DeepSeek vs. You.com: data protection per plan
DeepSeek (2 plans) and You.com (3 plans) side by side: DPA, training on inputs, hosting and data retention per plan, based on the providers’ public documents. Without rating.
Last updated: (latest review date of the tools shown)
At a glance
Each value is listed with the plans it applies to. Pick a tier to see only plans of that tier; if plans are chosen in the plan comparison below, the table shows exactly those.
All plans: each value is listed with the plans it applies to.
| Feature | DeepSeek | You.com |
|---|---|---|
| Provider based in | Hangzhou DeepSeek Artificial Intelligence Co., Ltd., 'registered address in China' | SuSea, Inc., 417 Montgomery Street, Suite 800, San Francisco, CA 94104, USA |
| Plans recorded | 2 | 3 |
| Hosting | not documented: all 2 plans | US only: all 3 plans |
| Training on inputs | opt-out available: Chatnot documented: Open Platform API | no: all 3 plans |
| DPA | not documented: all 2 plans | not documented: Free, Pay as you goyes: Enterprise |
| As of | 18 Oct 2026 | 18 Oct 2026 |
Plans compared
Comparing: DeepSeek Chat vs. You.com Free
| Feature | DeepSeekChat (web and app) | You.comFree (Web Search API via MCP) |
|---|---|---|
| not publicly documented | not publicly documented | |
| Details: DPA available | not publicly documented | not publicly documented whether a DPA applies to this plan. According to its text, the public DPA (you.com/dpa, as of 2025-12-12) becomes part of the 'Master Subscription Agreement or other written electronic agreements' with the signing customer; the 'You.com MSA (Online)' linked on the pricing page (version December 2025), which is accepted by clicking or by using the platform, does not refer to the DPA. |
| differs by plan | opt-out available | no |
| Details: Training on inputs | Terms of use (as of 2026-03-27, section 4.3): DeepSeek may use inputs and outputs 'to a minimal extent', after encryption and de-identification, to improve the services and the underlying technologies; opt-out available by switching off 'Improve the model for everyone'. Privacy policy: data is used, among other things, to train and improve the models; right to object to use for training. Document 'Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeek': in the optimisation phase, a small portion of the training data may be based on user input, which is then encrypted, de-identified and anonymised. | Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): You.com does not use the content of prompts, files or generated outputs for training or fine-tuning its own models; contracts with the providers of the integrated language models prohibit them from training on this content, 'except where you have separately opted in'. De-identified and aggregated content may be used for other purposes. Zero Data Retention documentation: requests are not used for training. The statements are not differentiated by plan. By contrast, section 4.5 of the terms of use (as of 2024-08-27) permits the use of Content 'to: (a) provide, maintain, train and improve the Services'; the privacy notice governs which rule prevails in the event of a conflict only for Enterprise customers and 'Paid Subscriber's subscription terms'. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | US only |
| Details: Data residency | Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented. | Terms of use (as of 2024-08-27, Section 2.3): 'We are based in the United States and the Services are provided from the United States.' Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): 'We use Amazon Web Services for various content hosting'. Trust Center (sub-processor list): all cloud/hosting providers (AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas) with location 'United States'. EU option: not publicly documented. |
| differs by plan | not publicly documented | list available |
| Details: List published | not publicly documented |
|
| differs by plan | Privacy policy: storage for as long as… | Privacy notice: account and profile data… |
| Details: Data retention | Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. Chat history can be deleted in the settings; after account deletion, access cannot be restored. | Privacy notice: account and profile data are stored for as long as the account is active, user content and usage data for as long as necessary for provision and security; data subject to a deletion request until that request has been processed; the notice does not state fixed periods. Different periods or Zero Data Retention under the Enterprise contract take precedence. With ZDR (Enterprise, on request), requests and responses are processed only briefly for handling and are not stored permanently; pricing page: 'All queries and responses are automatically purged and never stored.' |
| free | free | |
| Details: Price | free of charge (website app description: 'Chat with leading AI models for free.'; no paid chat plan found) | Free (pricing page) |
| yes | yes | |
| Details: AI features included | yes (AI chatbot; according to the terms of use, services based on large language models) | yes (Web Search via MCP server, up to 100 requests per day, without API key or account) |
| 4 sources | 7 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- DeepSeek Chatnot publicly documented
- You.com Freenot publicly documented
- DeepSeek Chat
not publicly documented
You.com Freenot publicly documented whether a DPA applies to this plan. According to its text, the public DPA (you.com/dpa, as of 2025-12-12) becomes part of the 'Master Subscription Agreement or other written electronic agreements' with the signing customer; the 'You.com MSA (Online)' linked on the pricing page (version December 2025), which is accepted by clicking or by using the platform, does not refer to the DPA.
