Claude vs. Meta AI: data protection per plan
Claude (6 plans) and Meta AI (4 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | Claude | Meta AI |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Anthropic PBC: 548 Market St, PMB 90375, San Francisco, CA 94104, USA | Meta Model API: contracting party Meta Platforms, Inc., 1 Meta Way, Menlo Park, CA 94025, USA, or, for users in the European Region, Meta Platforms Ireland Limited, Merrion Road, Dublin 4, D04 X2K5, Ireland |
| Plans recorded | 6 | 4 |
| Hosting | mixed: Free, Pro, Max, API / Consolenot documented: Team, Enterprise | not documented: all 4 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Free, Pro, Maxno: Team, Enterprise, API / Console | opt-out available: Meta AI, Muse Code subscriptionno: Meta Model API - Standardyes: Meta Model API - Contributor |
| DPA | not documented: Free, Pro, Maxyes: Team, Enterprise, API / Console | not documented: Meta AIyes: Muse Code subscription, Meta Model API - Standardno: Meta Model API - Contributor |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: Claude Pro vs. Meta AI Muse Code subscription
| Feature | ClaudePro | Meta AIMuse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage) |
|---|---|---|
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | yes |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH) | yes, if Contributor mode is switched off: section 5 of the terms of use applies to Standard Services 'including where you have changed your Account setting under a Coding Harness Subscription' (then MGPT, Meta as processor). In the preset Contributor mode, the Contributor terms apply (section 6, no personal data). |
| opt-out available | opt-out available | |
| Details: Training on inputs | Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans. | Subscription docs: Muse Code subscriptions are in Contributor mode by default ('default to Contributor mode'); content is then used to train future Meta models. The mode can be switched off in the settings at any time; thereafter, future content is not used for training. |
| differs by plan | mixed | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data residency | Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans. | Region: not publicly documented. According to the docs, subscription features and availability may vary by region. |
| differs by plan | list available | not publicly documented |
| Details: List published |
| not publicly documented |
| differs by plan | Deleted chats: removed from the history… | not publicly documented |
| Details: Data retention | Deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). | not publicly documentedthe retention rules of the terms of use, section 4.4 or 6.1, apply, without fixed periods |
| differs by plan | 17 USD/mo… (further prices in the details) | Flat monthly price in USD |
| Details: Price | USD 17/month with annual subscription (USD 200 in advance), USD 20/month with monthly billing (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes) | Flat monthly price in USD (Help Center 'What is a Muse Code subscription?'): Everyday Usage USD 5/month, High Usage USD 15/month (5x usage), Power Usage USD 50/month (20x), Maximum Usage USD 200/month (80x); automatic monthly renewal; not stated whether VAT is included. According to the docs, benefits and availability may vary by region. |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (Free plus more usage, Claude Code, Claude Design/Slides/Docs, Research, Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365; according to the pricing page) | yes (coding agent Muse Code with Muse Spark, Muse Wonder and Muse Image; Power and Maximum additionally Muse Wonder Full; use only via the Muse Code CLI) |
| 6 sources | 3 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by plan
- Claude Pronot publicly documented
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionyes
- Claude Pro
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionyes, if Contributor mode is switched off: section 5 of the terms of use applies to Standard Services 'including where you have changed your Account setting under a Coding Harness Subscription' (then MGPT, Meta as processor). In the preset Contributor mode, the Contributor terms apply (section 6, no personal data).
Training
- Claude Proopt-out available
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionopt-out available
- Claude Pro
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionSubscription docs: Muse Code subscriptions are in Contributor mode by default ('default to Contributor mode'); content is then used to train future Meta models. The mode can be switched off in the settings at any time; thereafter, future content is not used for training.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- Claude Promixed
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionnot publicly documented
- Claude Pro
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionRegion: not publicly documented. According to the docs, subscription features and availability may vary by region.
