1.32; output USD 1.98 / USD 3.96. Peak hours: 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday (excluding Chinese public holidays); otherwise half price. Search and Fetch API USD 0.75 each per 1,000 successful requests. Billed against topped-up or granted credit; DeepSeek may change prices; no indication whether incl. VAT.
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
- Aleph Alphayesonly plan
- DeepSeekyesall 2 plans
- Aleph Alpha
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
yes (PhariaAI stack according to the documentation: PhariaAssistant, PhariaStudio, PhariaOS, PhariaCatch; models including Kolibri, available since 2026-10-03)
DeepSeek- Chat (web and app)
yes (AI chatbot; according to the terms of use, services based on large language models)
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
yes (models deepseek-flash = DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 and deepseek-v4-pro = DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813, each with 1M-token context, up to 384K output, thinking/non-thinking mode, tool calls, JSON output, Responses API, OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible interface; vision only with deepseek-flash; additionally Search and Fetch API)
- PhariaAI (licence/contract, no public plan)
Evidence
- Aleph Alpha10 sources
- DeepSeek6 sources
- Aleph Alpha
- Privacy notice aleph-alpha.com (website) (German)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Platform (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha launches PhariaAI (2024-08-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Partnership with STACKIT, PhariaAI-as-a-Service (2025-05-26)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Press release: Aleph Alpha releases Kolibri (2026-10-05) (German)Press release, retrieved 7 Oct 2026
- Model overview (Aleph Alpha)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI documentation (HOME)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Installation Guide: Shared responsibility modelDocumentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Technical Report: Kolibri: A Sovereign European Model on the Pareto Frontier (PDF, 2026-10)Technical report, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- PhariaAI Release Notes v1.260900.0 (2026-09-03)Documentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
DeepSeek- Models & PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Privacy Policy (Last Update 2026-02-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Terms of Use (Last Update 2026-03-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Open Platform Terms of Service (effective 2026-04-29)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeekDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek website (home page and Transparency Center)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Aleph Alpha compared with
Individual pages: Aleph Alpha, DeepSeek. All tools in the category: AI assistants & search.