Training
- differs by plan
- DeepSeek Chatopt-out available
- You.com Freeno
- DeepSeek Chat
Terms of use (as of 2026-03-27, section 4.3): DeepSeek may use inputs and outputs 'to a minimal extent', after encryption and de-identification, to improve the services and the underlying technologies; opt-out available by switching off 'Improve the model for everyone'. Privacy policy: data is used, among other things, to train and improve the models; right to object to use for training. Document 'Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeek': in the optimisation phase, a small portion of the training data may be based on user input, which is then encrypted, de-identified and anonymised.
You.com FreePrivacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): You.com does not use the content of prompts, files or generated outputs for training or fine-tuning its own models; contracts with the providers of the integrated language models prohibit them from training on this content, 'except where you have separately opted in'. De-identified and aggregated content may be used for other purposes. Zero Data Retention documentation: requests are not used for training. The statements are not differentiated by plan. By contrast, section 4.5 of the terms of use (as of 2024-08-27) permits the use of Content 'to: (a) provide, maintain, train and improve the Services'; the privacy notice governs which rule prevails in the event of a conflict only for Enterprise customers and 'Paid Subscriber's subscription terms'.
Hosting
- differs by plan
- DeepSeek Chatnot publicly documented
- You.com FreeUS only
- DeepSeek Chat
Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented.
You.com FreeTerms of use (as of 2024-08-27, Section 2.3): 'We are based in the United States and the Services are provided from the United States.' Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): 'We use Amazon Web Services for various content hosting'. Trust Center (sub-processor list): all cloud/hosting providers (AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas) with location 'United States'. EU option: not publicly documented.
Sub-processors
- differs by plan
- DeepSeek Chatnot publicly documented
- You.com Freelist available
- DeepSeek Chatnot publicly documentedYou.com Free
- According to the Trust Center (sub-processor list, 24 entries; location 'United States' in each case, no location for Coralogix and Gong): cloud/infrastructure: Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud Platform (also LLM provider, according to the list 'with Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas (database), Confluent (Kafka infrastructure for user events), Cloudflare (CDN, security, DNS)
- LLM/model providers according to the Trust Center: Anthropic, OpenAI, Together.ai, Fireworks.AI (each 'Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Cohere (without this addition), Baseten (model serving), Modal (sandbox), Anchor Browser
- Others according to the Trust Center: Osano (privacy operations), Descope (identity/accounts), Moesif (billing analytics), Coralogix (observability/logs), Tableau (product analytics), Stripe (payments), Braze and HubSpot (marketing/CRM), Gong (sales)
- Privacy notice: AWS 'for various content hosting'; Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager for analytics; Stripe for payment processing
- In addition, 'Supplemental Subprocessors.xlsx' in the Trust Center only on access request; content not publicly documented
Retention
- differs by plan
- DeepSeek ChatPrivacy policy: storage for as long as…
- You.com FreePrivacy notice: account and profile data…
- DeepSeek ChatPrivacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. Chat history can be deleted in the settings; after account deletion, access cannot be restored.You.com FreePrivacy notice: account and profile data are stored for as long as the account is active, user content and usage data for as long as necessary for provision and security; data subject to a deletion request until that request has been processed; the notice does not state fixed periods. Different periods or Zero Data Retention under the Enterprise contract take precedence. With ZDR (Enterprise, on request), requests and responses are processed only briefly for handling and are not stored permanently; pricing page: 'All queries and responses are automatically purged and never stored.'