Sub-processors
- differs by plan
- Claude Prolist available
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionnot publicly documented
- Claude Pro
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionnot publicly documented
Retention
- differs by plan
- Claude ProDeleted chats: removed from the history…
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionnot publicly documented
- Claude ProDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionnot publicly documentedthe retention rules of the terms of use, section 4.4 or 6.1, apply, without fixed periods
Price
- differs by plan
- Claude Pro17 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionFlat monthly price in USD
- Claude Pro
USD 17/month with annual subscription (USD 200 in advance), USD 20/month with monthly billing (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes)
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionFlat monthly price in USD (Help Center 'What is a Muse Code subscription?'): Everyday Usage USD 5/month, High Usage USD 15/month (5x usage), Power Usage USD 50/month (20x), Maximum Usage USD 200/month (80x); automatic monthly renewal; not stated whether VAT is included. According to the docs, benefits and availability may vary by region.
- Claude Proyes
- Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionyes
- Claude Pro
yes (Free plus more usage, Claude Code, Claude Design/Slides/Docs, Research, Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365; according to the pricing page)
Meta AI Muse Code subscriptionyes (coding agent Muse Code with Muse Spark, Muse Wonder and Muse Image; Power and Maximum additionally Muse Wonder Full; use only via the Muse Code CLI)
Evidence
- Claude Pro6 sources
- Meta AI Muse Code subscription3 sources
- Claude Pro
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Consumer: Free, Pro, Max; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my data? (Consumer; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Consumer Terms of Service (Effective 2025-10-08)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Pricing (Individual, Team & Enterprise, API)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Trust Center: Subprocessors (22 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Meta AI Muse Code subscription- Meta Model API terms of use (as of 2026-10-09) (German)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Muse Code SubscriptionsPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- What is a Muse Code subscription?Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
| Feature | Claude | Meta AI |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| not publicly documentedall 4 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| differs by tool | list availableall 6 plans |
|
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 6 plans | yesall 4 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 17 sources | 12 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- Claude
- not publicly documentedFree, Pro, Max
- yesTeam, Enterprise, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Meta AI
- not publicly documentedMeta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
- yesMuse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage), Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
- noMeta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
- Claude
- Free
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Pro
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Max
not publicly documented (the Consumer Terms and Privacy Policy do not mention a DPA; according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic Ireland Limited is the controller for users in the EEA/UK/CH)
- Team
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA - Enterprise
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA - API / Console (Claude Platform)
yes: Commercial Terms section C: "Data submitted through the Services will be processed in accordance with the Anthropic Data Processing Addendum ('DPA'), which is incorporated into these Terms by reference." (Anthropic Ireland Limited is the contracting party where the customer is established in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK)
Provider’s DPA
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
not publicly documented (the Meta AI Terms of Service (EU) are a consumer contract with Meta Platforms Ireland Limited and refer to Meta's privacy policy for personal data; processor terms are not mentioned there)
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
yes, if Contributor mode is switched off: section 5 of the terms of use applies to Standard Services 'including where you have changed your Account setting under a Coding Harness Subscription' (then MGPT, Meta as processor). In the preset Contributor mode, the Contributor terms apply (section 6, no personal data).
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
yes: For Standard Services, the terms of use (section 5.1) incorporate the 'Meta Global Processor Terms' (MGPT, as of 2026-03-20) and the data security terms; Meta acts as processor. For European data, Europe-specific MGPT terms and an addendum on global data transfer apply.
Provider’s DPA - Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
no (the processor terms are incorporated in section 5 only for Standard Services; terms of use 6.2: no sensitive, confidential or personal information may be submitted to discounted services)
- Free
Training
- differs by tool
- Claude
- opt-out availableFree, Pro, Max
- noTeam, Enterprise, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Meta AI
- opt-out availableMeta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps), Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
- noMeta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
- yesMeta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
- Claude
- Free
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Pro
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Max
Consumer Terms (Effective 2025-10-08): "We may use Materials to provide, maintain, and improve the Services and to develop other products and services, including training our models, unless you opt out of training through your account settings. Even if you opt out, we will use Materials for model training when: (1) you provide Feedback to us regarding any Materials, or (2) your Materials are flagged for safety review". Privacy Center (2026-03-16): chats and coding sessions are used if users allow it, in the case of safety flagging or with an express opt-in. Incognito chats: "are not used to improve Claude, even if you have enabled Model Improvement in your Privacy Settings". The pricing page shows "Model training: Opt-out" for Free, Pro and Max. According to the Privacy Center, this also applies to Claude Code for accounts on these plans.
- Team
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Team: "No model training on your content by default".
- Enterprise
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services." Pricing page Enterprise model training: "None by default".
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
Privacy Center (2026-08-18): "By default, we will not use your inputs or outputs from our commercial products (e.g. Claude for Work, Anthropic API, Claude Gov, etc.) to train our models." Exceptions according to the same source: express feedback (thumbs up/down) or other express permission. Commercial Terms: "Anthropic may not train models on Customer Content from Services."
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
Privacy Center 'How Meta uses information for generative AI models' (translated) (q9): training sources include 'interactions with features that are part of AI at Meta' (translated), public information in Meta products, internet content and licensed data. Private messages to friends and family are not used unless they are knowingly shared with the AIs. There is a right to object to the use of interactions with AI at Meta and of public information (via the account or regional forms according to the Privacy Center; applies to future training). In the UK and the EU, no public information from accounts of under-18s.
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
Subscription docs: Muse Code subscriptions are in Contributor mode by default ('default to Contributor mode'); content is then used to train future Meta models. The mode can be switched off in the settings at any time; thereafter, future content is not used for training.
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
Terms of use (as of 2026-10-09, 5.1): Meta does not use content from Standard Services to train Meta models. Pricing page: 'In Standard mode, you pay standard prices and your content is not used to train Meta models.' Data commitments: content from paid services is not used for training; customer data (account, roles, profile fields) in no case.
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
Pricing page: Contributor mode 'at heavily discounted token prices, in exchange for permission to use your content to train future Meta models'. Terms of use (section 6): content of discounted services may be used by Meta for training.
- Free
Hosting
- differs by tool
- Claude
- mixedFree, Pro, Max, API / Console (Claude Platform)
- not publicly documentedTeam, Enterprise
- Meta AInot publicly documentedall 4 plans
- Claude
- Free
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Pro
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Max
Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10): "your personal data is transferred to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the European Economic Area ('EEA') and the UK"; Trust Center: cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure) with location "Worldwide" for all products. A choice of region is not documented for consumer plans.
- Team
not publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK".
- Enterprise
not publicly documented for claude.ai workspaces (Team/Enterprise): no choice of region documented. The Trust Center states the location "Worldwide" for the cloud infrastructure (Google Cloud, AWS, Microsoft Azure); Privacy Policy: transfer "to our servers in the US, or to other countries outside the [EEA] and the UK". The Claude Enterprise product page (q19) lists "US-only inference" among the data controls; an EU region is not mentioned there.
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
Claude Platform Docs (Data residency): two settings. Inference geo (parameter inference_geo): "global" (default) "Inference may run in any available geography"; "us" "Inference runs only in US-based infrastructure" (surcharge 1.1x, Claude 4.6 and newer only). Workspace geo (storage at rest and endpoint processing): "Currently, 'us' is the only available workspace geo." According to the same documentation (retrieved 2026-10-18): "Inference geo: Only 'us' and 'global' are available." and "Workspace geo: Only 'us' is currently available."; an EU region is therefore not currently offered. On Amazon Bedrock/Google Cloud, the endpoint URL or the inference profile determines the region (not part of this entry).
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
not publicly documented on the retrieved pages.
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
Region: not publicly documented. According to the docs, subscription features and availability may vary by region.
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
Region and EU option for the API: not publicly documented. Terms of use (section 6): 'Meta does not receive, determine, or route traffic based on location of your End Users'. The sub-processor list linked in section 5 names data centre operators predominantly in the USA as well as in Denmark, Sweden and Ireland; which of them are used for the Model API is not stated. Model docs: 'Model availability can vary by country' (reference to the Geographic Use Policy).
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
Region and EU option: not publicly documented.