Price
- DeepSeek Chatfree
- You.com Freefree
- DeepSeek Chat
free of charge (website app description: 'Chat with leading AI models for free.'; no paid chat plan found)
You.com FreeFree (pricing page)
- DeepSeek Chatyes
- You.com Freeyes
- DeepSeek Chat
yes (AI chatbot; according to the terms of use, services based on large language models)
You.com Freeyes (Web Search via MCP server, up to 100 requests per day, without API key or account)
Evidence
- DeepSeek Chat4 sources
- You.com Free7 sources
- DeepSeek Chat
- DeepSeek Privacy Policy (Last Update 2026-02-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Terms of Use (Last Update 2026-03-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeekDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek website (home page and Transparency Center)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
You.com Free- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-22)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms & Conditions (as of 2024-08-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Zero Data Retention (ZDR)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- You.com Trust Center – Resources (DPA, SOC 2 Type 2 Report)Trust Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- You.com Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- SuSea, Inc. Data Processing Addendum (as of 2025-12-12)DPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
| Feature | DeepSeek | You.com |
|---|---|---|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedall 2 plans |
|
| Details: DPA available |
|
|
| differs by tool |
| noall 3 plans |
| Details: Training on inputs |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedall 2 plans | US onlyall 3 plans |
| Details: Data residency |
|
|
| differs by tool | not publicly documentedall 2 plans | list availableall 3 plans |
| Details: List published |
|
|
| differs by tool | Privacy policy: storage for as long as…all 2 plans | Privacy notice: account and profile data…all 3 plans |
| Details: Data retention |
|
|
| differs by tool |
|
|
| Details: Price |
|
|
| yesall 2 plans | yesall 3 plans | |
| Details: AI features included |
|
|
| 6 sources | 8 sources | |
| Details: Sources with retrieval date |
|
|
Contract / DPA
- differs by tool
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- You.com
- not publicly documentedFree (Web Search API via MCP), Pay as you go (API)
- yesEnterprise (custom)
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)
not publicly documented
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
not publicly documented
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
not publicly documented whether a DPA applies to this plan. According to its text, the public DPA (you.com/dpa, as of 2025-12-12) becomes part of the 'Master Subscription Agreement or other written electronic agreements' with the signing customer; the 'You.com MSA (Online)' linked on the pricing page (version December 2025), which is accepted by clicking or by using the platform, does not refer to the DPA.
- Enterprise (custom)
yes: public 'SuSea, Inc. Data Processing Addendum' (you.com/dpa, 'Last updated: December 12, 2025', linked in the footer of the pricing page); in the Trust Center, 'You.com DPA - March 2025' and 'You.com DPA - Security Addendum' are also available to view. According to its text, the DPA becomes part of the Master Subscription Agreement or another written/electronic agreement. Pricing page: 'DPA-ready'.
Provider’s DPA - Pay as you go (API)
not publicly documented whether a DPA applies to this plan. According to its text, the public DPA (you.com/dpa, as of 2025-12-12) becomes part of the 'Master Subscription Agreement or other written electronic agreements' with the signing customer; the 'You.com MSA (Online)' linked on the pricing page (version December 2025), which is accepted by clicking or by using the platform, does not refer to the DPA.
- Chat (web and app)
Training
- differs by tool
- DeepSeek
- opt-out availableChat (web and app)
- not publicly documentedOpen Platform API (usage-based)
- You.comnoall 3 plans
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)
Terms of use (as of 2026-03-27, section 4.3): DeepSeek may use inputs and outputs 'to a minimal extent', after encryption and de-identification, to improve the services and the underlying technologies; opt-out available by switching off 'Improve the model for everyone'. Privacy policy: data is used, among other things, to train and improve the models; right to object to use for training. Document 'Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeek': in the optimisation phase, a small portion of the training data may be based on user input, which is then encrypted, de-identified and anonymised.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
The Open Platform terms (effective 2026-04-29) govern ownership of inputs and outputs (the customer retains rights to inputs and receives rights to outputs) but contain no express statement on the use of API inputs for training; they refer to the document 'Model Principles and Training Methods Explanation', which likewise does not distinguish between chat and API. The terms of use (section 4.3) and the privacy policy apply to 'Services' in general; an API-specific opt-out is not described. For end-user data in its own applications, according to the privacy policy and the Open Platform terms (5.5), the developer is the controller.
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): You.com does not use the content of prompts, files or generated outputs for training or fine-tuning its own models; contracts with the providers of the integrated language models prohibit them from training on this content, 'except where you have separately opted in'. De-identified and aggregated content may be used for other purposes. Zero Data Retention documentation: requests are not used for training. The statements are not differentiated by plan. By contrast, section 4.5 of the terms of use (as of 2024-08-27) permits the use of Content 'to: (a) provide, maintain, train and improve the Services'; the privacy notice governs which rule prevails in the event of a conflict only for Enterprise customers and 'Paid Subscriber's subscription terms'.
- Enterprise (custom)
Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): You.com does not use the content of prompts, files or generated outputs for training or fine-tuning its own models; contracts with the providers of the integrated language models prohibit them from training on this content, 'except where you have separately opted in'. De-identified and aggregated content may be used for other purposes. Zero Data Retention documentation: requests are not used for training. The statements are not differentiated by plan. Additionally with ZDR: requests are not used for training, not sold to third parties and not sent to Google or Bing (documentation). MSA (Online, December 2025) 3.4.3: You.com uses Customer Data (Prompts and Output) only 'as necessary to provide Customer with the Services, comply with applicable law, and for safety purposes'; Platform Analyses (statistical usage data without identifying Customer Data) may be used for product development (6.5).
- Pay as you go (API)
Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): You.com does not use the content of prompts, files or generated outputs for training or fine-tuning its own models; contracts with the providers of the integrated language models prohibit them from training on this content, 'except where you have separately opted in'. De-identified and aggregated content may be used for other purposes. Zero Data Retention documentation: requests are not used for training. The statements are not differentiated by plan. MSA (Online, December 2025) 3.4.3: You.com uses Customer Data (Prompts and Output) only 'as necessary to provide Customer with the Services, comply with applicable law, and for safety purposes'; Platform Analyses (statistical usage data without identifying Customer Data) may be used for product development (6.5). By contrast, section 4.5 of the terms of use (as of 2024-08-27) permits the use of Content 'to: (a) provide, maintain, train and improve the Services'; the privacy notice governs which rule prevails in the event of a conflict only for Enterprise customers and 'Paid Subscriber's subscription terms'.
- Chat (web and app)
Hosting
- differs by tool
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- You.comUS onlyall 3 plans
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)
Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
Privacy policy (as of 2026-02-10): 'we directly collect, process and store your Personal Data in People's Republic of China'. The category 'US only/EU option' does not apply; the selection list does not include China, hence 'not publicly documented' as the enum value here. An EU or US region: not publicly documented. Region of API processing: not publicly documented.
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
Terms of use (as of 2024-08-27, Section 2.3): 'We are based in the United States and the Services are provided from the United States.' Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): 'We use Amazon Web Services for various content hosting'. Trust Center (sub-processor list): all cloud/hosting providers (AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas) with location 'United States'. EU option: not publicly documented.
- Enterprise (custom)
Terms of use (as of 2024-08-27, Section 2.3): 'We are based in the United States and the Services are provided from the United States.' Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): 'We use Amazon Web Services for various content hosting'. Trust Center (sub-processor list): all cloud/hosting providers (AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas) with location 'United States'. EU option: not publicly documented.
- Pay as you go (API)
Terms of use (as of 2024-08-27, Section 2.3): 'We are based in the United States and the Services are provided from the United States.' Privacy notice (as of 2026-09-22): 'We use Amazon Web Services for various content hosting'. Trust Center (sub-processor list): all cloud/hosting providers (AWS, Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas) with location 'United States'. EU option: not publicly documented.