- Free
Sub-processors
- differs by tool
- Claudelist availableall 6 plans
- Meta AI
- not publicly documentedMeta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps), Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage), Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
- list availableMeta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
- Claude
- Free
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Pro
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Max
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Persona (fraud detection, identity verification; USA; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Yoti (fraud detection, identity verification; UK; Free/Pro/Max only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Note: according to the Privacy Policy, Anthropic is the controller for consumers; the list nevertheless assigns these service providers to the products Claude Free/Pro/Max.
- Team
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- ElevenLabs (text-to-speech; USA; Claude for Work only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- Enterprise
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- ElevenLabs (text-to-speech; USA; Claude for Work only)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
- According to the Trust Center (trust.anthropic.com/subprocessors, 22 entries, retrieved 2026-10-18):
- Google Cloud Platform (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Amazon Web Services (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Microsoft Azure (cloud infrastructure; worldwide; all products)
- Cloudflare (traffic routing/CDN; worldwide, close to the customer; all products)
- Stripe (billing; USA)
- WorkOS (security, single sign-on; USA)
- Intercom (user support; USA)
- Nutun (user support; South Africa)
- Boldr (user support; Canada)
- Twilio (analytics, e-mail/SMS; USA)
- Iterable (e-mail communication; USA)
- Functional Software dba Sentry (error handling, support; USA)
- Sift (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Arkose Labs (fraud/abuse detection; USA)
- Brave Search (web search; USA)
- TurboPuffer (web search; USA)
- Intuition Machines, Inc. (hCaptcha) (bot detection, fraud/abuse detection; worldwide; all products except Claude for Government)
- Parallel Web Systems, Inc. (web search; USA; all products except Claude for Government)
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)not publicly documented
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)not publicly documented
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
- According to the list linked in the terms of use (title 'Meta Horizon Managed Solutions – List of Sub-processors' (translated), valid from 2023-11-13): data centre infrastructure by Andale, Greater Kudu, Goldframe, Morning Hornet, Offprints, Omanyte, Paile, Raven Northbrook, Scout Development, Siculus, Sidecat, Stadion, Starbelt, Vitesse, Winner (d/b/a Ernst), Woolhawk (each USA), Cassin Networks (Denmark), Pinnacle Sweden (Sweden), Runways Information Services (Ireland)
- Meta subsidiaries according to the same list: Meta Platforms, Inc. and Meta Operations, LLC (USA), Meta Platforms Ireland Limited (Ireland), Meta Canada, Meta France, Meta Germany, Meta Italy, Meta Netherlands, Meta Poland, Meta Spain, Meta UK, Meta Singapore, Meta Platforms International Operations Philippines
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)not publicly documented
- Free
Retention
- differs by tool
- Claude
- Deleted chats: removed from the history…Free, Pro, Max
- Saved chats/coding sessions are retained…Team, Enterprise
- Anthropic API: inputs/outputs are…API / Console (Claude Platform)
- Meta AI
- not publicly documentedMeta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps), Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
- Terms of useMeta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go), Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
- Claude
- FreeDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- ProDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- MaxDeleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back-end systems "within 30 days". If training is allowed: de-identified retention for up to 5 years in training pipelines (only for new/resumed chats after activation). In the case of usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01).
- TeamSaved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Help Center (q18, as of 2026-03-16): "While using Team and Enterprise plans, prompts and conversations in the product are maintained so you can see your conversation history in the product."
- EnterpriseSaved chats/coding sessions are retained in the product for continuing the conversation; deleted chats: removed from the history immediately, deleted from the back end "within 30 days"; incognito chats are automatically deleted within 30 days. Usage policy violation flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback data: 5 years (Privacy Center, as of 2026-07-01). Custom data retention controls (Enterprise): the default is unlimited retention; organisation owners can set the retention period for chats and projects, minimum 30 days (Help Center); according to the Help Center, the custom periods do not apply to Claude Design, Claude Tag, Claude Managed Agents and other features built on Claude Code on the web. According to the Help Center, zero data retention agreements apply to eligible APIs and Claude Code on Enterprise plans, not to the entire product. Help Center (q18): "Enterprise plan customers can also set custom retention timelines for their organization's data."