- Chat (web and app)
Sub-processors
- differs by tool
- DeepSeeknot publicly documentedall 2 plans
- You.comlist availableall 3 plans
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)not publicly documented
- Open Platform API (usage-based)not publicly documented
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
- According to the Trust Center (sub-processor list, 24 entries; location 'United States' in each case, no location for Coralogix and Gong): cloud/infrastructure: Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud Platform (also LLM provider, according to the list 'with Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas (database), Confluent (Kafka infrastructure for user events), Cloudflare (CDN, security, DNS)
- LLM/model providers according to the Trust Center: Anthropic, OpenAI, Together.ai, Fireworks.AI (each 'Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Cohere (without this addition), Baseten (model serving), Modal (sandbox), Anchor Browser
- Others according to the Trust Center: Osano (privacy operations), Descope (identity/accounts), Moesif (billing analytics), Coralogix (observability/logs), Tableau (product analytics), Stripe (payments), Braze and HubSpot (marketing/CRM), Gong (sales)
- Privacy notice: AWS 'for various content hosting'; Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager for analytics; Stripe for payment processing
- In addition, 'Supplemental Subprocessors.xlsx' in the Trust Center only on access request; content not publicly documented
- Enterprise (custom)
- According to the Trust Center (sub-processor list, 24 entries; location 'United States' in each case, no location for Coralogix and Gong): cloud/infrastructure: Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud Platform (also LLM provider, according to the list 'with Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas (database), Confluent (Kafka infrastructure for user events), Cloudflare (CDN, security, DNS)
- LLM/model providers according to the Trust Center: Anthropic, OpenAI, Together.ai, Fireworks.AI (each 'Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Cohere (without this addition), Baseten (model serving), Modal (sandbox), Anchor Browser
- Others according to the Trust Center: Osano (privacy operations), Descope (identity/accounts), Moesif (billing analytics), Coralogix (observability/logs), Tableau (product analytics), Stripe (payments), Braze and HubSpot (marketing/CRM), Gong (sales)
- Privacy notice: AWS 'for various content hosting'; Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager for analytics; Stripe for payment processing
- In addition, 'Supplemental Subprocessors.xlsx' in the Trust Center only on access request; content not publicly documented
- Pay as you go (API)
- According to the Trust Center (sub-processor list, 24 entries; location 'United States' in each case, no location for Coralogix and Gong): cloud/infrastructure: Amazon Web Services, Google Cloud Platform (also LLM provider, according to the list 'with Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Microsoft Azure, Vercel, MongoDB Atlas (database), Confluent (Kafka infrastructure for user events), Cloudflare (CDN, security, DNS)
- LLM/model providers according to the Trust Center: Anthropic, OpenAI, Together.ai, Fireworks.AI (each 'Zero Data Retention and Zero Data Training'), Cohere (without this addition), Baseten (model serving), Modal (sandbox), Anchor Browser
- Others according to the Trust Center: Osano (privacy operations), Descope (identity/accounts), Moesif (billing analytics), Coralogix (observability/logs), Tableau (product analytics), Stripe (payments), Braze and HubSpot (marketing/CRM), Gong (sales)
- Privacy notice: AWS 'for various content hosting'; Google Analytics and Google Tag Manager for analytics; Stripe for payment processing
- In addition, 'Supplemental Subprocessors.xlsx' in the Trust Center only on access request; content not publicly documented
Retention
- differs by tool
- DeepSeekPrivacy policy: storage for as long as…all 2 plans
- You.comPrivacy notice: account and profile data…all 3 plans
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. Chat history can be deleted in the settings; after account deletion, access cannot be restored.
- Open Platform API (usage-based)Privacy policy: storage for as long as necessary for the services and the stated purposes; for accounts, as long as the account exists; legal and legitimate interests may justify longer retention. Fixed retention periods: not publicly documented. API-specific retention: not publicly documented.
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)Privacy notice: account and profile data are stored for as long as the account is active, user content and usage data for as long as necessary for provision and security; data subject to a deletion request until that request has been processed; the notice does not state fixed periods. Different periods or Zero Data Retention under the Enterprise contract take precedence. With ZDR (Enterprise, on request), requests and responses are processed only briefly for handling and are not stored permanently; pricing page: 'All queries and responses are automatically purged and never stored.'
- Enterprise (custom)Privacy notice: account and profile data are stored for as long as the account is active, user content and usage data for as long as necessary for provision and security; data subject to a deletion request until that request has been processed; the notice does not state fixed periods. Different periods or Zero Data Retention under the Enterprise contract take precedence. With ZDR (Enterprise, on request), requests and responses are processed only briefly for handling and are not stored permanently; pricing page: 'All queries and responses are automatically purged and never stored.' According to the documentation, ZDR applies to the Web Search API and Answer API and is activated by You.com on request (no self-service switch). MSA (Online) 11.4: after the end of the contract, 30 calendar days of access to retrieve Customer Data upon written notice, after which You.com will 'promptly delete Customer Data'.