- API / Console (Claude Platform)Anthropic API: inputs/outputs are automatically deleted in the back end "within 30 days of receipt or generation", except for services with longer retention under customer control (e.g. Files API), an agreed deviation (e.g. Zero Data Retention), usage policy enforcement or a legal obligation. Limited retention and review apply to Covered Models. Flagging: inputs/outputs up to 2 years, classification scores up to 7 years. Feedback: 5 years. ZDR possible on application and after approval (Help Center, as of 2026-07-01).
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)not publicly documentedMeta AI Terms of Service (EU): 'When information is shared with AIs, the AIs sometimes store and use that information.' (translated) Interactions may be reviewed automatically or manually; no periods are stated
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)not publicly documentedthe retention rules of the terms of use, section 4.4 or 6.1, apply, without fixed periods
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)Terms of use (4.4): retention of content and usage data to the extent necessary for the services, legal obligations, the exercise of rights or in the case of flagged policy violations; fixed periods not stated. Content can be viewed and deleted via the account (data commitments). Zero Data Retention for qualified organisations on request via sales: prompts and responses are not stored after the response, except where legally required or in the case of abuse; in the case of violations of the Acceptable Use Policy, retention for up to 2 years (Help Center).
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)Terms of use (6.1): Meta may retain content to comply with laws, to exercise the usage rights under section 6 and in the case of flagged policy violations; fixed periods not stated.
Price
- differs by tool
- Claude
- 0 USD/moFree
- 17 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Pro
- 100 USD/mo… (further prices in the details)Max
- several tiersTeam
- 20 USD/user/moEnterprise
- per tokenAPI / Console (Claude Platform)
- Meta AI
- not publicly documentedMeta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
- Flat monthly price in USDMuse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
- per tokenMeta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go), Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
- Claude
- Free
USD 0/month (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; prices excl. taxes)
- Pro
USD 17/month with annual subscription (USD 200 in advance), USD 20/month with monthly billing (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes)
- Max
Max 5x: USD 100/month; Max 20x: USD 200/month; prices for web subscriptions; according to the pricing page FAQ, annual subscriptions only for Pro and Team ("Annual subscriptions are available for Pro and Team plans.") (Help Center "What is the Max plan?", q17; pricing page claude.com/pricing: "from USD 100", prices excl. taxes)
- Team
Standard seat USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, USD 25 with monthly billing; Premium seat USD 100/seat/month annually, USD 125 monthly; Team for 2 to 150 people (list claude.com/pricing, as of 2026-10-14; excl. taxes)
- Enterprise
Self-serve: USD 20/seat/month with annual billing, minimum 20 seats, plus usage-based costs at API rates; sales-assisted: individual quote (pricing page FAQ: "You can get started self-serve or contact sales for a tailored quote."); Enterprise with annual billing only (list claude.com/pricing, retrieved 2026-10-18)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
List claude.com/pricing (as of 2026-10-14), per 1M tokens: Fable 5.1 input USD 10 / output USD 50; Opus 5.5 input USD 4 / output USD 20; Sonnet 5.5 input USD 2 / output USD 10; Haiku 5.5 input USD 0.10 (prompts up to 100K) / output USD 0.50; Batch -50 %; US-only inference at 1.1x price (excl. taxes)
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
not publicly documented on the retrieved pages
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
Flat monthly price in USD (Help Center 'What is a Muse Code subscription?'): Everyday Usage USD 5/month, High Usage USD 15/month (5x usage), Power Usage USD 50/month (20x), Maximum Usage USD 200/month (80x); automatic monthly renewal; not stated whether VAT is included. According to the docs, benefits and availability may vary by region.
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
Per 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): Muse Spark input USD 1.25, cached input USD 0.15, output USD 4.25; Muse Wonder input USD 4.00, cached input USD 0.20, output USD 20.00; no surcharge for long context. Muse Image USD 0.01 per image; Muse Voice Transcribe USD 0.18 per hour (ZDR at the same price); web search grounding USD 2.50 per 1,000 search queries; SAM 3.1 USD 2.50 per 1,000 images, USD 0.20 per 1,000 video frames; no minimum commitment. Taxes are added (terms of use 13.1: the customer bears applicable sales, value added or similar taxes).