- Pay as you go (API)Privacy notice: account and profile data are stored for as long as the account is active, user content and usage data for as long as necessary for provision and security; data subject to a deletion request until that request has been processed; the notice does not state fixed periods. Different periods or Zero Data Retention under the Enterprise contract take precedence. With ZDR (Enterprise, on request), requests and responses are processed only briefly for handling and are not stored permanently; pricing page: 'All queries and responses are automatically purged and never stored.' MSA (Online) 11.4: after the end of the contract, 30 calendar days of access to retrieve Customer Data upon written notice, after which You.com will 'promptly delete Customer Data'.
Price
- differs by tool
- DeepSeek
- freeChat (web and app)
- per tokenOpen Platform API (usage-based)
- You.com
- freeFree (Web Search API via MCP)
- customEnterprise (custom)
- several tiersPay as you go (API)
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)
free of charge (website app description: 'Chat with leading AI models for free.'; no paid chat plan found)
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
Per 1M tokens, in USD (pricing page): deepseek-flash: input (cache hit) USD 0.003 off-peak / USD 0.006 peak; input (cache miss) USD 0.15 / USD 0.3; output USD 0.6 / USD 1.2. deepseek-v4-pro: cache hit USD 0.022 / USD 0.044; cache miss USD 0.66 / USD 1.32; output USD 1.98 / USD 3.96. Peak hours: 01:00-04:00 and 06:00-10:00 UTC, Monday to Friday (excluding Chinese public holidays); otherwise half price. Search and Fetch API USD 0.75 each per 1,000 successful requests. Billed against topped-up or granted credit; DeepSeek may change prices; no indication whether incl. VAT.
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
Free (pricing page)
- Enterprise (custom)
Custom (pricing page: 'Custom, Talk to our humans')
- Pay as you go (API)
Web Search API 5 USD per 1,000 calls; Contents API 1 USD per 1,000 pages; Answer API 5 USD per 1,000 calls; Research API per 1,000 calls: Lite 12 USD, Standard 50 USD, Deep 100 USD, Exhaustive 450 USD, Frontier 1,200 USD; Finance Research Deep 110 USD, Exhaustive 500 USD per 1,000 calls; no minimum purchase, no platform fee (pricing page, in USD); according to MSA (Online) 5.8, the fees do not include any taxes, including value-added tax ('value-added')
- Chat (web and app)
- DeepSeekyesall 2 plans
- You.comyesall 3 plans
- DeepSeek
- Chat (web and app)
yes (AI chatbot; according to the terms of use, services based on large language models)
- Open Platform API (usage-based)
yes (models deepseek-flash = DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-1017 and deepseek-v4-pro = DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813, each with 1M-token context, up to 384K output, thinking/non-thinking mode, tool calls, JSON output, Responses API, OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible interface; vision only with deepseek-flash; additionally Search and Fetch API)
You.com- Free (Web Search API via MCP)
yes (Web Search via MCP server, up to 100 requests per day, without API key or account)
- Enterprise (custom)
yes (all APIs; according to the pricing page, custom load capacity and SLA support)
- Pay as you go (API)
yes (Web Search, Contents, Answer, Research and Finance Research API; all endpoints, SDKs and MCP)
- Chat (web and app)
Evidence
- DeepSeek6 sources
- You.com8 sources
- DeepSeek
- Models & PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Privacy Policy (Last Update 2026-02-10)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Terms of Use (Last Update 2026-03-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek Open Platform Terms of Service (effective 2026-04-29)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Model Mechanism and Training Methods of DeepSeekDocumentation, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- DeepSeek website (home page and Transparency Center)Product page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
You.com- PricingPricing page, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Privacy Policy (as of 2026-09-22)Privacy notice, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Terms & Conditions (as of 2024-08-27)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
- Zero Data Retention (ZDR)Documentation, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- You.com Trust Center – Resources (DPA, SOC 2 Type 2 Report)Trust Center, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- You.com Trust Center – SubprocessorsSub-processor list, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- SuSea, Inc. Data Processing Addendum (as of 2025-12-12)DPA, retrieved 14 Oct 2026
- You.com Master Services Agreement (Online), MSA v.121525 (December 2025)Terms and conditions, retrieved 18 Oct 2026
not documentedmeans: not publicly documented, not verifiable in any provider source. It does not mean “no”.
No guarantee of accuracy, not legal advice. Each entry is valid as of the date shown. Open points are listed on the detail pages.
More comparisons
DeepSeek compared with
Individual pages: DeepSeek, You.com. All tools in the category: AI assistants & search.