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
Per 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): input USD 0.10, cached input USD 0.002, output USD 0.20. Taxes are added (terms of use 13.1: the customer bears applicable sales, value added or similar taxes).
- Free
- Claudeyesall 6 plans
- Meta AIyesall 4 plans
- Claude
- Free
yes (chat, web search, file creation, code execution, Memory, Artifacts, Connectors; according to the pricing page)
- Pro
yes (Free plus more usage, Claude Code, Claude Design/Slides/Docs, Research, Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365; according to the pricing page)
- Max
yes (Pro plus 5x or 20x more usage, higher output limits, Early Access, Priority Access; new: monthly API credits for the Claude Platform of USD 100 (Max 5x) and USD 200 (Max 20x) respectively; according to the pricing page)
- Team
yes (all Claude features, more usage than Pro, Claude Code and Claude Cowork, Enterprise Search, SSO; according to the pricing page up to USD 500/month in pooled API credits)
- Enterprise
yes (all Team features plus roles/SCIM, audit logs, Compliance API, IP allowlisting, HIPAA-ready offering; according to the pricing page)
- API / Console (Claude Platform)
yes (Messages API, Batch, Managed Agents and others; prices per MTok)
Meta AI- Meta AI (consumer: meta.ai and Meta apps)
yes (Meta AI assistant in Meta products and on meta.ai; part of 'AI at Meta' (translated) according to the Privacy Center)
- Muse Code subscription (Everyday, High, Power, Maximum Usage)
yes (coding agent Muse Code with Muse Spark, Muse Wonder and Muse Image; Power and Maximum additionally Muse Wonder Full; use only via the Muse Code CLI)
- Meta Model API - Standard (pay-as-you-go)
yes (models muse-wonder-1.0 ('in preview' according to the model docs), muse-spark-1.3, -1.2, -1.1; image model Muse Image, Muse Voice Transcribe, SAM 3.1; web search grounding)
- Meta Model API - Contributor (discounted, training permitted)
yes (muse-spark-1.3-contributor, muse-spark-1.2-contributor; not for Muse Wonder and Muse Voice Transcribe)
- Free
Evidence
- Claude17 sources
- Meta AI12 sources
- Claude
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Consumer: Free, Pro, Max; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Is my data used for model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-08-18)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my data? (Consumer; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How long do you store my organization's data? (Commercial; as of 2026-07-01)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Data Processing Addendum (Effective 2025-02-24)DPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Commercial Terms of Service (Effective 2025-06-17)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Consumer Terms of Service (Effective 2025-10-08)Terms and conditions/Terms, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Policy (Effective 2026-09-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Pricing (Individual, Team & Enterprise, API)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Platform Docs: Data residencyDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Configure custom data retention controls for Enterprise plansHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Zero data retention agreement - applicable productsHelp Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: How do you use personal data in model training? (Commercial; as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Trust Center: Subprocessors (22 entries)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Help Center: What is the Max plan?Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Anthropic Privacy Center: Can you delete data that I sent via Team and Enterprise plans? (as of 2026-03-16)Privacy notice/Help Center, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Claude Enterprise (product page incl. FAQ Security and compliance)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
Meta AI- Pricing and rate limits (Meta Model API)Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Models (Meta Model API)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Meta Model API terms of use (as of 2026-10-09) (German)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Data commitments (Meta Model API) (German)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Does Model API support Zero Data Retention (ZDR)?Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- Meta Global Processor Terms (as of 2026-03-20)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- List of sub-processors (linked from the Model API terms of use; valid from 2023-11-13) (German)Sub-processor list, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Center: How Meta uses information for generative AI models and features (German)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Muse Code SubscriptionsPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Meta AI Terms of Service (EU) (effective from 2026-05-13)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- What is a Muse Code subscription?Pricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Meta Global Processor Terms: terms for the European Region (as of 2026-03-20)DPA, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
Claude compared with
Individual pages: Claude, Meta AI. All tools in the category: AI assistants & search.